The Sport Information Resource Centre
Use double quotes to find documents that include the exact phrase: "aerodynamic AND testing"
The Sport Information Resource Centre

Ottawa, ON (Jan. 19, 2023) – Cycling Canada is sending a team of 15 Junior, U23 and Elite athletes to compete at the 2023 UCI Cyclo-cross World Championships in Hoogerheide, NED, on Feb. 3-5.
12 Junior and U23 athletes spent their holidays in Europe competing for the National Team at numerous international races, including two World Cups in Belgium. They’ll be hoping that the experience gained during this intensive period of competition will translate to success in the Netherlands.
Canada is currently leading the Women’s Junior Cyclo-cross Nation Ranking, and Junior Pan American Champion and Elite National Champion Ava Holmgren and her sister Isabella Holmgren, fresh off a podium at the Zonhoven Junior World Cup, will be top contenders for the world championship title.
The remainder of the Junior squad includes Madeleine Pollock and Geza Rodgers, as well Mika Comaniuk, Filipe Duarte, Cam McCallum and Ian Ackert. Ackert will be aiming to best his eighth-place finish from the 2022 World Championships. Representing Canada in the U23 category are Christiane Bilodeau, Cody Scott and Evan Russell.
“We know that we have athletes capable of top results in Hoogerheide,” commented National Team Coach Rob Holmgren. “We’ve spent a lot of time across the pond this fall, battling it out in Europe. Every time they toe to the line, they learn and they gain experience. That experience is going to set them up for success in Hoogerheide, but also during their road season, their mountain bike season, their track season. We’ve put in the hard work necessary to mix it up on the front and I know every Canadian is going to leave it all out there come race day.”
On the Elite side, Maghalie Rochette will be looking to top her best result of the season, a strong fifth place at the Val di Sole World Cup. She will be joined by Sidney McGill, who also achieved her best result in Val di Sole, finishing in eighth position. Tyler Orschel and Canadian cyclo-cross stalwart Michael van den Ham will be rounding up the team in the men’s elite category.
Racing will start on Feb. 3 with the Team Relay and continue with individual races over the weekend. Live timing will be available here throughout the event.
Team Canada
Junior Women
Ava Holmgren – Orillia, ON
Isabella Holmgren – Orillia, ON
Madeleine Pollock – North Vancouver, BC
Geza Rodgers – Port Moody, BC
Junior Men
Ian Ackert – Severn, ON
Mika Comaniuk– Lachine, QC
Filipe Duarte – Gatineau, QC
Cam McCallum– Langley, BC
U23 Women
Christiane Bilodeau – St. Albert, AB
U23 Men
Cody Scott– Courtenay, BC
Evan Russell– Mill Bay, BC
Elite Women
Sidney McGill – Edmonton, AB
Maghalie Rochette – Ste-Adèle, QC
Elite Men
Tyler Orschel – Uxbridge, ON
Michael van den Ham – Abbotsford, BC
About Cycling Canada
Cycling Canada is the governing body for competitive cycling in Canada. With the vision of becoming a leading competitive cycling nation, Cycling Canada manages the High Performance team, hosts national and international events and administers programs to promote and grow cycling across the country.

– 30 –

Source: Cycling Canada 
Information: Caroline Soble | Cycling Canada |