The Sport Information Resource Centre
Use double quotes to find documents that include the exact phrase: "aerodynamic AND testing"
The Sport Information Resource Centre

Golf Canada – KOMOKA, Ont. – Canada’s top student-athlete golfers will descend on FireRock Golf Club in Komoka, Ont. from May 28-31 for the 2019 Canadian University/College Championship.

2019 marks the 17th playing of the event, which was established in 2003 by Golf Canada to give the country’s best college and university golfers a chance to compete at a national championship.

The Fanshawe College Falcons will host the event this year at the picturesque FireRock Golf Club. 

Designed by Thomas McBroom, FireRock features captivating landforms, ragged handmade bunkers and environmentally significant Savannah grasses. 

“We are thrilled to welcome the best Canadian student golfers to FireRock Golf Club,” said host club Director of Golf & Events Amanda Cosentino. “We’re looking forward to a competitive championship and showcasing our beautiful course.”

Golf Canada prides itself on conducting a top-notch tournament that is the highest level of national competition for college and university golfers in the country.

“The Canadian University/College Championship provides a unique opportunity for the best student-athlete golfers in Canada to represent their school and compete for a national championship,” said Tournament Director Dan Hyatt. “Golf Canada is proud to conduct this event to showcase the talent from universities and colleges across the country.”

In 2018, Avril Li went wire-to-wire to capture the women’s individual title and help the University of British Columbia Thunderbirds to their third consecutive Canadian University/College Championship. Li was the only female competitor to shoot under par, finishing at four-under, a full seven strokes ahead of the competition.

Daniel Campbell of the University of the Fraser Valley Cascades captured the individual men’s title by shooting three rounds in the 60s during the tournament. Campbell’s play helped UFV win the team title, becoming the first host school to win the team championship since 2014.

The 72-hole stroke play competition will feature 20 men’s teams and 12 women’s teams from across the country vying for the national championship titles.

Following the third round, the field will be reduced to the top 10 men’s teams and top six women’s teams, or any team within 15 shots of the lead. Individuals within 10 shots of third place will also make the cut, or any player within the top 10. Additional information regarding the 2019 championship can be found here.

FireRock Golf Club was selected by Golf Canada as the 2018 Future Links Facility of the Year.


The University of the Fraser Valley Cascades and the University of British Columbia Thunderbirds are this year’s defending champions in the Men’s and Women’s Division, respectively.  

Last year, Daniel Campbell became the first non-UBC competitor to win the men’s individual title since 2013. 

The UBC women have won 13 of the last 16 team event titles – easily the most in the competition’s history. The T-Birds also have the most men’s team championships with five.  

The individual men’s and women’s champions receive exemptions into the Canadian Men’s Amateur Championship and the Canadian Women’s Amateur Championship, respectively. The top three Men’s and Women’s individual finishers qualify for the FISU Universiade Games. 

For pairings and additional information, click here

Men’s Teams

Bishop’s University Gaiters 
Brock University Badgers
Fanshawe College Falcons 
Humber College Hawks 
McGill University 
McMaster University Marauders 
Queen’s University Gaels 
St. Lawrence College Vikings 
Université Laval Rouge et Or 
Université du Montréal Carabins 
University of Alberta Golden Bears 
University of British Columbia Thunderbirds  
University of the Fraser Valley Cascades 
University of Guelph Gryphons 
University of Manitoba Bisons 
University of Ottawa Gee-Gees 
University of Victoria Vikes 
University of Waterloo Warriors 
Western University Mustangs 
Wilfrid Laurier University Golden Hawks 

Women’s Teams

Medicine Hat College Rattlers 
Queen’s University Gaels 
Université Laval Rouge et Or 
Université du Montréal Carabins 
University of British Columbia Thunderbirds 
University of British Columbia – Okanagan Heat 
University of Manitoba Bisons 
University of Toronto Varsity Blues 
University of Victoria Vikes 
University of Waterloo Warriors 
University of Windsor Lancers 
Western University Mustangs

– 30 –


Golf Canada is the National Sports Federation and governing body for golf in Canada representing over 319,000 golfers at more than 1,400 member clubs across the country. A proud member of the Canadian Olympic Committee, Golf Canada’s mission is to grow participation, excellence and passion in the sport while upholding the integrity and traditions of the game. By investing in the growth of the sport and introducing more participants of all ages to the game, our goal is to be relevant to and respected by all Canadian golf enthusiasts from coast to coast. For more information about what Golf Canada is doing to support golf in your community, visit

For more information:

Graham Neysmith
Media & Public Relations
Golf Canada
(t) 514-435-4389