Use double quotes to find documents that include the exact phrase: "aerodynamic AND testing"

Water Polo Canada – (Montreal, Quebec, August 28, 2018) – Water Polo Canada is pleased to announce the Women’s national team selection for the 2018 FINA Women’s Water Polo World Cup. The tournament will be held September 4-9, 2018 in Surgut, Russia.

The FINA World Cup tournament takes place every non-Olympic year between World Championships and serves a qualification event for the upcoming 2019 FINA World Championship. The Canadian team did not attend the last edition of the FINA Women’s World Cup in 2014. Canada’s previous result at this tournament is a fifth-place finish at the 2010 Event in Christchurch, New Zealand.

 “I am fairly optimistic for the FINA World Cup. We have a good group, we start our tournament against South Africa, then we play New Zealand and we finish the round-robin with an expected tough matchup against the United States. Our crossover game will also be a challenge against a strong team from Group B that includes Spain, China, Australia, and Russia. It is the most important game for us, and we must be ready. I believe we will perform well, as we did in our previous tournament.” commented Haris Pavlidis, head coach of the senior women’s national team.





Claire Wright

Lindsay, ON


Krystina Alogbo

Montreal, QC


Axelle Crevier

Montreal, QC


Emma Wright

Lindsay, ON


Monika Eggens

Pitt Meadows, BC


Kelly McKee

Calgary, AB


Joelle Bekhazi

Pointe-Claire, QC


Elyse Lemay-Lavoie

Montreal, QC


Hayley McKelvey

North Delta, BC


Gurpreet Sohi

Delta, BC


Kindred Paul

Edmonton, AB


Shae Fournier

Winnipeg, MB


Clara Vulpisi

Montreal, QC


Staff – Senior Women’s National Team

  • Head coach: Theocharis Pavlidis
  • Assistant Coach: David Paradelo
  • Assistant Coach and Manager: Cora Campbell
  • Massage Therapist: Manon Prieur
  • Physiotherapist: Felix Croteau
  • Official : Marie-Claude Deslières

The Canadian women will play their first game of the tournament against South Africa at 5:30 pm local (10:30 am ET) on Tuesday, September 4, 2018. Canada will compete in Group B alongside South Africa, New Zealand, and the United States. Matches will be played daily, with the finals scheduled on September 9, 2018. The event is expected to be live streamed FINA TV.

The 2018 FINA Women’s World Cup is one of the test events for the new rules proposed by FINA earlier this year. To learn more about these proposed rules, click HERE.


  • September 4 vs South Africa, 5:30 pm local / 10:30 am ET
  • September 5 vs New Zealand, 4:30 pm local / 9:30 am ET
  • September 6 vs USA, 6:00 pm local/ 11:00 am ET
  • September 7 vs TBD (Quarterfinals)
  • September 8 vs TBD (Semifinals)
  • September 9 vs TBD (Finals)
  • 30 –



Mylène Turcotte-Fitzgerald

Communication and Domestic Operations Coordinator, Water Polo Canada

Tel: 613-748-5682 ext. 325 | 819-639-6414