The Sport Information Resource Centre
Use double quotes to find documents that include the exact phrase: "aerodynamic AND testing"
The Sport Information Resource Centre

Seven leagues across Men’s & Women’s competitions as Rugby returns in BC

January 21, 2022 – Vancouver, BC: BC Rugby is delighted to announce the return of the BC Rugby Men’s Premier League, presented by Onni, and Women’s Premier League, as part of the 2022 Spring Senior Season. 

In the year of the Women’s Rugby World Cup, we anticipate a busy 12 months of Rugby throughout the province kicking off with the return of BC Rugby Spring Senior Leagues for the first time in two years. 

The Spring 2022 Senior Schedule features seven leagues across our Men’s and Women’s competitions, with the first round of matches kicking off on Saturday, January 29, 2022. The season culminates with Championship matches taking place at the BC Rugby Senior Club Finals on May 7, following playoff weekends on April 23 and April 30. 

The Men’s Premier League, presented by the Onni Group, features 12 Clubs that will contest a regular season before playoffs. 2018 and 2019 champions UBCOB Ravens (pictured above) will be aiming for a three-peat of Premier League title wins. 

The Men’s Premier League consists of the following Clubs:

  • Burnaby Lake Rugby Club (Burnaby)
  • Capilano RFC (West Vancouver)
  • Castaway Wanderers (Oak Bay)
  • James Bay AA (Victoria)
  • Meraloma (Vancouver)
  • Pacific Pride (Langford)
  • Seattle Rugby Club (Seattle, USA – competing from March 12) 
  • University of British Columbia (Vancouver)
  • UBC Old Boys Ravens (Vancouver – defending champions)
  • University of Victoria (Victoria)
  • Vancouver Rowing Club (Vancouver)

Westshore RFC (Langford)

The Men’s Premier Reserve League and Men’s Division 1 will be combined for 2022, with 17 Clubs contesting an eight-match regular season before playoffs. Alongside the Premier League teams listed above, Abbotsford RFC (Abbotsford), Bayside Sharks (Surrey), Kamloops RFC (Kamloops), Kelowna Crows (Kelowna), Langley RFC (Langley), Cowichan Rugby Club (Duncan), Nanaimo Hornets (Nanaimo) and Port Alberni Black Sheep (Port Alberni) will also compete in the Reserve/Division 1 League.

The Women’s Premier League consists of five Clubs that will contest a regular season before playoffs. Capilano RFC (pictured above) will be aiming for a second successive title. The following Clubs will compete in the Women’s Premier League:

  • Capilano RFC (West Vancouver – defending champions)
  • Castaway Wanderers (Oak Bay)
  • Seattle Rugby Club (Seattle, USA – competing from March 12)
  • UBC Thunderbirds (Vancouver)
  • Westshore RFC (Langford)

Spring Senior League schedules have also been released for Men’s Division 2, Men’s Division 3, Women’s Division 1, and Women’s Division 2. All fixtures can be viewed on the BC Rugby website here

“”We are delighted to welcome back Spring leagues to the BC Rugby schedule after what has been a challenging two years for our sport. The return of the competitive Club Rugby will spark what we hope will be a successful year for all our Member Clubs.” Annabel Kehoe, BC Rugby CEO

For more information on the Spring Senior season and what 2022 looks like for BC Rugby, please click on the below link. For additional photos, please contact:


More information about BC Rugby

British Columbia Rugby Union, commonly known as BC Rugby, is the recognised governing body for Rugby union in the province of British Columbia. We are a Not-For-Profit organisation and one of 60 Provincial Sport Organisations (PSOs) to receive funding from the Provincial Government. Prior to the COVID-19 pandemic, we welcomed over 8,000 individuals to the game and registered 61 community rugby clubs across British Columbia.