The Sport Information Resource Centre
Use double quotes to find documents that include the exact phrase: "aerodynamic AND testing"
The Sport Information Resource Centre

Football Canada – Canada opens tournament against Australia on June 24

Ottawa (May 8, 2017) – Today the International Federation of American Football (IFAF) unveiled the 2017 Women’s World Championship schedule, taking place from June 24 – 30 at McLeod Stadium in Langley, British Columbia.

This summer will mark the first time that the Women’s World Championship is held outside of Europe as Stockholm, Sweden and Vantaa, Finland hosted the 2010 and 2013 events respectively. It also marks the first time that Canada will host an IFAF tackle football competition as the nation twice hosted the Flag Football World Championships in 2008 and 2010.

Champions to be crowned on June 30

Based on the opening two days of action, teams will be re-ranked based on record and play for gold, bronze and fifth place on June 30.

Canada begins quest for gold against Australia

Canada opens their 2017 tournament against Commonwealth rival, Australia. The host nation enters the third Women’s World Championship looking to improve upon a pair of silver medals.

Led by head coach Dr. Jen Welter, the first female coach in the NFL, Australia will make their women’s world competition debut against Canada.

The United States kick-off their quest for a third straight IFAF Women’s World Championship on June 24 as they open the competition against first time tournament participant Mexico.

The United States has won each of the first two editions of the event, securing their last crown by defeating Canada in 2013.

The final opening day match-up sees a replay of the 2015 European Championship final between Finland and Great Britain.

Finland, who placed third in both 2010 and 2013, will face Great Britain, the third nation to make their Women’s World Championship debut in Langley.

Canada to face winner of Finland-Great Britain on day two

On June 27, Canada will face the day one winner of Finland versus Great Britain while the United States will face the day one matchup’s losing side. Australia will face Mexico in a battle of tournament newcomers.

“The 2017 Women’s World Championship will provide a tremendous showcase for football,” said Richard MacLean, president of IFAF. “Alongside teams which have built a pedigree in the competition, we welcome some new additions who have already demonstrated that they will add real value to the competition.”

“I would like to thank our host nation, their partners, and representatives from the teams for recently attending the technical meeting for the competition,” added MacLean. “We look forward to it being a success.”


Ranking in brackets. Game times and order to be announced shortly.

June 24, 2017 – Game Day 1:

Finland (3) vs. Great Britain (4) – 11:30 a.m. PT, 2:30 p.m. ET
United States (1) vs. Mexico (6) – 3:30 p.m. PT, 6:30 p.m. ET 

Canada (2) vs. Australia (5) – 7:30 p.m. PT, 10:30 p.m. ET 

June 27, 2017 – Game Day 2:

Australia (5) vs. Mexico (6) – 11:30 a.m. PT
United States (1) vs. loser of Finland (3) / Great Britain (4) – 3:30 p.m. PT 

Canada (2) vs. winner of Finland (3) / Great Britain (4) – 7:30 p.m. PT 

June 30, 2017 – Game Day 3:

Teams will progress to the final game day based upon their records in the previous two game days.

About Football Canada

Established in 1884, Football Canada is the national governing body of amateur football in Canada and a proud member of the International Federation of American Football (IFAF). Working closely with the provincial football associations, we develop programs and resources for players, coaches, officials in the three disciplines of Tackle, Flag and Touch Football. Football Canada’s vision statement is “from playground to stadium” where players can participate in the game of football throughout a lifetime recreationally, competitively and internationally. 

Contact Information:

Patrick DeLottinville

Coordinator, Communications

Football Canada

613-564-0003 x 226