Le centre de documentation pour le sport
Utilisez des guillemets pour trouver les documents qui contiennent l'expression exacte : "aérodynamique ET essais"
Le centre de documentation pour le sport

Tennis Canada – Brayden Schnur to open the tie for Canada on Friday followed by Denis Shapovalov
– Tickets for all three days are still available for purchase at Ticketmaster for as low as $25
– Matches to be broadcast across Canada on Sportsnet and TVA Sports

Edmonton, September 14, 2017 – The official draw for the Davis Cup by BNP Paribas World Group play-off tie between Canada and India was held on Thursday at Edmonton City Hall, and determined the match-ups for the upcoming weekend’s action. Canada and India will square off on an indoor hard court at Northlands Coliseum in Edmonton from September 15-17, with the winner competing in the World Group for 2018, and the losing nation to be relegated to its respective zonal group.
The Canadian Davis Cup team consisting of Daniel Nestor (Toronto), Vasek Pospisil (Vancouver), Denis Shapovalov (Richmond Hill, Ont.), and Brayden Schnur (Pickering, Ont.) will take on India in two singles matches on Friday, a doubles match on Saturday, and two reverse singles matches on Sunday. At the helm for Team Canada is longtime Canadian Davis Cup team captain Martin Laurendeau.  
Shapovalov and Schnur were selected by Laurendeau to play singles, while Indian team captain Mahesh Bhupathi nominated Ramkumar Ramanathan and Yuki Bhambri. The doubles teams will be Nestor and Pospisil for Canada, and Rohan Bopanna and Purav Raja for India. Bhupathi made one nomination change to his originally-named team, replacing Saketh Myneni with Raja.

Today’s draw produced the following weekend match-ups:


Representing Canada

Representing India

1st Singles Rubber – Friday, September 15 – 3 p.m. MT

Brayden Schnur (world No. 202)

Ramkumar Ramanathan (world No. 154)

2nd Singles Rubber – Friday, September 15

Denis Shapovalov (world No. 51)

Yuki Bhambri (world No. 157)

Doubles Rubber – Saturday, September 16 – 1 p.m. MT

Daniel Nestor (world No. 43) / Vasek Pospisil (world No. 111)

 Rohan Bopanna (world No. 19) / Purav Raja (world No. 56)

3rd Singles Rubber – Sunday, September 17 – 1 p.m. MT

Denis Shapovalov (world No. 51)

Ramkumar Ramanathan (world No. 154)

4th Singles Rubber – Sunday, September 17

Brayden Schnur (world No. 202)

Yuki Bhambri (world No. 157)

“After today’s draw ceremony and a solid week of preparation, we are excited to kick off the weekend of tennis,” said Laurendeau. “India will provide us with a tough challenge but we feel ready and with Daniel and Vasek leading the team and providing their veteran experience to Denis and Brayden, paired with the support of the Edmonton crowd, it should be a fantastic weekend.”
A victory would see Canada remain in the prestigious World Group for a seventh straight year in 2018, while a loss would send Canada down to Americas Zone Group I. The team has been a member of the upper echelon of Davis Cup play for the past six years, a Canadian record, making the semifinals in 2013 and quarter-finals in 2015.

Click here to access the Davis Cup preview notes from the ITF.

The opening ceremonies will take place at 2:45 p.m. MT on Friday, September 15 to be followed by two singles matches. The doubles match will take place Saturday, September 16 at 1 p.m. MT and the remaining two singles matches will be on Sunday, September 17 at 1 p.m. MT. All matches will be best-of-five sets, with the exception of Sunday’s matches if the tie has already been decided.

Tickets are still available for purchase for all three days of the tie and start as low as $25. They are available online at Ticketmaster, or in person at the box office at Northlands Coliseum.
The matches will be broadcast on Sportsnet and TVA Sports. Please check local listings for the full schedule.

About Davis Cup

Davis Cup by BNP Paribas is the World Cup of Tennis. It is the largest annual international team competition in sport, with 134 teams entered in 2017. The competition is 117 years old having been founded in 1900. The title sponsor is BNP Paribas, the Official Bank of Davis Cup. International sponsors are Rolex (Official Timekeeper) and Adecco (Official HR Sponsor), while Head (Official Ball) is an international partner. beIN SPORTS is the Official Global Media Rights Partner. Follow all the action on www.daviscup.com
www.facebook.com/DavisCupTennis, and www.Weibo.com/daviscupofficial.

About Tennis Canada

Founded in 1890, Tennis Canada is a non-profit, national sport association with a mission to lead the growth of tennis in Canada and a vision to become a world-leading tennis nation. We value teamwork, passion, integrity, innovation and excellence. Tennis Canada owns and operates the premier Rogers Cup presented by National Bank WTA and ATP World Tour events, 10 professional ITF-sanctioned events and financially supports 12 other professional tournaments in Canada. Tennis Canada operates national junior training centres/programs in Toronto, Montreal, Vancouver, and Calgary. Tennis Canada is a proud member of the International Tennis Federation, the Canadian Olympic Committee, the Canadian Paralympic Committee and the International Wheelchair Tennis Association, and serves to administer, sponsor and select the teams for Davis Cup, Fed Cup, the Olympic and Paralympic Games and all wheelchair, junior and senior national teams. Tennis Canada invests its surplus into tennis development. For more information on Tennis Canada, please visit our website at www.tenniscanada.com and follow us on Facebook and Twitter.

Media Contacts

Nicole Watts
Manager, Communications and Media Relations, Tennis Canada
nwatts@tenniscanada.com or 416-665-9777 ext. 4092

Caroline Anderson
Coordinator, Communications and Media Relations, Tennis Canada
canderson@tenniscanada.com or 416-665-9777 ext. 4545