Use double quotes to find documents that include the exact phrase: "aerodynamic AND testing"
Women’s Olympic Football Tournament
24 July 2021 – Sapporo, JPN
Canada Soccer by Daniela Porcelli
Canada huddle (incl. Christine Sinclair et al)

Canada Soccer’s Women’s National Team will play for first place in Group E when they face Great Britain in the last match of the group stage at the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games. Canada is currently in second place of Group E with four points from their opening 1:1 draw with hosts Japan and 2:1 win over Chile.
Canada will face Great Britain in Kashima, Japan on 27 July at 20.00 local (07.00 ET / 4.00 PT). The match will be broadcast live on and fans will also find extended coverage across Canada Soccer’s digital channels on Twitter, Instagram, Facebook and YouTube featuring the hashtag #CANWNT.
“We absolutely want to win this match, get the points, and move on to the next round,” said Bev Priestman, Canada Soccer’s Women’s National Team Head Coach. “Keeping the knockout stage in mind, we have to make sure our players are as rested and as fresh as possible, but we have an incredible depth within our group of players, and I believe this can give us a result against Great Britain.”
Canada and Great Britain faced each other once before at the London 2012 Olympic Games, with Canada eliminating the hosts with a 2:0 victory in the Quarterfinals. Great Britain features players from England, Scotland and Wales, with notably England finishing third and fourth place at the past two FIFA Women’s World Cups. Earlier this year, Canada won a pair of away international “A” matches against both Wales (3:0 on 9 April) and England (2:0 on 13 April).
“We knew that each match of this tournament was going to be a fight, and it will be especially against Great Britain,” said Canadian midfielder Desiree Scott. “We need to use all our depth in this squad, but also stay connected as a team. And we need to be ready to battle, to bring our fight and our edge, and that is what each and everyone of us is going to do.”
From 12 nations in three groups, the top-eight nations advance to the Olympic Quarterfinals on 30 July from which winners then advance to the Semifinals and then a chance to win a medal. The Women’s Olympic Football Tournament runs 21 July through 6 August 2021, with this year’s gold medal match at Tokyo’s Olympic Stadium.
Canada are one of just five nations in the world that have qualified for each of the past four Women’s Olympic Football Tournaments. Canada is also the only nation in the world to reach the podium at both London 2012 and Rio 2016 in women’s football.
Canada are two-time Olympic bronze medal winners (2012 and 2016) and two-time Concacaf champions (1998 and 2010). In all, Canada have participated in seven consecutive editions of the FIFA Women’s World Cup™ (1995 to 2019) and three consecutive editions of the Women’s Olympic Football Tournament (2008 to 2016). At Rio 2016, Canada Soccer’s Women’s National Team were the first Canadian Olympic team to win back-to-back medals at a summer Olympic Games in more than a century.
Canada Soccer’s Women’s National Youth Teams, meanwhile, have won four Concacaf youth titles: the 2004 and 2008 Concacaf Women’s Under-20 Championship, the 2010 Concacaf Women’s Under-17 Championship, and the 2014 Concacaf Girls’ Under-15 Championship. Canada have qualified for seven editions of the FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup (including a silver medal at Canada 2002) and all six editions of the FIFA U-17 Women’s World Cup (including a fourth-place finish at Uruguay 2018).


Brad FougereCorporate Communications | Communications corporatives
m. +1 613.299.1587

Richard Scott
National Teams Program | Programme de l’équipe nationale
m. +1 613.818.0305