Le centre de documentation pour le sport
Utilisez des guillemets pour trouver les documents qui contiennent l'expression exacte : "aérodynamique ET essais"
Le centre de documentation pour le sport

Sport Manitoba – March 22, 2017 (Winnipeg, MB) – Sport Manitoba and Manitoba Sportswriters and Sportscasters Association (MSSA) are partnering to celebrate the best athletes in Manitoba.

Every year both Sport Manitoba and the MSSA select the top athletes in the province in individual and team categories and celebrates their accomplishments in sport.This year MSSA is partnering with Sport Manitoba and integrating their award presentations into the annual Night of Champions, presented by Manitoba Chicken. Sport Manitoba and MSSA want to recognize accomplishments in sport across the spectrum and feel that doing so in one event creates stronger bonds throughout the sport community.

On April 22, 2017 we will celebrate these successes at the annual Night of Champions presented by Manitoba Chicken.

Sport Manitoba Awards

The Manitoba Chicken Female Junior Athlete of the Year Nominees
Hannah Blatt – squash
Talia Gallant – ringette
Emma Gray – rowing                   
Marissa Naylor – tenpin bowling
Skylar Park – tae kwon do
Kyla Roy – triathlon
Victoria Tachinski – athletics      
Laura Tymchyshyn – baton twirling
Sarah Watson – swimming

The Manitoba Chicken Male Junior Athlete of the Year Nominees
Emmanuel Akot – basketball
Cody Bartel – baseball
Damien Ekosky – judo
Tyson Langelaar – speed skating
Hunter Lee – wrestling
Cameron MacKay – fencing
Levi Nadlersmith – cross country ski
Yonatan Orlov – baton twirling
Nolan Patrick – hockey
Liam Rohatynsky – swimming

The Junior Team of the Year Nominees
Team Dunstone  – curling
Team Tymchyshyn/Orlov – baton twirling
Brandon Wheat Kings – hockey
Portage Terriers – hockey
St. Paul’s Crusaders – football

The Great-West Life Outstanding Volunteer Nominees
Kristal Benton – baseball
Gail Johnston – speed skating
Alan McCracken – fencing
George McLeod – golf
Lawrence Oystryk – artistic gymnastics
Kevin Sanders – diving
Keith Stoesz  – curling
Jane Tan – baton twirling
Eleanor Young – tenpin bowling

OPIN Official of the Year Nominees
Ashley Desjardins – hockey
Chris Donaldson – football
Jane Edstrom – athletics
Kelly Mahoney – triathlon
Richard Mason – weightlifting
Riley Nordman – baseball
Wendy Smith – artistic gymnastics

The IMPACT Female Coach of the Year Nominees 
Barbara Lynn Fay – swimming
Lorie Henderson – artistic gymnastics
Sabrina Klassen – special olympics snowshoe, track & field, basketball

The IMPACT Male Coach of the Year Nominees 
Henry Kasdorf – volleyball
Kris Stasiak – wrestling
Mingpu Wu – athletics

*Click here to see all the nominees of the Coaching Manitoba IMPACT Awards

Manitoba Sportswriters and Sportscasters Association Award Finalists

The MSSA reviews a long a list of athlete accomplishments and shortens the list to five finalists in each category. 

Male Athlete of the Year – Open Category Finalists
Geoff Gray – football
DJ Lalama – football
Tyler Mislawchuk – triathlon
David Oneymata – football
Jonathan Toews – hockey

Female Athlete of the Year – Open Category Finalists
Chantal Givens – Triathlon
Meghan Montgomery – rowing
Isabela Onyshko – artistic gymnastics
Desiree Scott – soccer
Chantal Vanlandeghem – swimming

Team of the Year – Open Category Finalists
Team Reid Carruthers – curling
Team Jennifer Jones – curling
Team Mike McEwen – curling
Manitoba Blizzard – lacrosse
Winnipeg Goldeyes – baseball

Among the MSSA awards to be presented at the dinner is the Cactus Jack Wells Memorial trophy, to recognize the event or individual creating a major impact on the Manitoba sports scene in 2016.

Event Details

Saturday, April 22, 2017
7:00 p.m.
Club Regent Event Centre
Purchase tickets online at www.sportmanitoba.ca



Sport Manitoba is a not for profit organization and the lead planning, programming and funding agency for the development of amateur sport in Manitoba. Located in the Canada Games Sport for Life Centre, Sport Manitoba partners with over 100 organizations to deliver sport in our province and is responsible for programs including the Power Smart Manitoba Games, Coaching Manitoba, Team Manitoba, Manitoba Sports Hall of Fame, Fit Kids Healthy Kids and KidSport. Services provided include the Sport Medicine Centre, Sport Performance Centre, and Sport Resource Centre.

The MSSA is a non-profit, fraternal organization of sports media members who select Athletes of the Year, hands out the Jack Matheson Award and Ron Meyers Memorial scholarships, recognizes the careers of sportswriters and sportscasters through the Media Roll of Honour and acts as an advocate for sports journalism issues.


Trying to determine if any of these nominees live in your target market? This document lists Sport Manitoba Award nominee postal codes.

For more information please contact:
Tara Skibo
Communications/Public Relations Officer
Sport Manitoba
Office: 204-925-5735
Cell: 204-781-1438

Bob Picken
Manitoba Sportswriters and Sportscasters Association
(204) 489-8642