The Sport Information Resource Centre
Use double quotes to find documents that include the exact phrase: "aerodynamic AND testing"
The Sport Information Resource Centre

Canada Soccer – Montréal hosts opening leg of 2019 Canadian Championship Final Presented by Allstate
16 September 2019

Seven-time Canadian Championship winners Toronto FC try to make it four in a row against three-time champions Montréal Impact as they kick off Canada Soccer’s 2019 Canadian Championship Final Presented by Allstate. The opening leg kicks off Wednesday 18 September at 7:30 p.m. ET, 4:30 p.m. PT LIVE on from Stade Saputo in Montréal, QC.
The expanded 2019 Canadian Championship will culminate in the Voyageurs Cup trophy being raised with the completion of the second leg hosted at BMO Field in Toronto, ON on 25 September at 7:30 p.m. ET, 4:30 p.m. PT.
“Canada Soccer is the proud owner of the Canadian Championship and congratulates all 13 teams who have taken part in the twelfth edition of the country’s highest domestic professional soccer competition,” said Peter Montopoli, Canada Soccer’s General Secretary. “Both finalists have previously made historic runs at the Scotiabank Concacaf Champions League and we wish Toronto FC and the Montréal Impact the best of luck as they meet in the Canadian Championship Final.”

All-time, the two sides have met 18 times in the Canadian Championship since 2008, with Toronto holding the edge with 10 wins and five draws compared to Montréal’s three wins and five draws. Montréal celebrated their first-ever Canadian Championship title at BMO Field after drawing 1:1 with Toronto FC to finish first and win the Voyageurs Cup in 2008.
Montréal Impact advanced to the Final defeating Cavalry FC in the Semi-Final Round and York9 FC in the Qualifying Round 3 where they entered the competition. Toronto FC advanced after defeating Ottawa Fury FC in the Semi-Final Round. The 2018 Canadian Championship winners held a bye to the Semi-Final Round. 
The 2019 Canadian Championship Final Presented by Allstate will mark the third time since 2014 that Toronto and Montréal have faced each other in the Canadian Championship final.
In 2019, total attendance for the Canadian Championship since its inception in 2008 surpassed one million with a new record for attendance already set for this year’s edition with 122,226 fans in attendance from coast to coast.  
About the Canadian Championship
The Canadian Championship is Canada Soccer’s highest domestic professional soccer competition and is the sole qualification route for Canadian professional clubs into Scotiabank Concacaf Champions League.
Dubbed the Battle of the North, the Championship sets itself apart from all North American professional sports competitions that operate on both sides of the border as the only one to hold an all-Canadian competition that leads to the international stage.  The winner has the opportunity to compete in international competition including the Scotiabank Concacaf Champions League and ultimately the FIFA Club World Cup.
As Canada Soccer’s highest domestic professional soccer competition, Canadian Content is a focus of the competition and since 2017 the Canadian Content rule has required that three eligible Canadian internationals start each match with nearly 60% of the starting line-ups in the 2019 edition featuring Canadians. 
In 2019, the Canadian Championship will feature 13 teams including three Major League Soccer clubs, Toronto FC, Montréal Impact FC and Vancouver Whitecaps FC; United Soccer League’s Ottawa Fury FC; seven Canadian Premier League clubs, FC Edmonton, Forge FC, Valour FC, Cavalry FC, HFX Wanderers FC, Pacific FC, and York9 FC; Première Ligue de Soccer du Québec’s AS Blainville; and League1 Ontario champions Vaughan Azzurri.
The Voyageurs Cup has been awarded to the Canadian Championship winner since 2008. Created by the Voyageurs Canadian Supporters group, the trophy represents Canadian fans’ commitment to the game in our country. The George Gross Memorial Trophy recognises the Canadian Championship’s Most Valuable Player, with Jonathan Osorio the 2018 winner. The award is named after the late George Gross, an honoured member of the Canada Soccer Hall of Fame. New in 2019, the Best Young Canadian Player Award recognises the player 21 years or younger who makes the biggest impact in the Canadian Championship.

About Canada Soccer
Canada Soccer, in partnership with its membership and its partners, provides leadership in the pursuit of excellence in soccer, both at the national and international levels. Canada Soccer not only strives to lead Canada to victory, but also encourages Canadians to a life-long passion for soccer. For more details on Canada Soccer, visit the official website at