The Sport Information Resource Centre
Use double quotes to find documents that include the exact phrase: "aerodynamic AND testing"
The Sport Information Resource Centre

Rowing Canada Aviron – In 1992, the Canadian Olympic Rowing team achieved a high water haul of medals, winning 4 gold and a bronze at the Barcelona Olympic Games. On Friday, November 10th, the 1992 Olympic Medal winning crews, as well as members in the Coaches and Builder categories will be inducted into the Canadian Rowing Hall of Fame.

Crews of the Men’s EightWomen’s EightWomen’s FourWomen’s Pair and Silken Laumann, the Women’s single will be in attendance. Joining the crews will be coaches Mike Spracklen and Al Morrow along with Peter Copland and Doug Hamilton in the builder category. The event takes place at the Vancouver Rowing Club from 6pm-8pm.

The 25th anniversary celebrations will continue on Saturday November 11th, in conjunction with National Rowing Championships. Crews from the 1992 Olympic Rowing Team will participate in the RCA Alumni Row Past at 12 noon PT.

Media are invited to attend both events. Photo and interview opportunities will be available.

Canadian Rowing Hall of Fame – 2017 Inductees

Men’s Coxed Eights – Gold Medal
John Wallace
Bruce Robertson
Michael Forgeron
Darren Barber
Robert Marland
Michael Rascher
Andy Crosby
Derek Porter
Terry Paul

Women’s Single Sculls – Bronze Medal
Silken Laumann

Women’s Coxless Pairs – Gold Medal
Marnie McBean
Kathleen Heddle

Women’s Coxless Fours – Gold Medal
Kirsten Barnes
Brenda Taylor
Jessica Monroe
Kay Worthingon
*Jennifer Walinga

*A day before Olympic competition, Jennifer Walinga was forced to withdraw due to injury. Brenda Taylor donated her medal to Walinga to recognize that she was an essential part of the success of the team.

Women’s Coxed Eights – Gold Medal
Kirsten Barnes
Brenda Taylor
Megan Delehanty
Shannon Crawford
Marnie McBean
Kay Worthington
Jessica Monroe
Kathleen Heddle
Lesley Thompson-Willie
*Jennifer Walinga

*A day before Olympic competition, Jennifer Walinga was forced to withdraw due to injury.

Mike Spracklen
Al Morrow

Peter Copland
Doug Hamilton

For media inquiries, please contact


About Rowing Canada Aviron
Rowing Canada Aviron (RCA) is a non-profit organization recognized by the Government of Canada and the Canadian Olympic Committee as the national governing body for rowing in Canada, representing more than 15,000 registered members.
RCA is a member of the Canadian Olympic Committee, the Canadian Paralympic Committee and the Fédération internationale des sociétés d’aviron (FISA), the international federation for rowing.
For more information about Rowing Canada Aviron, please visit or follow @rowingcanada.