Use double quotes to find documents that include the exact phrase: "aerodynamic AND testing"

DARTMOUTH, NOVA SCOTIA (May 9, 2022) – Over 100 sprint paddlers from across Canada competed in the first set of National Team Trials from May 2-5 in Dartmouth, Nova Scotia last week. The regatta was held on iconic Lake Banook, home of the 2022 ICF Canoe Sprint World Championships. Lake Banook also serves as a home base for three Atlantic Division Canoe Kayak Clubs – Banook Canoe Club, Mic Mac Amateur Aquatic Club and Senobe Aquatic Club.
The trials, hosted by the Atlantic Division of Canoe Kayak Canada (ADCKC), served as a selection regatta for the ICF Sprint World Cup Racice, ICF Canoe Sprint World Cup and Para World Cup Poznan events being held later this month.
“Team Trials on Lake Banook were a fantastic way to kick of our competitive Sprint Racing season with races on the course which will host the World in August,” said Chief Technical Officer, Ian Mortimer. “As we begin the push to Paris it was very promising to see strong paddling from new and veteran senior athletes within our team.”
Eight Olympic and Paralympic paddlers from Tokyo were selected to the team, including 2020 Olympic bronze medallist Katie Vincent.
“It was really nice to start off the season last week on Lake Banook,” said Vincent. “Though it was a lot colder than Tokyo, there was a lot of world-class paddling coming from our team. It was an excellent start to our road to Paris and I am looking forward to the World Championships coming to Dartmouth this August. It’s going to be incredible to have the support of our local paddling community cheering for us this summer on Canadian waters. I get chills just thinking about it.”
The ICF Canoe Sprint World Cup circuit begins on May 20-22 in Racice, Czech Republic followed by ICF Para Canoe and Canoe Sprint World Cup in Poznan, Poland from May 26-29.
2022 Sprint World Cup Team


Brianna HennessyOttawa River Canoe Club
Erica ScarffMississauga Canoe Club
Mathieu St-PierreClub de canotage du Shawinigan

Women’s Canoe                        

Sophia JensenCascades
Julia Lilley OsendeMic Mac Aquatic Canoe Club
Sloan MacKenzieCheema Aquatic Club
Katie VincentMississauga Canoe Club

Men’s Canoe                               

Andrew BillardMaskwa Aquatic Club
Connor FitzpatrickSenobe Aquatic Club
Bret HimmelmanMaskwa Aquatic Club
Tyler LaidlawSack-a-Wa Canoe Club
Alix PlomteuxClub de Canoe-Kayak Lac-Beauport
Craig SpenceCheema Aquatic Club

Women’s Kayak                          

Toshka Besharah-HrebackaRideau Canoe Club
Natalie DavisonRideau Canoe Club
Andréanne LangloisClub de canoe-kayak de vitesse de Trois-Rivières
Riley MelansonCheema Aquatic Club
Michelle RussellCheema Aquatic Club

Men’s Kayak                              

Laurent LavigneClub de canoe-kayak de vitesse de Trois-Rivières
Simon McTavishMississauga Canoe Club
Brian MalfesiRidge Canoe & Kayak Club
Nicholas MatveevBalmy Beach Canoe Club
Pierre-Luc PoulinClub de Canoe-Kayak Lac-Beauport

To view the full list of results from NTT1, click here.

Visit Canoe Kayak Canada’s website to get more information and make sure to follow @CanoeKayakCAN for social updates.

Subscribe to Canoe Kayak Canada’s mailing list to get all news and results directly to your email.

More information:
Colleen Coderre
Communications Lead

Emmalee Nother
Communications Coordinator