Use double quotes to find documents that include the exact phrase: "aerodynamic AND testing"

Canada to open tournament against Finland on Aug. 20

CALGARY, Alta. The long-awaited quest for a gold medal at the 2021 IIHF Women’s World Championship officially begins Aug. 20 when Canada’s National Women’s Team opens up against Finland.

Hockey Canada, on behalf of the International Ice Hockey Federation (IIHF), unveiled the full 31-game tournament schedule, with all games being played at WinSport Arena at Canada Olympic Park in Calgary, Aug. 20-31.

The IIHF announced Calgary as the new host city for the tournament in June, marking the eighth time Canada has hosted the event.

“The excitement has been building ever since Calgary was announced as the new host of the IIHF Women’s World Championship, and this is another reason the excitement continues to build for hockey fans,” said Dean McIntosh, vice-president of events and properties with Hockey Canada. “A tremendous amount of work has gone into hosting this international tournament with the collaborative efforts of the Public Health Agency of Canada, Alberta Health and Alberta Health Services. This tournament would also not be possible without the support of the Province of Alberta, Hockey Alberta, the City of Calgary, Tourism Calgary and WinSport, and we are grateful to be able to showcase the best women’s hockey players in the world as they compete for a gold medal.”

The 10-team tournament features Canada in Group A with Finland, Russia, Switzerland and the United States, while Group B is comprised of the Czech Republic, Denmark, Germany, Hungary and Japan.

In addition to Canada’s opening-day game against Finland, it will also play Russia on Aug. 22 and Switzerland on Aug. 24 before a cross-border match with its rivals from the United States on Aug. 26 to close out the preliminary round. Canada will play all of its preliminary-round games at 6 p.m. ET/3 p.m. PT.

TSN and RDS, the official broadcast partners of Hockey Canada, will carry extensive game coverage and analysis throughout the IIHF Women’s World Championship. TSN will  will broadcast all preliminary-round games, quarterfinals, semifinals and medal games in Calgary. RDS will provide coverage of all Canada games, in addition to playoff round games.

Canada has captured 10 gold medals at the IIHF Women’s World Championship (1990, 1992, 1994, 1997, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2004, 2007, 2012), in addition to eight silver (2005, 2008, 2009, 2011, 2013, 2015, 2016, 2017) and one bronze (2019).

For more information from the IIHF, please visit the official tournament website at

For more information on Hockey Canada, Canada’s National Women’s Team and the 2021 IIHF Women’s World Championship, please visit, or following along through social media on Facebook and Twitter.

– 30 –

For further information, or to unsubscribe from the media distribution list, please contact:

Esther Madziya

Manager, Communications

Hockey Canada