The Sport Information Resource Centre
Use double quotes to find documents that include the exact phrase: "aerodynamic AND testing"
The Sport Information Resource Centre

Equestrian Canada – Ottawa, ON, Aug. 28, 2019 – The Equestrian Canada (EC) Nominating Committee is pleased to announce the board candidate election results and the five (5) new Directors who have been elected to the EC Board.

The results of the board candidate election are as follows:

Bernadette Alexander
Mark Goldman
Doug Orr
Carla Robin
Chris Sorensen
Beth Underhill

Calgary, AB
La Minerve, QC
Lethbridge, AB
Langley, BC
Caledon, ON
Schomberg, ON

Not Elected
Elected for a three (3) year term
Elected for a three (3) year term
Elected for a three (3) year term
Elected for a three (3) year term
Elected for a one (1) year term


For further details on the election, visit In addition, the Nominating Committee will compile a report regarding the election process and results, which will be presented during the 2019 EC Annual General Meeting on Sept. 25, 2019, and then made available on the EC website.

While Goldman and Underhill are joining the EC Board for the first time, Orr, Robin, and Sorensen are returning Directors. They will join the following current Directors to round out the 2019-2020 EC Board:

Meg Krueger (President) – Mississauga, ON
Craig Collins – Loretto, ON
Charles Cue – Aylesford, NS
Jane Milton – Vancouver, BC
Robert Mitchell – Vancouver, BC
Robyn Kennedy – Guelph, ON
Dr. Wayne Burwash – Calgary, AB

During the call for EC Board candidates, a total of nine qualified applications provided a nomination package by close of the nomination period on May 15, 2019. Following an in-depth review of all candidates, the EC Nominating Committee unanimously agreed to put forward ballot nominations for six individuals.

The EC Voting Members were invited to cast their ballots between July 29 and Aug. 1, 2019 to determine the successful candidates.

There were up to five (5) Director positions to be filled for 2019 As per Bylaw 4.2, d) Transition:

Commencing in 2019 and for every year thereafter unless changed in accordance with the By-laws and Act and subject to increase to fill any vacancies for the remainder of a term, the number of Directors to be elected shall be the number of Directors whose terms expire in the same year as the election.

  • Four (4) positions will be for a three (3) year term ending in 2022; one (1) position will be for a one (1) year term ending in 2020.
  • Note that following the resignation of one (1) of the Directors, whose term was to end in 2020, the Board did not fill the vacancy in accordance with Bylaw 4.14.

For more information on the EC Board of Directors, visit

– 30 –

About the EC Nominating Committee

The EC Nominating Committee members are as follows:

Dr. Wayne Burwash (Chair) – Calgary, AB
Mike Boyd – Etobicoke, ON
Krista Foley – Sackville, NS
Winona (Noni) Hartvikson – Langley, BC
Lisa Kavanagh-Ross – Ailsa Craig, ON
Lorraine MacDonald – Terra Cotta, ON
Jean Szkotnicki – Moffat, ON

The Committee members are responsible for:

  • Presenting a slate of candidates for the position of EC Board Directors in accordance with EC’s Bylaws.
  • Ensuring there is an election each year.
  • Ensuring EC has a rigorous nomination system.
  • Recruiting qualified individuals to stand for election as Directors.

Questions, Comments?

If you have any questions or comments concerning the 2019 EC Board of Directors election, please contact:

Richard Mongeau
Chief Executive Officer
Equestrian Canada