The Sport Information Resource Centre
Use double quotes to find documents that include the exact phrase: "aerodynamic AND testing"
The Sport Information Resource Centre

CBC Sports – This week on CBC Sports’ ROAD TO THE OLYMPIC GAMESSpruce Meadows Show Jumping, IAAF Diamond League Track and Field and FIVB World League Volleyball

CBC Sports’ ROAD TO THE OLYMPIC GAMES will take viewers from Calgary to Sweden and the Czech Republic this week. Coverage will include championship show jumping from Calgary’s Spruce Meadows, IAAF Diamond League track and field from Stockholm, Sweden, and FIVB World League Volleyball from České Budějovice, Czech Republic.

Coverage will be available across multiple platforms including CBC-TV, cbcsports.ca and the CBC Sports app for iOS and Android devices. Full broadcast and streaming schedules are available here.

Spruce Meadows

Show jumping coverage continues this weekend with the the CNOOC Nexen Cup Derby from Spruce Meadows. The field of 15 international riders including six Canadians, will take on one of the most challenging competitions at Spruce Meadows, which features 19 numbered obstacles and 25 jumps on the course. The course is so challenging that there have only been three clear rounds recorded on the since 2007. The riders will compete for a purse of $175,000 in front of a crowd of nearly 35,000 spectators. Coverage begins Saturday at 1:30 p.m. ET (10:30 a.m. PT) online at cbcsports.ca and via the CBC Sports app, and at 2:30 p.m. local time on CBC-TV.

IAAF Diamond League: Stockholm

 

 

The second half of the 2016 IAAF Diamond League season begins this week in Stockholm with four Canadians competing alongside top-notch international talent. Coverage begins Thursday online at cbcsports.ca and via the CBC Sports app at 2 p.m. ET (11 a.m. PT) and continues Saturday at 3 p.m. ET (12 p.m. PT) online and at 4 p.m. local time on CBC-TV.

Christabel Nettey, who currently ranks second in the Diamond Race standings in the women’s long jump will be in action again this week. She finished second at last week’s meet in Oslo and will be looking for another good result. Shawn Barber will compete in the men’s pole vault for the second consecutive week against reigning Olympic champion Renaud Lavillenie of France. Barber sits second in the Diamond Race, behind Lavillenie. Terrebonne, Quebec’s Kimberly Hyacinthe will look for a better result this week in the women’s 200m event after finishing fifth in her last Diamond League race.

In addition, Brockville, Ontario’s Tim Nedow will compete in the men’s shot put competition today. He currently ranks sixth in the Diamond Race standings and will be up against the second-ranked Tom Walsh of New Zealand.

FIVB World League Volleyball

 

 

CBC Sports will have live streaming coverage of three Team Canada matches from this weekend’s FIVB World League tournament beginning Friday at 1 p.m. ET (10 a.m. PT) when Canada faces China. Canada defeated China at the recent Olympic Games qualification tournament and will look for a similar result on Friday. Coverage online and via the CBC Sports app continues Saturday at 9 a.m. ET (6 a.m. PT) with Canada taking on fellow 2016 Olympic Games qualifier, Egypt, followed by Sunday’s match against the host Czech team at 12 p.m. ET (9 a.m. PT).

The FIVB World League is a global tournament featuring 36 teams across three groups. This year’s field is the largest in the history of the tournament. Defending champions France, reigning world champions Poland and reigning Olympic champions Russia, plus other powerhouses like the USA, Brazil and Italy will compete with Canada for the title. CBC Sports will have live streaming coverage of every Team Canada match throughout the tournament which stretches into July and includes a stop in Saskatoon from June 24-26. The World League tournament is the final test for the Olympic Games-qualified teams before they head to Rio in August.

About CBC Sports’ ROAD TO THE OLYMPIC GAMES:

ROAD TO THE OLYMPIC GAMES is CBC Sports’ multi-platform program that combines a weekly TV show, a microsite on cbcsports.ca, and the CBC Sports app for iOS and Android devices, offering a 360-degree look at Canada’s high-performance athletes on their journey to the top of the podium. This program extends the Olympic conversation year-round, through sport coverage, community programming, and athlete storytelling across all CBC Sports platforms.

Simon Bassett
Publicist | CBC Communications, Marketing and Brand
T 416.205.8533 | C 416.988.1590