The Sport Information Resource Centre
Use double quotes to find documents that include the exact phrase: "aerodynamic AND testing"
The Sport Information Resource Centre

Saanich, BC (Nov. 27, 2022) – There was excitement at Layritz Park in Saanich, BC. The city on Vancouver Island played host to the 2022 Canadian Cyclo-cross Championships for the first time after two consecutive years without Championship racing in the discipline. Nearly 300 athletes raced the 3.6 kilometre course through the cold, wind, rain and mud all for a spot on the podium and to bring home a maple leaf jersey.

There were plenty of heavy hitters in this year’s line-up including Michael van den Ham who was looking to defend his Championship title in the men’s Elite category. In the end, Tyler Clark who would run away with the lead and take home his first ever Elite Championship title.

“I definitely wanted to be the first one into the first technical section. It’s so hard packed, and it was so slippery, so I knew if I made a mistake, everyone else behind me was going to make a mistake too,” explained Clark. “Last time we had a Championships I was third to Gunnar [Holmgren] and Tyler Orschel, and ever since then I’ve been wanting that maple leaf jersey.”

On the women’s side, the Holmgren sisters continued to dominate with Isabella Holmgren taking the win and title in the women’s Junior category. Later, her twin sister, Ava, would have the opportunity to race against a stacked Elite field including Sandra Walter, Ruby West and Jennifer Jackson. It would ultimately be Ava who would dominate the field, continuing to show her depth, speed and tactics to take the win over Walter.

“I feel like it all came down on who could ride the smoothest and with the least amount of mechanicals,” said Ava after her win. “I was trying to look at racing with the Elites, as a Junior, as more of a challenge than a risk, and it turned out really well. If someone told me three years ago that I would be wearing the Elite jersey, I wouldn’t have believed them so I’m really happy about that.”

Overall, 14 Canadians climbed to the top of the podium to solidify their titles in the final Canadian Championships of the 2022 season. All winners can be found below with full results found here

2022 Canadian Cyclo-cross Championship winners:

U13 Women – Rebecca Dief
U13 Men – Elliot Pechter 
U15 Women ­ Hazel Roberts
U15 Men ­­– Nash Jamieson
U17 Women – Nico Knoll 
U17 Men – Kelan Wells 
U23 Women – Emilly Jonston
U23 Men ­­– Luke Valenti
Junior Women – Isabella Holmgren
Junior Men – Ian Ackert
Elite Women – Ava Holmgren
Elite Men – Tyler Clark
Master 35-44 Women ­– Cristin Schlossberger
Master 35-44 Men – Craig Richey
Master 45-54 Women – Kelly Welbourne
Master 45-54 Men – Jean-Francois Blais
Master 55-64 Women – Geraldine Vander Haegen
Master 55-64 Men – Normon Thiabult
Master 65+ Women – Barb Morris 
Master 65+ Men – Colin Funk
Sportif Challenge Women – Kendra Mcferland
Sportif Challenge Men – Injae Sol 

About Cycling Canada
Cycling Canada is one of the oldest national sport organizations in Canada and has one simple purpose: to inspire Canadians to cycle. Cycling Canada administers programs to promote and grow cycling across the country, hosts national and international events and manages the National Team in all levels of international competition.

– 30 –

Source: Cycling Canada  
Information: Caroline Soble | Cycling Canada |