Use double quotes to find documents that include the exact phrase: "aerodynamic AND testing"

Canada Soccer – The 2018 Canadian Championship Semi-Final Round kicked off in Ottawa and Montréal 18 July with a pair of 1:0 score lines. Canadian MLS teams Toronto FC, Montréal Impact FC and Vancouver Whitecaps joined the competition which is the Canadian pathway to the Concacaf Champions League. The teams joined Ottawa Fury FC who were the Qualifying Round winners.  
Canadian International Jonathan Osorio secured an away goal and the 1:0 victory for 2017 Canadian Championship winners Toronto FC over Ottawa Fury FC at TD Place in Ottawa. 
Canadian Ryan Telfer provided the set up for Toronto FC’s 5’ goal fighting to keep the ball in bounds and pulling it back for Osorio. Clint Irwin earned the clean sheet for Toronto FC.
“It was crucial that we went up early. Ryan did a good job to get out of the corner and find me,” said Osorio who had a tremendous 2018 Concacaf Champions League run with 2017 Canadian Championship winners Toronto FC. “The job is not done, we have to finish things off next week.”
Canadian Content rules stipulate three starters from each team must be Canadians. In Ottawa, 13 Canadians earned their place in the starting 11 between Ottawa Fury and Toronto FC. 
“It’s always nice to give our young Canadians an opportunity, especially in this competition,” said Toronto FC Head Coach Greg Vanney who started six Canadians. 
Meanwhile, at Stade Saputo in Montréal, Montréal Impact FC secured a 1:0 victory over Vancouver Whitecaps FC in the other first leg through an Alejandro Silva goal. 
“We’re disappointed we gave the goal away, disappointed we didn’t get the away goal,” said Whitecaps Head Coach Carl Robinson. “We want to take this tournament seriously and we want to win it.”

Vancouver’s Cristian Techera hit the post in the first half while Montréal’s Anthony Jackson-Hamel hit the post in the first half and crossbar in the second half.
In both matches, all four captains were Canadian, with Jamar Dixon and Jonathan Osorio wearing the armbands in Ottawa and Samuel Piette and Russell Teibert wearing the armbands in Montréal.


The second leg of each matchup goes 25 July LIVE on with Toronto FC hosting Ottawa Fury FC at BMO Field kicking off at 19:30 ET. BC Place plays host to the Vancouver Whitecaps FC v Impact Montréal FC with kickoff set for 22:00 ET.
2018 Canadian Championship Schedule (home team listed first)
1QR – First Qualifying Round
2018-06-06 – AS Blainville 2:1 Oakville Blue Devils
2018-06-13 – Oakville Blue Devils 0:1 AS Blainville
2QR – Second Qualifying Round
2018-06-20 – AS Blainville 0:1 Ottawa Fury FC
2018-06-27 – Ottawa Fury FC 1:0 AS Blainville – 19.30 ET / 16.30 PT
SF – Semi-Final Round
2018-07-18 – Ottawa Fury FC 0:1 Toronto FC
2018-07-18 – Impact de Montréal 1:0 Vancouver Whitecaps FC
2018-07-25 – Toronto FC v Ottawa Fury FC – 19.30 ET / 16.30 PT
2018-07-25 – Vancouver Whitecaps FC v Impact de Montréal – 22.00 ET / 19.00 PT
Final Round
2018-08-08 – SF (Winner/Gagnant) v SF (Winner/Gagnant)
2018-08-15 – SF (Winner/Gagnant) v SF (Winner/Gagnant)
About the Canadian Championship

• The Canadian Championship is Canada Soccer’s highest domestic professional soccer competition and it is the sole qualification route for Canadian professional clubs into Concacaf Champions League and onto the FIFA Club World Cup
• The current champions are Toronto FC who have won the tournament six times
• Canadian content is a focus of the content and since 2017 competition regulations state that each team must field a minimum of three Canadian starters for each match
• The Voyageurs Cup has been awarded to the Canadian Championship winner since 2008; created by the Voyageurs Canadian Supporters group, the trophy represents Canadian fans’ commitment to the game in our country
• The George Gross Memorial Trophy recognizes the Canadian Championship’s most valuable player, with Sebastian Giovinco the reigning winner in 2017; the award is named after the late George Gross, an honoured member of the Canada Soccer Hall of Fame
• In 2018, the competition will feature six clubs from four different leagues: Vancouver Whitecaps FC, Toronto FC and Impact de Montréal from Major League Soccer (all earn automatic berths to the Semi-finals); Ottawa Fury FC from the United Soccer Leagues (who enter in the Second Qualifying Round); Oakville Blue Devils from League1 Ontario (who enter in the First Qualifying Round); and AS Blainville from the Première ligue de soccer du Québec (who also enter in the First Qualifying Round)
• Since 2008, three Canadian winners have reached the Quarter-final stage or further in Concacaf Champions League: Toronto FC twice (Semi-finals in 2011-12 and Grand Final in 2018); Impact de Montréal twice (Quarter-finals in 2008-09 and Grand Final in 2014-15); and Vancouver Whitecaps FC (Semi-finals in 2016-17)


Brad Fougere
Corporate Communications | Gestionnaire, Communications corporatives
m. +1 613.299.1587

Richard Scott
Men’s National Teams Program | Programme de l’équipe nationale masculine
m. +1 613.818.0305

Carrie Croft
Women’s National Teams Program | Programme de l’équipe nationale féminine
m. +1 613.406.4986