Use double quotes to find documents that include the exact phrase: "aerodynamic AND testing"

September 6, 2023 (Langford, BC) – Head Coach Kevin Rouet has named 32 players for Canada’s Women’s Rugby Team’s upcoming tour to England, which will serve as preparation for the inaugural WXV competition taking place in New Zealand this October and November.  

Having last met nearly a year ago in the 2021 Rugby World Cup (played in 2022) semi-final, Canada and first in the world ranked England will play two test matches at the end of September. The first will be played at Sandy Park, the home of the Exeter Chiefs, on Saturday September 23 at 6:30 a.m. PT / 9:30 a.m. ET (2:30 p.m. local time).  

The second match will kick off on Saturday September 30 at 7:00 a.m. PT / 10:00 a.m. ET (3:00 p.m. local time) at StoneX Stadium in London, home of the Saracens.  

Nine players on Canada’s roster currently compete on Premier 15s teams in England, including three with the Exeter Chiefs (DaLeaka Menin, Emily Tuttosi, Alexandra Tessier) and three with the Saracens (Alex Ellis, McKinley Hunt, Sophie de Goede).  

Paige Farries is in her fourth season with the Worcester Warriors, as is Sara Svoboda with the Loughborough Lightning. Making her Premier 15s debut this season is Tyson Beukeboom, who has joined the Ealing Trailfinders in their inaugural season. 

Fresh off qualifying for the Paris 2024 Olympics are seven players who competed in the rugby sevens regional qualification event in Langford in August, including Krissy Scurfield, who could earn her first cap with Canada’s Women’s Rugby Team in England. 

Three other players could also earn their first caps. Julia Omokhuale took part in Canada’s training camp ahead of the Pacific Four Series in Ottawa this July before competing against the USA with Canada’s U23 Women’s Rugby Team in Boston, and Ashlynn Smith was named to Canada’s Ottawa squad, but was not selected for either match day roster. Caroline Crossley has represented Canada’s Women’s Sevens Team on the World Rugby Sevens Series and at the 2019 Pan American Games, 2018 Commonwealth Games and 2018 Rugby World Cup Sevens.  

Returning to competition with Canada’s Women’s Rugby Team for the first time since 2018 is 2014 Rugby World Cup silver medallist and 2014 Women’s Rugby Player of the Year Magali Harvey. Recently signed with France’s Stade Bordelais, Harvey spent the 2022-23 season with Queen’s University and took part in Canada’s Women’s Sevens Team’s international summer showcase. 

“We have a full and exciting fall ahead of us. These two test matches against England are very important in our preparation for WXV and the 2025 Rugby World Cup,” said Canada’s Women’s Rugby Team Head Coach Kevin Rouet. “Since last having the team together in Ottawa for the Pacific Four Series, we have had a number of players integrated with the sevens program in Langford and many preparing for seasons abroad in England and France. We are greatly looking forward to regrouping once again for what will be two challenging, top-level matches.” 

Tickets are on sale on the England Rugby website, and more information on how to watch and follow in Canada will be announced shortly. 



Alexandria Ellis (Ottawa, ON) – Barrhaven Scottish / Saracens 

Ashlynn Smith (Abbotsford, BC) – University of Calgary 

Caroline Crossley (Victoria, BC) – Castaway Wanderers  

Courtney Holtkamp (Rimbey, AB) – Red Deer Titans Rugby 

DaLeaka Menin (Vulcan, AB) – Exeter Chiefs 

Emily Tuttosi (Souris, MB) – Calgary Hornets / Exeter Chiefs 

Fabiola Forteza (Quebec City, QC) – Club de rugby de Québec / Stade Bordelais 

Gabrielle Senft (Regina, SK) – Castaway Wanderers

Gillian Boag (Calgary, AB) – Capilano RFC 

Julia Omokhuale (Calgary, AB) – Calgary Irish Rugby Club / University of Calgary 

Laetitia Royer (Loretteville, QC) – St-Anne-de-Bellevue / ASM Romagnat 

McKinley Hunt (King City, ON) – Aurora Barbarians / Saracens 

Mikiela Nelson (North Vancouver, BC) – UBC Rugby / Capilano Rugby 

Olivia DeMerchant (Mapledale, NB) – Halifax Tars RFC 

Sara Cline (Edmonton, AB) – Leprechaun Tigers 

Sara Svoboda (Belleville, ON) – Brantford Harlequins / Belleville Bulldogs / Loughborough Lightning 

Sophie de Goede (Victoria, BC) – Castaway Wanderers RFC / Saracens 

Tyson Beukeboom (Uxbridge, ON) – Cowichan RFC / Ealing Trailfinders 


Alexandra Tessier (Sainte-Clotilde-de-Horton, QC) – Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue RFC / Exeter Chiefs 

Claire Gallagher (Caledon, ON) – Aurora Barbarians / University of Ottawa 

Fancy Bermudez (Edmonton, AB) – NorWester Athletic Associations / Westshore RFC 

Florence Symonds (Hong Kong) – University of British Columbia 

Justine Pelletier (Rivière-du-Loup, QC) – Club de rugby de Québec / Stade Bordelais 

Krissy Scurfield (Canmore, AB) – University of Victoria 

Madison Grant (Cornwall, ON) – Cornwall Claymores 

Magali Harvey (Quebec City, QC) – Club de rugby de Québec / Queen’s University / Stade Bordelais 

Olivia Apps (Lindsay, ON) – Lindsay RFC 

Paige Farries (Red Deer, AB) – Westshore RFC / Worcester Warriors 

Sabrina Poulin (St-Georges, QC) – TMRRFC / Eibar Rugby Taldea 

Sarah-Maude Lachance (Victoriaville, QC) – Club de rugby de Québec / Lons Section Paloise 

Shoshanah Seumanutafa (White Rock, BC) – University of British Columbia 

Taylor Perry (Oakville, ON) – Oakville Crusaders 


Abby Duguid (Edmonton, AB) – University of Lethbridge 

Alysha Corrigan (Charlottetown, PEI) – CRFC 

Brittany Kassil (Guelph, ON) – Guelph Redcoats 

Chloe Daniels (Sutton, ON) – Aurora Barbarians / Queen’s University 

Corinne Fréchette (Saint-Zéphirin-de-Courval, QC) – Club de rugby de Québec / Université Laval 

Emma Taylor (Scotsburn, NS) – Halifax RFC / Saracens 

Holly Phillips (Canmore, AB) – Calgary Irish / Bristol Bears 

Julia Schell (Uxbridge, ON) – Guelph Redcoats / Castaway Wanderers / Ealing Trailfinders 

Mahalia Robinson (Fulford, QC) – TMRRFC / Concordia Université 

Mya Brubacher (West Montrose, ON) – Kingston Panthers / Queen’s University 


Brianna Miller 

Cassandra Tuffnail 

Karen Paquin 

Maya Montiel 

Pamphinette Buisa 

Sara Kaljuvee 

About Rugby Canada

Rugby Canada is the national governing body of the sport of Rugby Union in Canada. They administer and operate Men’s and Women’s Senior and Junior National programs in both rugby 15s and 7s, as well as govern the Club and community game for more than 30,000 registered participants from coast to coast in conjunction with ten Provincial Union members. 

Rugby Canada is headquartered at the Al Charron National Training Centre in Langford, BC, with staff also working from Vancouver, Toronto and Ottawa. Rugby Canada business operations, programs and events are delivered nationwide, including the internationally recognized HSBC Canada Sevens annual tournament.