Use double quotes to find documents that include the exact phrase: "aerodynamic AND testing"

61 skaters earn spots on Canada’s National and NextGen teams next season

OTTAWA, ONTARIO – Speed Skating Canada is proud to unveil the skaters that have been selected to its National and NextGen teams for the upcoming 2022-2023 season.

A total of 61 skaters – 28 short track and 33 long track – representing eight provinces and territories earned a spot on their respective teams based on their national and international results from last season. The team selections were made in accordance with eligibility and selection criteria outlined in the relevant High Performance Bulletins.

As members of the national program, these athletes will train under the tutelage of our world-class coaches at our national training centres in Montreal, Calgary and Quebec City. They will have access to our leading Integrated Support Teams, experts in sport science, exercise and medicine who ensure that they are healthy, fit and psychologically ready for optimal performance both on and off the ice.

Join us in congratulating the following skaters, who will have the honour of wearing the maple leaf during national and international competitions next season:

National Team, Short Track

  • Steven Dubois (QC)
  • Pascal Dion (QC)
  • Jordan Pierre-Gilles (QC)
  • Maxime Laoun (QC)
  • William Dandjinou (QC)
  • Jérome Courtemanche (QC)
  • Nicolas Perreault (QC)
  • Alphonse Ouimette (ON)
  • Kim Boutin (QC)
  • Alyson Charles (QC)
  • Courtney Sarault (NB)
  • Florence Brunelle (QC)
  • Danaé Blais (QC)
  • Claudia Gagnon (QC)
  • Camille de Serres-Rainville (QC)
  • Rikki Doak (NB)

National Team, Long Track

  • Ivanie Blondin (ON)
  • Isabelle Weidemann (ON)
  • Valerie Maltais (QC)
  • Marsha Hudey (SK)
  • Kaylin Irvine (AB)
  • Heather McLean (MB)
  • Laurent Dubreuil (QC)
  • Connor Howe (AB)
  • Graeme Fish (SK)
  • Ted-Jan Bloemen (AB)
  • Jordan Belchos (ON)
  • Tyson Langelaar (MB)
  • Antoine Gélinas-Beaulieu (QC)
  • Gilmore Junio (AB)
  • Vincent de Haitre (ON)

NextGen Team, Short Track

  • Thomas Simpkin (QC)
  • Alexandre Mignier (QC)
  • Mathieu Pelletier (QC)
  • Victor Roy-Lafrance (QC)
  • Samuel Green (BC)
  • Samuel Bureau (QC)
  • Ann-Sophie Bachand (QC)
  • Ayisha Miao Qi (QC)
  • Wren Acorn (NT)
  • Anna-Clara Belley (QC)
  • Victoria Gareau (QC)
  • Adora Seni (QC)

NextGen Team, Long Track

  • Alexa Scott (MB)
  • Brooklyn McDougall (AB)
  • Maddison Pearman (AB)
  • Laura Hall (BC)
  • Beatrice Lamarche (QC)
  • Gabrielle Jelonek (QC)
  • Anna Bourgeois (QC)
  • Rose Laliberté-Roy (QC)
  • Alison Desmarais (BC)
  • Abigail McCluskey (BC)
  • Kaleb Muller (AB)
  • David La Rue (QC)
  • Christopher Fiola (QC)
  • Hayden Mayeur (ON)
  • Frank Roth (AB)
  • Cedrick Brunet (QC)
  • Cooper Emin (NS)
  • Jake Weidemann (ON)

Each program has also selected training partners to train alongside the National and NextGen teams this coming season. Phillippe Daudelin, Justin Bergeron, Felix Roussel, Matej Pederson, Lea Tessier and Renee Steenge are slated to skate with the short track teams, while Hubert Marcotte and Rose-Anne Grenier will join the long track teams.

Alain Brouillette
Speed Skating Canada