October 27, 2014

Canadian Soccer League - TORONTO – Saturday, October 25, 2014 - Marin Vucemilovic Grgic, a 27 year old forward with London City, took the Most Valuable Player award for the 2014 season at the Canadian Soccer League’s Annual Awards Banquet held at Toronto Saturday night. The Croatian-born striker repeated the league’s MVP award received in 2012 while playing for Toronto Croatia.

Vucemilovic also captured the Top Goalscorer Award in the CSL’s First Division having found the net 21 times in the regular season just ended.

Awards were handed out to team recipients in six categories in each of the First and Second divisions of the CSL and additionally, Marco Jaramillo took the Referee of the Year award, Phil Ionadi was presented the Harry Paul Gauss Memorial Award and Kingston FC was judged the most discipline-free-club for the Fair Play and Respect Award.

Kingston picked up most of the hardware, including the MVP Second Division trophy which went to the club’s Mademba Ba, a 26 year old striker who was also presented the Top Goalscorer Award in the Second Division, a total of 31 goals while playing for Kingston reserves. Kingston second string coach Thomas Moran received most votes for Coach of the Year in division two and the eastern Ontario club picked up their trophy for winning the CSL Second Division.

The league wraps up its season with the CSL Championship Final between York Region Shooters and Toronto Croatia at Esther Shiner Stadium Sunday, a 4.15 pm kickoff, to be preceded at 1 pm by the Second Division Championship clash between Kingston FC B and SC Waterloo B.


Saturday’s individual awards:


CSL First Division

Most Valuable Player (MVP):   Marin Vucemilovic-Grgic  (London City)

Top Goalscorer:   Marin Vucemilovic Grgic  (London City)

Goalkeeper of the Year:   Vladimir Vujasinovic  (Burlington SC)

Defender of the Year: Josip Keran (Toronto Croatia) and Nikola Stanojevic  (Burlington SC) tie

Rookie of the Year:   Aleksander Stojiljkovic      (SC Waterloo)

Coach of the Year:   Darryl Gomez  (York Region Shoooters)


CSL Second Division

Most Valuable Player (MVP):  Mademba Ba (Kingston FC B)

Top Goalscorer:   Mademba Ba  (Kingston FC B)

Goalkeeper of the Year:  Adrian Ibanez (York Region Shooters B)

Defender of the Year:  Danilo Richards (Burlington SC B)

Rookie of the Year:   Nikola Miokovic  (SC Waterloo B)

Coach of the Year:  Thomas Moran  (Kingston FC B)


Referee of the Year:  Marco Jaramillo

Harry Paul Gauss Award:  Phil Ionadi

Fair Play and Respect Award:  Kingston FC



Canadian Soccer League

Ligue canadienne de soccer

5160 Explorer Drive, Unit 1, Mississauga, Ontario L4W 4T7

Tel: 905 564-2297 Fax: 905 671-6450

Toll Free 1 888 216-9913