Use double quotes to find documents that include the exact phrase: "aerodynamic AND testing"

Canadian Paralympic Committee – July 14, 2016 – OTTAWA – Swimming Canada and the Canadian Paralympic Committee are proud to announce the 22 swimmers nominated for selection to Team Canada for the Rio Paralympic Games this September.

Para-swimming was the most productive sport for Canada at the 2012 Games in London, with 16 medals. This year, Benoit Huot of Longueuil, Que., a 19-time Paralympic medallist, returns for a fifth Games while world record holder Aurélie Rivard of St-Jean-sur-Richelieu, Que., a silver medallist in London, leads the charge on the women’s side.

”Congratulations to our nominees from para-swimming, who have put in so many miles of training and continue to do so relentlessly,” said Team Canada Chef de Mission Chantal Petitclerc. ”The depth in this sport keeps getting stronger at every Games and our Canadians seem to always keep pace.”

Six other Canadians with Paralympic Games experience are Isaac Bouckley of Oshawa, Ont., Devin Gotell of Antigonish, N.S. Morgan Bird of Calgary, Sarah Mehain of Vernon, B.C., Katarina Roxon of Kippens, N.L., and Nathan Stein of Maple Ridge, B.C.

The 14 other athletes are all making their Paralympic Games debut, 13 of whom competed at the Toronto 2015 Parapan American Games. Danielle Dorris, 13, of Moncton, N.B. is a national team rookie and the youngest-ever swimmer to make the team.

“Swimming Canada is excited by both the veterans who have returned to the team and the number of rookies,” said Team Leader James Hood, Swimming Canada’s senior manager, high performance Para-swimming programs. “Our veterans will continue to build on Canada’s great legacy in the Paralympic movement. For the first timers, these Games will be their launching pad from 2016 to becoming our future leaders for Tokyo 2020.”

The Paralympic Games are set for Sept. 7 to 18, 2016, with the swimming events scheduled to take place from Sept. 8 to 17.

The Honorable Carla Qualtrough, Minister of Sport and Persons with Disabilities, presented each athlete, coach and staff member their Paralympic ring, continuing a proud tradition of Swimming Canada.

“The pool in Rio is calling your names and you have the resolve of Team Canada – 35 million strong – behind you on the way to the podium,” said Minister Qualtrough. ”On behalf of the Government of Canada, I would like to commend the work done by Swimming Canada to prepare our athletes for the Rio 2016 Paralympic Games.”

Athlete and coach biographies are available at Bios and high resolution photos can be downloaded at 

The athletes nominated to the Canadian Paralympic Team are as follows:

Men’s Para-swimming

Isaac Bouckley (Oshawa, Ont.)*

Nathan Clement (West Vancouver, B.C.)

Jonathan Dieleman (Telkwa, B.C.)

Alec Elliot (Kitchener, Ont.)

Devin Gotell (Antigonish, N.S.)*

Benoit Huot (Longueuil, Que.)*

James Leroux (Repentigny, Que.)

Gordie Michie (St. Thomas, Ont.)

Tyler Mrak (Surrey, B.C.)

Nathan Stein (Male Ridge, B.C.)*

Nicolas Guy-Turbide (Quebec City, Que.)

Women’s Para-swimming

Morgan Bird (Calgary, Alta.)*

Tammy Cunnington (Red Deer, Alta.)

Danielle Dorris (Moncton, N.B.)

Sabrina Duchesne (St-Augustin, Que.)

Nydia Langill (Mississauga, Ont.)

Sarah Mehain (Vernon, B.C.)*

Aurélie Rivard (St-Jean-sur-Richelieu, Que.)*

Tess Routliffe (Caledon, Ont.)

Katarina Roxon (Kippens, N.L.)*

Samantha Ryan (Saskatoon, Sask.)

Abi Tripp (Kingston, Ont.)

*Denotes previous Paralympic Games experience

The nominated team will be supported by head coach Craig McCord (Vancouver, B.C.) and coaches France Latendresse (St-Jean-sur-Richelieu, Que.), Vince Mikuska (Chilliwack, B.C.) and Mike Thompson (Montreal, Que.).

About Swimming 

About the Canadian Paralympic Committee:


For more information, please contact:

Nathan White, Communications Manager

Swimming Canada

Tel.: 613-260-1348 x2002 / Cell: 613-866-7946


Alison Korn

Senior Manager, Media Relations and Communications

Canadian Paralympic Committee

Tel: 613-569-4333 ext. 243 / Cell: 613-298-4927


Photo: Scott Grant / CPC