Use double quotes to find documents that include the exact phrase: "aerodynamic AND testing"

Softball Canada – (Surrey, BC) The World Baseball Softball Confederation today announced the official tournament schedule of the 2016 Women’s Softball World Championship that will take place in Surrey, Canada, from 15-24 July.
Team Canada will open the tournament against Great Britain at 8:15pm PDT following the Opening Ceremonies – scheduled at 6:30pm PDT – on July 15. The following evening, Canada will take on Ireland at 7:30pm PDT before wrapping up its preliminary round schedule against Uganda at 7:30pm PDT on July 17. Following the preliminary round-robin, teams will be placed in a second round-robin based on their finish in the previous round.

The 15th edition of the women’s flagship event will showcase a record total of 124 international games:

  • 45 Opening Round games
  • 45 Second Round games
  • 17 placement games
  • 17 playoff games

Nations have been divided into eight pools of four to compete in a preliminary round-robin for the opening round. Teams will then be allocated to one of eight sections of four in a fresh second round-robin based on their finish in the opening round. The top two teams from each opening round pool will advance to the championship round-robin in the second round, while the other teams will be placed in a placement pool round-robin.

Following the second round, the top two teams from each of the four championship round-robin sections will advance to the double Page playoff system to determine the top eight finishers, with the bottom two teams of each section competing in a single Page playoff system to determine positions 9-16. The same playoff structure will apply for the four placement round-robin sections to determine positions 17-31.

Pool A: Japan, Venezuela, France;
Pool B: USA, Brazil, Austria, Israel;
Pool C: Australia, Mexico, Switzerland, Serbia;
Pool D: Canada, Great Britain, Ireland, Uganda;
Pool E: Chinese Taipei, Puerto Rico, India, Ecuador;
Pool F: Netherlands, Czech Republic, Philippines, Pakistan;
Pool G: China, Cuba, Guatemala, Greece;
Pool H: New Zealand, Italy, Kenya, Peru.

The participating nations in the WBSC Women’s Softball Championship represent a global reach that spans across all regions – Africa, Asia, Europe, Central-, North- and South America, and Oceania.

All 31 participating National Teams will compete on Opening Day, with action opening on Friday, 15 July at 08:30 local time.

See Official Schedule

Opening ceremonies will begin at 18:30 at the main competition field, which will be followed by Canada meeting Great Britain in front of the home crowd.

The gold medal game will take center stage on 24 July at 18:30, and will be preceded by the bronze medal match at 13:00.

Stepping onto the women’s softball world stage for the first time are Brazil, Ecuador, India, Ireland, Israel, Kenya, Pakistan, Peru, Serbia, Switzerland and Uganda.

The Women’s National Team of Japan will head to Surrey as the two-time defending world champions, capturing gold medals in Haarlem (NED) in 2014 and Whitehorse (CAN) in 2012.

The United States – the Eagles – have won nine total women’s world championships and took home the silver medal in 2012 and 2014.

Oceania’s Australia – the Aussie Spirit – claimed the bronze medal in Whitehorse and Haarlem.

Host Canada is expected to perform well after their gold-medal win at the 2015 Pan American Games in Toronto.

The WBSC has a full list of official events on the calendar that span from July to October which include the Women’s Softball World Championship in Surrey, Canada, the U-19 Men’s Softball World Championship in Midland, USA, the U-15 Men’s Baseball World Cup in Iwaki, Japan, the Women’s Baseball World Cup in Gijang City, Korea, and the U-23 Baseball World Cup in Monterrey, Mexico.


For more information, please contact:

Gilles LeBlanc
Manager – Marketing and Communications
Softball Canada
(613) 523-3386 ext. 3105