Le centre de documentation pour le sport
Utilisez des guillemets pour trouver les documents qui contiennent l'expression exacte : "aérodynamique ET essais"
Le centre de documentation pour le sport

Tennis Canada – Doubles recipient is Gabriela Dabrowski; Bianca Andreescu receives most improved award 

Toronto, December 2, 2016 – Tennis Canada announced Friday that Eugenie Bouchard is the 2016 Tennis Canada Female Player of the Year, an honour she is receiving for the fourth consecutive season. Two other athletes are being presented with Excellence Awards as well, as Gabriela Dabrowski is now a four-time doubles player of the year, with rising star Bianca Andreescu the most improved player recipient.

“A huge congratulations to Eugenie, Gabriela, and Bianca on your successes this season,” said Kelly Murumets, president and CEO, Tennis Canada. “Eugenie continues to lead the way for Canadian tennis on the WTA circuit, and Gabriela is fast becoming one of the best doubles players on tour. They both made us immensely proud representing our amazing country so well at the Olympic Games this summer. And with Bianca’s great progress and impressive play this year, we can see her one day playing for Canada on such a big stage as well. Best of luck to all of our winners in 2017; we look forward to following along!”
Currently ranked world No. 46, Bouchard is also the female singles player of the year. She reached the fifth and sixth WTA finals of her career this season, finishing runner-up at Hobart and Kuala Lumpur. In Rome in May, she earned her most impressive win of 2016 by defeating future world No. 1 (then ranked No. 2) Angelique Kerber in three sets. On home soil, she made the third round of Rogers Cup presented by National Bank, thrilling her hometown crowd in Montreal with two big wins. First, the 2014 Wimbledon finalist ousted Lucie Safarova before dishing a dominant 6-2, 6-0 victory over then-world No. 10 Dominika Cibulkova. The 22-year-old also competed in her first Olympic Games in Rio, where she made the second round in both singles and doubles.

Dabrowski continued her rise as one of the world’s top doubles players, hitting a new career-high ranking of No. 37 in October. Halfway through the season, she clinched her third career WTA title, winning Mallorca with partner Maria Jose Martinez Sanchez. She was also a finalist at Nottingham, and semifinalist at five other WTA tournaments including the Premier-level Beijing. Additionally, she made her Olympic debut in Rio, making the second round in doubles with Bouchard.

At the age of only 16, most improved player of the year Andreescu has already climbed from a 2015 year-end No. 633 on the pro rankings to No. 297. She captured her first career professional titles at the $25,000 Gatineau National Bank Challenger in August, sweeping both the singles and doubles crowns, alongside fellow junior Canadian Charlotte Robillard-Millette. She also reached the $50,000 Saguenay National Bank Challenger final in October. On the junior circuit, she hit world No. 3 earlier in the year and posted her best result in September, making the Junior US Open semifinals. 

The Tennis Canada Excellence Awards are selected by a committee comprised of high-ranked Tennis Canada personnel and the country’s top national coaches. Milos Raonic was previously announced as the male player of the year. The 2016 junior recipients will be announced on Monday.  


Year Male Player of the Year Female Player of the Year
1982 Rejean Genois Marjorie Blackwood
1983 Glenn Michibata Carling Bassett
1984 Martin Wostenholme Carling Bassett
1985 Glenn Michibata Carling Bassett
1986 Andrew Sznajder Helen Kelesi
1987 Grant Connell Helen Kelesi
1988 Andrew Sznajder Jill Hetherington
1989 Andrew Sznajder Helen Kelesi
1990 Grant Connell Helen Kelesi
1991 Grant Connell Patricia Hy
1992 Grant Connell Patricia Hy
1993 Greg Rusedski Patricia Hy
1994 Sebastien Lareau Jana Nejedly
1995 Grant Connell Patricia Hy-Boulais
1996 Sebastien Lareau Patricia Hy-Boulais
1997 Daniel Nestor Patricia Hy-Boulais
1998 No record of award No record of award
1999 No record of award No record of award
2000 Daniel Nestor & Sebastien Lareau Sonya Jeyaseelan
2001 Daniel Nestor Jana Nejedly
2002 Frederic Niemeyer Maureen Drake
2003 Daniel Nestor Maureen Drake
2004 Daniel Nestor Aleksandra Wozniak
2005 Daniel Nestor Stephanie Dubois
2006 Frank Dancevic Aleksandra Wozniak
2007 Daniel Nestor Stephanie Dubois
2008 Daniel Nestor Aleksandra Wozniak
2009 Daniel Nestor Aleksandra Wozniak
2010 Daniel Nestor Rebecca Marino
2011 Milos Raonic Rebecca Marino
2012 Milos Raonic Aleksandra Wozniak
2013 Milos Raonic Eugenie Bouchard
2014 Milos Raonic Eugenie Bouchard 
2015 Milos Raonic Eugenie Bouchard
2016 Milos Raonic Eugenie Bouchard

About Tennis Canada
Founded in 1890, Tennis Canada is a non-profit, national sport association with a mission to lead the growth of tennis in Canada and a vision to become a world-leading tennis nation. We value teamwork, passion, integrity, innovation and excellence. Tennis Canada owns and operates the premier Rogers Cup presented by National Bank WTA and ATP World Tour events, 10 professional ITF-sanctioned events and financially supports 12 other professional tournaments in Canada. Tennis Canada operates national junior training centres/programs in Toronto, Montreal, Vancouver, and Calgary. Tennis Canada is a proud member of the International Tennis Federation, the Canadian Olympic Committee, the Canadian Paralympic Committee and the International Wheelchair Tennis Association, and serves to administer, sponsor and select the teams for Davis Cup, Fed Cup, the Olympic and Paralympic Games and all wheelchair, junior and senior national teams. Tennis Canada invests its surplus into tennis development. For more information on Tennis Canada, please visit our website at www.tenniscanada.com and follow us on Facebook and Twitter.
Media Contact (Toronto):
Nicole Watts, Manager, Communications
       416-665-9777 ext. 4092, or nwatts@tenniscanada.com

Media Contact (Montréal):
Valerie Tetreault, Regional Manager, Communications and Media Relations
         514-273-1515 ext. 6259, vtetreault@tenniscanada.com