Use double quotes to find documents that include the exact phrase: "aerodynamic AND testing"

Canadian Lacrosse Association – OTTAWA, ON (November 10, 2016) – The 2016 Canadian university lacrosse season came to an end this past weekend, with men’s teams from Western University and Dalhousie University winning their respective league championships. Those end-of-season tournaments followed the year’s first championship weekend in late October, where the women’s squad from Trent University captured a league title of their own.

Canadian University Field Lacrosse League (CUFLA)

November 4-6, 2016

The prestigious Baggataway Cup, which has been awarded to the winner of the as Canadian University Field Lacrosse League (CUFLA) since 1985, was up for grabs this past weekend as the top six teams from the country’s largest post-secondary lacrosse league competed in a weekend tournament at Brock University in St. Catharines, Ontario.

The Western Mustangs, who fell short in last year’s championship final against the powerhouse McGill Redmen, were on the winning side this time around, besting the Trent Excalibur by a score of 11-7 to capture the 2016 CUFLA championship. It was the fourth time that Western has won the Baggataway Cup (1985, 1988, 2001).

Ryan Myles had five goals and one assist in the final, and finished the weekend with 8 goals and 2 assist, making him an obvious choice for tournament MVP. Teammate Cody Ward, who drew much of Trent’s defensive focus, still managed to contribute offensively, adding a hat trick for the Mustangs.

Western’s defense did its part as well, holding Trent’s Jeff Fernandes, Garrett Eddy and Cam Garlin, an offensively gifted trio who scored a combined 77 goals during the regular season, to only three markers in the final game.

It was a disappoint loss for the Excalibur, ending to a brilliant season that saw them open with 11 straight victories and reach the Baggataway Cup championship game for the first time ever. 

For more information on CUFLA and the Baggataway Cup, please visit  

Maritime University Field Lacrosse League (MUFLL)

November 4-6, 2016

Meanwhile on the east coast, Dalhousie University in Halifax, Nova Scotia played host to the Maritime University Field Lacrosse League (MUFLL) championship, which featured each of league’s six teams.

The host Dalhousie Tigers continued their dominance of the league, defeating the Saint Francis Xavier X-Men in the finals by a score of 24-11 to capture their ninth MUFLL championship since the league was established in 2005. The win capped off yet another undefeated year for the Tigers, who have not lost a game since the 2011 season. 

It also marked the sixth-straight year that Dalhousie got the better for St FX in the championship game.

For more information on MUFLL, please visit

Ontario University Athletics (OUA)

October 21-23, 2016

The best collegiate women’s lacrosse players in Ontario gathered at McMaster University in Hamilton for the OUA Lacrosse Championship, a 10-team tournament that marked the end of the season for Canada’s only post-secondary women’s lacrosse league.

The Trent Excalibur, who are based out of the lacrosse hotbed of Peterborough, capped off their impressive undefeated season, which saw them go 13-0 in the regular season and 3-0 in the playoffs, by winning their first ever OUA women’s lacrosse championship. Their 11-10 win over Western Mustangs ended that school’s five-year reign atop the league.

Leah Ogilvie paced the Excalibur with a five goal effort, while teammate Leah Michel added a hat-trick. Western’s Amy Rawlings and Megan Wilkins split the top spot on the score sheet, each netting three goals in the loss.

Earlier in the day, overtime was needed to settle an equally exciting bronze medal game between the Laurier Golden Hawks and Brock Badgers. Selina Kazerian played the role of last-minute hero, finding the back of the net with 1:19 remaining in the extra period to give Laurier a 12-11 win.

The OUA recognized some of the season’s great individual accomplishments by handing our major awards and naming their all-star teams during the weekend festivities. Trent’s Leah Ogilvie and Leah Michel each brought home an award, winning Offensive MVP and Rookie of the Year, respectively. Maegan McCrory from Western won Defensive MVP, while Brock’s Allison Phillips was named Coach of the Year.

For more information on the OUA Lacrosse Championship, please

About the Canadian Lacrosse Association           

Founded in 1867, the Canadian Lacrosse Association (CLA) is the governing body responsible for all aspects of lacrosse in Canada. Our organization is comprised of 10 Member Associations representing nearly 80,000 individual participants, including coaches, officials, and athletes of all ages and abilities. The CLA’s mission is to honour the sport of lacrosse and its unique nation-building heritage, by engaging our members, leading our partners, and providing opportunities for all Canadians to participate. We strive to accomplish this while adhering to our core values of health, excellence, accountability, respect and teamwork. The CLA oversees the delivery of numerous national championships and the participation of Team Canada at all international events sanctioned by the Federation of International Lacrosse (FIL). The CLA is proud to be affiliated with partners that share the same vision and values, including our corporate partners – New Balance Athletics, Warrior Sports, Westjet, and Baron Rings – as well as our funding partners the Government of Canada, the Coaching Association of Canada, and the Canadian Lacrosse Foundation. For more information on Canadian Lacrosse Association and the sport of lacrosse, visit our website at and follow us on Facebook and Twitter.


– 30 –

For more information, please contact:

Alain Brouillette

Communications and Marketing Coordinator
Canadian Lacrosse Association
Phone: 613-260-2028 ext. 302