The Sport Information Resource Centre
Use double quotes to find documents that include the exact phrase: "aerodynamic AND testing"
The Sport Information Resource Centre

VANCOUVER – The late Bob Mironowicz has been named the second Football Canada President’s award winner.

Mironowicz was a foundational builder of the amateur game in Quebec and Canada. He was the President of Football Quebec and had served on its board of directors for more than 30 years. He was president from 2016 until his passing in January 2022.

He was involved in the Sun Youth organization in Montreal for 54 years and has served as its president since 2014.

Mironowicz was a member of the board of directors of Football Canada from 2014-to 2017 and served as chair of the 2019 Western Under-16 Challenge in Kamloops, B.C.

“His agenda as a life-long volunteer was to ensure the best possible experience for youth to play the game, no matter their background. There’s also generations of coaches who are active in the game in Quebec thanks to his works,” said Football Canada President Jim Mullin.

“The last time the Football Canada community connected with Bob was in December,” Mullin recalled. “He placed a cell call and Zoomed into our general meeting from his hospital bed. That’s the level of dedication Bob brought consistently.”

Planned before his untimely passing, Mironowicz is only the second winner of the President’s Award, given by the President of Football Canada to individuals or organizations who have made a peerless contribution to amateur football in Canada.



–         L. David Dube C.M.             Saskatoon, SK     Philanthropy and builder     


 –        Bob Mironowicz                  Montreal, QC                        Coaching and volunteering    

In addition to the President’s Award, three individuals have been presented with the Diamond Award, recognized by Football Canada for their lifetime of dedication and involvement.

Ken Green, Ontario – Ken is the symbol of longevity and service to officiating in Canada for over six decades.

Ken began his football officiating career in 1956 with the Toronto Football Officials’ Association while completing his degree at the University of Toronto. With more than 3,500 games officiated, he has done it all. He’s worked local games in Toronto, provincial games, university games (including eight university championships), and an international contest. In 1979, Ken led a crew to officiate the Can-Am Bowl between NCAA and CIAU. All-stars, in Tampa, Florida.

Perhaps Ken’s most significant contribution was his leadership off the field. He has served as an executive or administrator with numerous governing bodies at the local (Toronto FOA), provincial (OFOA), and national levels (CFOA and Football Canada). Ken chaired the Football Canada Rules Committee for over two decades and was the Football Canada Rule Book editor. Ken also developed and mentored many officials who have gone on with long and successful careers in the USPORTS and the CFL.

Arnold Enger, Alberta – Through his 55 years in association with the sport, Arnold has served as a high school coach, university coach, administrator, and organizer. He started coaching high school football in Red Deer in 1957, then moved to Jasper Place HSHS in Edmonton in 1962 as head football coach, where he won two City Championships in the sixties. He was on the 1967 U of A Golden Bear Coaching Staff that won the Vanier Cup.

Moved to Central Office of Edmonton Public School Board from 1970-1978 and created a massive summer camp program for several sports. This included football camps that cooperated with the Edmonton Eskimos of the CFL.

Became Athletics Coordinator of Edmonton Public School Board in 1979 and ran Athletics (including football) until 1982. His redesigning the high school football league to allow competitive playoffs for all levels of play allowed the sport to flourish within the EPSB. His additions of stats crew and public address announcers to dress up the games continue to this day.

He formed a business that supported minor, high school, Junior, and University football in Edmonton with yardstick crews, ball boys, public address announcers, statisticians, and timers in 1982. He continued that support until he retired from it in 2018.

Was the Public Address Announcer for both Junior Teams of the CJFL in Edmonton from 1978 to 2019 (42 seasons total). He retired from active duty in 2019 at age 85 after 62 years of involvement with football.

Jack Faichney, Quebec – In his seventh decade associated with the game, Jack has been a player, coordinator, head coach

Coach Jack is a well-known and vital figure who mentored generations within the football community in Quebec. His passion and his knowledge of football to many players for several generations. He was part of the evolution and transformation of football towards the prosperous, modern era of the sport in Quebec. 

1947-1952 Player in Midget, JV, and Junior Football

1953-1960 Montreal East End Larks – first as a defensive coach but replaced Head Coach after the second game. Under his direction, a few players went to US Colleges on scholarships. They came back to play in the CFL, namely Wally Buono, Pierre Desjardins, Mike Balenko, Jacques Descent, and Bruce Taupier.

1961-1968 Collège Ste-Marie Chevaliers Bleus as Head Coach. The team went 17-2 and had two league championships in the first two seasons.

1969-1972 Became first and only Head Coach for UQAM (Université du Québec à Montréal)

1973-1975 CEGEP du Vieux Montréal

1976-1990 Vikings du Collège Maisonneuve

1991-1996 Collège André-Grasset

1997-2005 École secondaire Gérard-Filion à Longueuil

2006-2019 École secondaire St-Joseph à St-Hyacinthe

2020- Special consultant É.S. St-Joseph à St-Hyacinthe

Mr. Faichney was also on the Comité d’Éthique de Football-Québec for several years. “Coach Jack” passed on his knowledge and love of the game to many generations spanning over a few decades.


2021        –             Gary Linthorne   Halifax, NS                             

2022      –               Ken Green,          Toronto, Ontario

                                 Jack Faichney    Montreal, Quebec

                                 Arnold Enger      Edmonton, Alberta

The trophies will be presented by Football Canada to the recipients and their families later this year.

For more information:

Football Canada

Jim Mullin,