Use double quotes to find documents that include the exact phrase: "aerodynamic AND testing"

Racquetball Canada – Burlington, May 27, 2016 – There were no major upsets on Thursday at the Racquetball Canada Canadian Championships being held in Burlington, ON, however, the upsets in the Men’s Open Division round of 16 led to some interesting matches in the quarterfinals.  

In Wednesday’s round of sixteen, former national team members Corey Osborne of Penetanguishene, ON and Eric Desrochers of Beamsville, ON upset the 3rd and 4th seeds so there was a lot of interest in the quarterfinal matchups. 

Osborne who faced fifth seed, James Landeryou of Saskatoon in the quarterfinal, took the match to a tiebreaker.  The score was tied at 8 in the breaker, but Landeryou was able to finish for a win with scores of 15-13, 9-15, 11-8.

Desrochers was up against Nicolas Bousquet from Montréal in the quarterfinal. Desrochers won the first match 15-12, but lost the second 15-4.  A shoulder injury was clearly affecting Desrochers and Bousquet won the breaker easily, 11-0. This will be Desrochers last competitive tournament. 

The closest match of the day was in the Women’s Open Singles where Danielle Drury of Saskatoon had the opportunity to defeat her long time opponent Michèle Morissette of Baie-Comeau. Drury won the first game, 15-7 but Morissette answered back in the second game, winning 15-3.  The tiebreaker was close throughout the game but Morissette pulled out the win with a score of 11-9.

Mike Green of Hamilton, the top Men’s Open seed in the tournament, won his match over Nathaniel Husulak of Saskatoon, 15-3, 15-0.  Second seed, Tim Landeryou of Calgary also won his match over Tommy Murray of Brossard, 15-8, 15-8.

The Men’s Open semifinals are scheduled for Friday at 5:00 pm and 6:00 pm.  The final will be Saturday at 2:00 pm. 

The Women’s Open final takes place Saturday at 1:00 pm.

Draws & Results:

Media Guide:

Racquetball Canada Canadian Championship Results – May 26

Men’s Open Singles – Quarterfinals

Mike Green (Hamilton, ON) defeated Nathaniel Husulak (Saskatoon, SK), 15-3, 15-0;

Tim Landeryou (Calgary, AB) defeated Tommy Murray (Brossard, QC), 15-8, 15-8;

James Landeryou (Saskatoon, SK) defeated Corey Osborne (Penetanguishene, ON), 15-13, 9-15, 11-8;

Nicolas Bousquet (Montreal, QC) defeated Eris Desrochers (Beamsville, ON), 12-15, 15-4, 11-0.

Women’s Open Round Robin

Michèle Morissette (Baie-Comeau, QC) defeated Danielle Drury (Saskatoon, SK), 7-15, 15-3, 11-9;

Alexis Iwaasa (Lethbridge, AB) defeated Murielle Boivin (Québec, QC), 15-4, 15-7

Racquetball Canada is the national sport governing body for the sport of Racquetball in Canada. Along with the support of the Government of Canada and many valued partners, Racquetball Canada develops competitive national teams and oversees programs that grow the sport of racquetball in Canada. For more information visit our website at  

Media Contact:

Jan Hanson

Director of Communications and Marketing

Racquetball Canada Board of Directors I 306.502.4422