Use double quotes to find documents that include the exact phrase: "aerodynamic AND testing"

The Ottawa Sport Council (OSC) has announced the composition of its newly-elected volunteer Board of Directors, including a new president, following the Annual General Meeting earlier this month.

David Gourlay, a prominent member of the Ottawa sport community, was elected president, after spending two years as a director. Gourlay replaces outgoing president Mike Patterson, who will remain on the board as a director.

“It is very humbling for me to become the President of the Ottawa Sport Council,” said Gourlay. “I am grateful for the support of the Board and the organization as we collaborate with our community sport sector and partners to build our city through sport, recreation and leisure.”

As the unified voice of amateur sport in Ottawa, the Ottawa Sport Council (OSC) facilitates advocacy and growth for all community sport organizations. Over the last year, the Ottawa Sport Council has supported the safe return to play of community sport through its Return to Play Roadmap and Rebound – a community sport resiliency program.

Newly elected members include Shamir Kanji, who was elected as Director, and John Cunningham, elected as Secretary. Two other existing members (Micheline Turnau and Chadi Azzi) were re-elected to their respective positions. Tim Streek, one of the founding members, is leaving the Board after serving eight years. The OSC would like to thank Tim for his dedication to community sport and for helping guide the OSC in its mission to promote sport in Ottawa.

“I look forwarding to working with the new and returning Board members to enrich the sporting experience in Ottawa by promoting inclusivity and accessibility in sport, as well as continuing to help local sport rebuild and recover from the pandemic,” said Executive Director Marcia Morris. “The wealth of experience on the Board will help the Ottawa Sport Council continue to support the development and growth of community sport organizations.”

Ottawa Sport Council Board of Directors

President – David Gourlay

Director – Mike Patterson

Director – Micheline Turnau

Director – Alison Korn

Director – Chadi Azzi

Director – Eric McLoughlin

Director – Mathieu Fleury

Director – Shamir Kanji

Secretary – John Cunningham

Treasurer – Laurie Cairns

David Gourlay thrives on community philanthropy and currently serves as the Director of Philanthropy with the Shepherds of Good Hope Foundation. Previously, he established the Ottawa Champions Baseball Club and co-founded the Miracle League of Ottawa, a fully accessible recreation space in our community for special needs children and youth. He has a passion for supporting inclusion in sport and removing barriers to participation for individuals of all abilities that he brings to the OSC Board of Directors.

Shamir Kanji has deep roots in youth development through his numerous roles with the City of Ottawa, Aga Khan Youth and Sport Board of Ottawa, Boys and Girls Club of Ottawa and most recently with Kanata Youth Basketball Association. With more than 20 years of IT leadership as a Public Servant with Canada Revenue Agency, his recent advisory role has sparked a passion in shaping Diversity and Inclusion at the Information Technology Branch. Shamir’s family originated from East Africa and he is passionate about driving awareness, empathy and equality for all cultures alike, through all avenues. He sees sports as one of the most powerful vehicles through which to promote pluralism.

John Cunningham has extensive Senior Management and Board engagement over 25 years with publicly traded companies, experience that has covered the gamut from strategy development to governance models. He is connected to the local Ottawa community, most recently contributing to the Kanata Youth Basketball Association and Kanata Food Cupboard. He has a strong belief that sport participation brings broad ranging benefits to the local community, to families and children.

To learn more about the Ottawa Sport Council Board, please visit our website.

For more information, please contact Marcia Morris, Executive Director.

We believe that there should only be positive experiences in sport