Le centre de documentation pour le sport
Utilisez des guillemets pour trouver les documents qui contiennent l'expression exacte : "aérodynamique ET essais"
Le centre de documentation pour le sport

Canada Soccer – Sinclair wondergoal, players, and referees nominated for CONCACAF Awards

15 December 2016

Christine Sinclair’s incredible juggle-then-volley wondergoal that qualified Canada for the Rio 2016 Olympic Games has been nominated for the CONCACAF Goal of the Year.

Sinclair, a 13-time Canadian Player of the Year, has also been nominated alongside Janine Beckie for the CONCACAF Female Player of the Year. In all, 21 Canadians have been nominated across eight different categories.

VOTE NOW : Fans can vote online at concacaf.com/awards

Sinclair scored seven goals for Canada in 2016, surpassing Mia Hamm for second all-time amongst international players. None were more important than her winning goal in the bronze medal match at Rio 2016 in August, but none were nicer than the February “golaso” at the CONCACAF Women’s Olympic Qualifiers in February.

“I will always remember that goal against Costa Rica to ensure our Olympic qualification and her composed finish against Brazil that sealed the bronze medal for Canada,” said John Herdman, Canada Soccer’s Women’s National Team Head Coach.

Voting for the 2016 CONCACAF Awards runs from 15 December to 8 January, 2017 via CONCACAF.com/awards. Voting is split between national team coaches and captains (one third), accredited media members that cover football in the CONCACAF region (one third), and fans (one third).

Canadians nominated for CONCACAF Awards

CONCACAF Female Player of the Year
• Janine Beckie
• Christine Sinclair
CONCACAF Male Goalkeeper of the Year
• Milan Borjan
CONCACAF Female Goalkeeper of the Year
• Sabrina D’Angelo
• Stephanie Labbé
• Erin McLeod
CONCACAF Male Referee of the Year
• Joe Fletcher
CONCACAF Female Referee of the Year
• Marie-Soleil Beaudoin
• Carol Anne Chénard
• Atiba Hutchinson
• Adam Straith
• Kadeisha Buchanan
• Allysha Chapman
• Ashley Lawrence
• Shelina Zadorsky
• Jessie Fleming
• Diana Matheson
• Sophie Schmidt
• Desiree Scott
• Janine Beckie
• Deanne Rose
• Christine Sinclair
• Melissa Tancredi
CONCACAF Goal of the Year
• Christine Sinclair

About Canada Soccer

Canada Soccer, in partnership with its membership and its partners, provides leadership in the pursuit of excellence in soccer, both at the national and international levels. Canada Soccer not only strives to lead Canada to victory, but also encourages Canadians to a life-long passion for soccer. For more details on Canada Soccer, visit the official website at canadasoccer.com.


Heart and soul: the #CanadaRED soccer KIT

Recent news


 View all releases

Upcoming camps and tournaments

Canada Soccer’s national teams
Camps & Tournaments

Media Contacts

Richard Scott

Men’s National Teams Program
m. +1 613.818.0305

Carrie Croft

Women’s National Teams Program
m. +1 613.406.4986

Brad Fougere

Corporate Communications
m. +1 613.299.1587