The Sport Information Resource Centre
Use double quotes to find documents that include the exact phrase: "aerodynamic AND testing"
The Sport Information Resource Centre

Canada will face Kazakhstan and Sweden in the round robin

Montreal, March 12, 2020 – The official draw ceremony for the Davis Cup by Rakuten Finals took place today in London. The 18 countries who have qualified for the finals have been divided into six groups, with three nations in each group. Canada is in Group B along with Kazakhstan and Sweden and will thus face both of these countries during the round robin stage. The Davis Cup finals will take place from November 23 to 29, 2020 on the hard courts in Caja Magica.

“We are looking forward to competing in the Davis Cup Finals for a second consecutive year. Although we are seeded for this year’s event, we know that we have a tough task ahead as all of the teams who are set to compete have strong line-ups. As we saw last year, any nation can cause an upset because the caliber of play is so high. Our players will be ready to compete and are excited for the challenge that lies ahead,” stated the Canadian Team Captain, Frank Dancevic, following the draw.

The winners of the six groups along with the two next best nations (depending on the number of wins and the percentage of sets and games won/lost) will qualify for the quarter-finals which will take place on Friday. The semi-finals will be played on Saturday and the final on Sunday, November 29. Each of these match-ups will consist of two singles matches and a doubles match, all played as a best of three sets.

The Canadian team secured their spot in the Davis Cup Finals by reaching the final at last year’s event. Canada went on a surprise deep run, defeating some top nations, including Australia and Russia, in the quarter-finals and semi-finals, respectively. The four nations who reached the semi-finals in 2019, Canada, Spain, Russia and Great Britain, have automatically qualified for the Finals in 2020.

Group A

Group B

Group C
Great Britain
Czech Republic

Group D

Group E
United States

Group F

About Davis CupDavis Cup by Rakuten is the World Cup of Tennis. Founded in 1900, it is the largest annual international team competition in sport, with 142 nations entered in 2020. Starting in 2019, the new format sees the top 18 nations contesting the Davis Cup by Rakuten Finals in a week-long season finale to crown the Davis Cup champions. The first two editions are being contested in Madrid at the iconic La Caja Magica. The 2020 Finals, on 23-29 November, see the 2019 semi-finalists and two wild card nations joined by the 12 winning teams from the 2020 Qualifiers.
About Tennis CanadaFounded in 1890, Tennis Canada is a non-profit, national sport association with a mission to lead the growth of tennis in Canada and a vision to become a world-leading tennis nation. We value teamwork, passion, integrity, innovation and excellence. Tennis Canada owns and operates the premier Rogers Cup presented by National Bank WTA and ATP Tour events, five professional ATP and ITF sanctioned events and financially supports four other professional tournaments in Canada. Tennis Canada operates junior national training centres/programs in Toronto, Montreal, Vancouver and Calgary. Tennis Canada is a proud member of the International Tennis Federation, the Canadian Olympic Committee and the Canadian Paralympic Committee, and serves to administer, sponsor and select the teams for Davis Cup, Fed Cup, the Olympic and Paralympic Games and all wheelchair, junior and senior national teams. Tennis Canada invests its surplus into tennis development. For more information on Tennis Canada please visit our Web site at: and follow us on Facebook and Twitter.   -30-   
Media contacts

Valérie Tétreault, Director, Communications or 514-273-1515, ext. 6259

Victoria Jaklin, Coordinator, Communications or 514-273-1515, ext. 6291

Oliver Wheeler, Coordinator, Communications or 416-665-9777, ext. 4545