The Sport Information Resource Centre
Use double quotes to find documents that include the exact phrase: "aerodynamic AND testing"
The Sport Information Resource Centre

For the first time since 1928, Canada will have two men in the 200-metre final. On that day, Percy Williams took gold and teammate John Fitzpatrick finished fifth.
 
More than 90 years later, Andre De Grasse and Aaron Brown will join them in the history books. De Grasse will go for his second medal of these Games, finishing first in his 200-metre heat in a new Canadian record time of 19.73 seconds.
 
“I’m really happy about it. I broke my national record and it’s been five years since I’ve done that,” said De Grasse. “It feels good that I still have my 200-metre legs in me. I’m feeling good and ready for tomorrow.

READ MORE

DAY 5 CANADIAN RESULTS

ATHLETESEXEVENTROUNDRESULT
Liz GleadleWJavelin throwQualification 58.19m
Kyra ConstantineW400mHeats 51.69
 Advanced to semi-finals
Natassha McDonaldW400mHeats 53.54
Andre De GrasseM200mHeats 20.56
 Advanced to semi-finals
 M200mSemi-Final 19.73 CR
 Advanced to final
Aaron BrownM200mHeats 20.38
 Advanced to semi-finals
 M200mSemi-Final 19.99 SB
 Advanced to final
Brendon RodneyM200mHeats 20.60
Tim NedowMShot putQualification 19.42m
Mohammed AhmedM5000mHeats 13:38.96
 Advanced to final
Lucas BruchetM5000mHeats 13:44.08
Justyn KnightM5000mHeats 13:30.22
 Advanced to final
Camryn RogersWHammer throwFinal 74.35m
 5th

COMPLETE RESULTS

TOKYO, JAPAN – AUGUST 03: Elizabeth Gleadle of Canada in the qualification round of the women’s javelin throw during the morning session on Day 5 of the athletics programme of the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games at the Olympic Stadium on August 03, 2021 Tokyo, Japan.
(Photo by Roger Sedres/Athletics Canada)
TOKYO, JAPAN – AUGUST 03: Kyra Constantine of Canada in the heats of the women’s 400m during the morning session on Day 5 of the athletics programme of the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games at the Olympic Stadium on August 03, 2021 Tokyo, Japan.
(Photo by Roger Sedres/Athletics Canada)
Canadian distance runner Mohammed Ahmed competes in the first round of heats in the Men’s 5000m during the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games on Tuesday, August 03, 2021. Photo by Mark Blinch/COC *MANDATORY CREDIT*
Canadian shot put thrower Tim Nedow competes in the Men’s Shot Put qualifications during the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games on Tuesday, August 03, 2021. Photo by Mark Blinch/COC *MANDATORY CREDIT*

Photos: Visit our Facebook page to view a collection of photos from the 2020 Tokyo Olympic Games.

Video content: It’s the Olympic Games, which means it’s nearly impossible to look away from your TV or the livestream. But in case you had to step away, CBC Sports and Radio-Canada have you covered with highlights, replays, features and more. Check out the highlights here.

Canadian thrower Camryn Rogers throws during the Women’s Hammer Throw finals during the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games on Tuesday, August 03, 2021. Photo by Mark Blinch/COC *MANDATORY CREDIT*

QUOTE OF THE DAY

“First Olympic Games, and being among such incredible, talented and experienced women, I think there’s always more you wish you could do but, if anything, my results show me that there’s a lot more left in the tank. I’m all the more excited to build off it next year and to start planning for three years from now.” – Camryn Rogers

A LOOK AHEAD…

Every race, jump or throw at the 2020 Tokyo Olympic Games just might turn out to be ‘the highlight of the Games’. Don’t miss a moment of the action.
 
Here’s a look at Team Canada’s schedule for Day – 6 (Aug. 4)

MORNING SESSION
LOCAL TIMESEXEVENTROUNDATHLETE
9:00 (JST)
20:00 (Aug. 3 – EDT)
M100mDecathlonPierce LePage
(Heat 3)
Damian Warner
(Heat 3)
9:35 (JST)
20:35 (Aug. 3 – EDT)
W100mHHeptathlonGeorgia Ellenwood
(Heat 2)
9:55 (JST)
20:55 (Aug. 3 – EDT)
MLong jumpDecathlonPierce LePage
(Group A)
Damian Warner
(Group B)
10:35 (JST)
21:35 (Aug. 3 – EDT)
WHigh jumpHeptathlonGeorgia Ellenwood
(Group A)
11:40 (JST)
22:40 (Aug. 3 – EDT)
MShot putDecathlonPierce LePage
(Group A)
Damian Warner
(Group B)
EVENING SESSION
LOCAL TIMESEXEVENTROUNDATHLETE
18:30 (JST)
5:30 (EDT)
MHigh jumpDecathlonPierce LePage
(Group B)
Damian Warner
(Group A)
19:00 (JST)
6:00 (EDT)
W1500mSemi-FinalGabriela DeBues-Stafford
(Heat 1)
Lucia Stafford
(Heat 2)
19:05 (JST)
6:05 (EDT)
WShot putHeptathlonGeorgia Ellenwood
(Group A)
19:30 (JST)
6:30 (EDT)
W400mSemi-FinalKyra Constantine
(Heat 3)
20:00 (JST)
7:00 (EDT)
W3000mSCFinalGeneviève Lalonde
20:30 (JST)
7:30 (EDT)
W200mHeptathlonGeorgia Ellenwood
(Heat 2)
21:30 (JST)
8:30 (EDT)
M400mDecathlonPierce LePage
(Heat 3)
Damian Warner
(Heat 3)
21:55 (JST)
8:55 (EDT)
M200mFinalAaron Brown
Andre De Grasse

START LISTS

FOLLOW ALONG

With so many ways to follow the Games at your fingertips, we created a list of our favourites:

Athletics Canada

Team Canada

World Athletics

CBC Sports

Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games

MEDIA INFO

Throughout the Games, Caroline Sharp will serve as the Canadian athletics media attaché, while Gilles LeBlanc will assist with race walking and marathon events in Sapporo.
 
Should you wish to arrange an interview, or need more information, please do not hesitate to reach out to Caroline or Gilles. Once a member of the Canadian team returns home, please contact a member of Athletics Canada’s communications team (Amanda or Riley). 
 
Caroline Sharp (Athletics media attaché)
Email: csharp@olympic.ca
Number (Japan): 81-7043-287-480
WhatsApp: 613-323-5605
 
Gilles LeBlanc (race walking and marathon media attaché)
Email: gleblanc@softball.ca
Number (Japan): 81-7043-902-316
WhatsApp: 613-795-1996
 
Amanda Nigh (Athletics Canada – post-Games requests)
Email: amanda.nigh@athletics.ca
 
Riley Denver (Athletics Canada – post-Games requests)
Email: Riley.Denver@athletics.ca

Looking for a list of all-time Canadian Olympic medallists? The best Canadian placing at the Games by event? Or even the team’s overall placing from 1900 to 2016? You’re in luck. It’s all in one place: www.athletics.ca/events/tokyo-2020-olympic-games.
 
Updated bios of each Tokyo Olympian can also be found here.