Le centre de documentation pour le sport
Utilisez des guillemets pour trouver les documents qui contiennent l'expression exacte : "aérodynamique ET essais"
Le centre de documentation pour le sport

Golf Canada​ – OAKVILLE, ON — On Tuesday, July 25 at 10 a.m. ET at Glen Abbey Golf Club, the Canadian Golf Hall of Fame will celebrate renowned amateur champion Judy Darling Evans along with legendary club maker Bob Vokey as its 78th and 79th honoured members during a FREE public outdoor ceremony at Glen Abbey Golf Club. 

The Canadian Golf Hall of Fame induction ceremony will take place as part of the official opening ceremony for the 2017 RBC Canadian Open. 

Darling Evans and Vokey will be joined by a number of Canadian golf legends as 15 fellow honoured members of the Canadian Golf Hall of Fame will be on hand to join in the celebration. 

Media are invited for interview and photo opportunities. As well, spectators are invited to join the celebration (FREE for all attendees) that will officially kick off the 2017 RBC Canadian Open.

Canadian Golf Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony & 
Official Opening Ceremony for the 2017 RBC Canadian Open

Tuesday, July 25, 2017
10 a.m. ET

Glen Abbey Golf Club
1333 Dorval Drive
Oakville, Ontario L6M 4X7
RBC Canadian Open Spectator Village

Jocelyne Bourassa (1996)

– Winner of 15 amateur golf titles including the Canadian, Quebec and New Zealand Women’s Amateur

– Won the 1973 La Canadienne (now CP Women’s Open) – the last time a Canadian won an LPGA Tour event in Canada

Gayle Borthwick (1997)

– Won numerous provincial, national and international amateur golf titles including the Canadian Women’s Amateur, Mid-Amateur and Senior Championships along with the US Women’s Senior Championship

Graham Cooke (2010)

– Renowned golf course architect has won seven Canadian Mid-Amateur Championships and four Canadian Men’s Senior Championships

Gary Cowan (1972)

– Winner of both the Canadian Men’s Amateur as well as two US Amateur titles

– Was named Canadian golf men’s amateur of the century

Judy Darling Evans (2017)

– Won numerous provincial and national amateur titles including three Quebec Junior titles, six Quebec Amateur titles and a Quebec Senior title in addition to a Canadian Junior Championship and two Canadian Women’s Amateur Championship

– She and her mother Dora are the only mother-daughter duo to have won both the Quebec and Canadian Women’s Amateur Championship

Mary Ann Hayward (2007)

– Four Canadian Women’s Amateur titles, six Quebec Women’s Amateur titles, five Ontario Women’s Amateur titles and 12 Ontario Mid-Amateur titles in addition to the 2005 US Women’s Mid-Amateur

– Lorie Kane (2016)

– Four-time winner on the LGPA Tour, two Legends Tour titles as well as the PGA of Canada Women’s Championship

– Member of the Order of Canada

Jack Nicklaus (1995)

– 73 PGA Tour victories including six Masters, five PGA Championships, four U.S. Opens and three British Opens

– Designed more than 290 courses including his first solo design, Glen Abbey Golf Club

– Sandra Post (1998)

– Eight-time LPGA Tour winner including the 1968 LPGA Championship

– Chair of the Canadian Golf Hall of Fame Selection Committee and Member of the Order of Canada

Stephen Ross (2011)

– Served 30 years as a golf administrator (and international renowned expert in the Rules of Golf) including 18 years as Executive Director of the Royal Canadian Golf Association (now Golf Canada) from 1989-2007

Lorne Rubenstein (2007)

– Renowned writer and golf journalist has written numerous books chronicling the game of golf and many of its most interesting competitors

Cathy Sherk (1995)

– Won numerous amateur and professional titles including two Canadian Women’s Amateurs, one U.S. Women’s Amateur and three PGA of Canada Women’s Championships

Marlene Streit

– Won numerous international amateur championships including the Canadian, U.S., British and Australian Women’s Amateur Championship as well Canadian and U.S. Senior Women’s Championships

– Member of the Order of Canada

Warren Sye (2016)

– Won numerous provincial and national amateur competitions including five Ontario Men’s Amateur Championships and a pair of Canadian Men’s Amateur Championships

Bob Vokey (2017)

– One of the world’s foremost wedge designers making Titleist Vokey wedges a trusted brand among golfers of every age and skill level

– Has designed wedges for many of golf’s notable players including Seve Ballesteros, Lee Trevino, Bernhard Langer, Phil Mickelson, Ernie Els, Davis Love III, Sergio Garcia, Adam Scott, Tiger Woods, Jordan Spieth and Rory McIlroy, as well as Canadians Mike Weir, Ian Leggatt, Graham DeLaet and Brad Fritsch

Bob Weeks (2017)

– Renowned golf journalist is currently the golf reporter for Bell Media/TSN

– One of Canada’s most accomplished golf writers and broadcasters during his tenue with ScoreGolf across print, web, radio, TV and broadcast channels

Mike Weir (2009)

– Eight-time PGA TOUR winner including the 2003 Masters Tournament

– Member of the Order of Canada and recently elected to Canada’s Sports Hall of Fame


Media interested in attending the Canadian Golf Hall of Fame Induction Opening Ceremony for the RBC Canadian Open on Tuesday, July 25 at 10 a.m. must register for media credentials to get onsite. 

Spectators interested in attending the FREE onsite celebration and induction ceremony on Tuesday of RBC Canadian Open week can find directions and parking information here.


For more information, contact:

Dan Pino
Director, Corporate Communications
Golf Canada
P: 1-800-263-0009 ext. 406
C: 416-434-5525
E: dpino@golfcanada.ca