The Sport Information Resource Centre
Use double quotes to find documents that include the exact phrase: "aerodynamic AND testing"
The Sport Information Resource Centre

– Canada’s games to be livestreamed on Paralympic.ca, CPC’s Facebook page, cbcsports.ca, the CBC Sports app and CBC Gem
– Six-team tournament in Richmond, B.C. brings together best in the sport
– Super Series provides live streaming and additional content of Para sport events

Ottawa, June 1, 2022 – The best countries in wheelchair rugby will be facing off for gold in Canada this week, and the Canadian Paralympic Committee (CPC) and CBC Sports will be offering live coverage of the event as part of the Paralympic Super Series. Canada Cup runs Thursday June 2 – Sunday June 5 in Richmond, B.C. and Canada’s games will be livestreamed on both CPC and CBC digital platforms.

Taking place at the Richmond Olympic Oval, Canada Cup is making its return to the wheelchair rugby competition calendar for the first time since 2018. Typically held every two years, it brings together the top nations in the world and is considered one of the biggest tournaments outside of the Paralympic Games and world championships.

The 2022 edition will see six of the top countries in the world vie for the title – Japan (No. 2), Great Britain (3), Australia (4), France (5), Canada (6), and Denmark (7). 

Canada is fielding a team of 12 players. All five of its round-robin games as well as the bronze and gold medal matches will be livestreamed on the Canadian Paralympic Committee’s Facebook page and Paralympic.ca as well as CBC Sports digital platforms: the free CBC Gem streaming service, cbcsports.ca, and the CBC Sports app for iOS and Android devices.

“We can’t wait to play on home soil again in front of the Canadian supporters, both in the stands and streaming from home,” said team member Cody Caldwell, a two-time Paralympian.

Paralympian Benoit Huot, a 20-time medallist in Para swimming, will be CPC’s onsite reporter, providing interviews with the athletes and additional content to enhance the livestreams and overall coverage on the CPC’s digital channels.

The Paralympic Super Series was first launched in 2019 as an avenue to spotlight Para sport competitions year-round and provide additional live coverage of events. It has provided coast-to-coast-to-coast coverage of several competitions, including world championships for Para swimming, Para cycling, wheelchair basketball, Para ice hockey, Para athletics, Para alpine skiing, and Para nordic skiing.

“We are so excited for the return of Canada Cup, and are pleased to be helping ensure viewers across the country can check out the action through the Paralympic Super Series,” said Karen O’Neill, CEO, Canadian Paralympic Committee. “Thank you as well to our valued partners at CBC Sports for continuing to showcase Paralympic sport year-round. Canada Cup is a special event that will highlight the very best of wheelchair rugby right here on Canadian soil. Congratulations to the event organizers at BC Wheelchair Sports for their immense work, and we look forward to supporting the tournament and cheering on Canada.”

Canada will compete in five preliminary games, with the top two countries advancing into the gold-medal game and the third and fourth-place teams battling for bronze.

June 2
4:30 p.m. ET / 1:30 p.m. PT – Canada vs. France
10:30 p.m. ET / 7:30 p.m. PT – Canada vs. Australia *CPC platforms only

June 3
9 p.m. ET / 6 p.m. PT – Canada vs. Denmark

June 4
3 p.m. ET / 12 p.m. PT – Canada vs. Great Britain
9 p.m. ET / 6 p.m. PT – Canada vs. Japan

June 5
1:30 p.m. ET / 10:30 a.m. PT – Bronze Medal Game
4 p.m. ET / 1 p.m. PT – Gold Medal Game 

To learn more about Canada Cup, visit CanadaCupWCRugby.com. Please visit Paralympic.ca/Paralympic-super-series for more information on the Super Series and follow @CDNParalympics for live updates during the tournament.

About the Canadian Paralympic Committee: Paralympic.ca

About CBC Sports
CBC/Radio-Canada is Canada’s Olympic Network through 2032 and Canada’s Paralympic Network through 2024. The national public broadcaster is committed to showcasing Canadian and international athletes and sports across all platforms under the CBC Sports and Hockey Night in Canada brands, including on television, online at cbcsports.ca and via the CBC Sports app for iOS and Android devices. CBC Sports prides itself on telling the story of the high-performance athlete’s journey every step of the way, ensuring Canadians always know the people who represent them before they see them atop the podium.

Follow CBC Sports on social media at: Facebook: /CBCSports Twitter: @cbcsports Instagram: @cbc.sports

Media Contacts:

Nicole Watts
Manager, Public Relations
Canadian Paralympic Committee
nwatts@paralympic.ca / 613-462-2700

Joanna Landsberg
CBC Public Relations
joanna.landsberg@cbc.ca / 647-628-4788

For media information about Canada Cup:
Nathan Bragg
BC Wheelchair Sports Association
communications@bcwheelchairsports.com / 604-715-7298

For media information about Team Canada at Canada Cup:
Nathan Lederer
Communications and Marketing Coordinator
Wheelchair Rugby Canada
nathan@wheelchairrugby.ca / 905-531-7428