Use double quotes to find documents that include the exact phrase: "aerodynamic AND testing"

Tennis Canada – Montreal, September 26, 2018 – It was on Wednesday that the International Tennis Federation (ITF) held the official draw for the Davis Cup by BNP Paribas Qualifying Round. The Canadian Davis Cup team’s opponent is still unknown for the tie scheduled to take place February 1-2. They will await the conclusion of the Europe/Africa Group I second round play-offs. If the nations have not played each other, Canada’s opponent will host the tie. The choice of surface, the site as well as the player nominations will be determined at a later date.

After defeating the Netherlands by a score of 3-1 just a few weeks ago, Canada secured its place in the Davis Cup by BNP Paribas Qualifying Round. Despite being the favourite on paper, the Canadian team faced a tricky opponent with some highly ranked players, including Robin Haase (no. 44) as well as two doubles specialists in Jean-Julien Rojer and Matwe Middelkoop, ranked no. 20 and 35 in the doubles rankings, respectively. The victorious Canadian team was made up of Milos Raonic (Thornhill, ON), Denis Shapovalov (Richmond Hill, ON), Vasek Pospisil (Vancouver, BC), Daniel Nestor (Toronto, ON) and Félix Auger-Aliassime (Montreal, QC).

Canada will now take part in the Davis Cup Qualifying Round, hoping to secure a place in the Davis Cup Finals, which will take place in November of 2019. With the new Davis Cup format, the Qualifying Round will oppose 12 seeded nations against 12 unseeded nations, with the winners booking a spot in the final. In their upcoming tie this February, Canada will be the seeded nation thanks to their recent win over the Netherlands. Their opponents will be confirmed after the Europe/Africa Group I second round play-offs, where Portugal will host South Africa on October 19-20 and Slovakia will host Belarus on October 26-27. Canada is currently ranked 17th in the world.


February 1-2, 2019

Brazil v BELGIUM

Uzbekistan v SERBIA

AUSTRALIA* v Bosnia/Herzegovina

India v ITALY

GERMANY v Hungary


KAZAKHSTAN** v Europe/Africa nation TBC

CZECH REPUBLIC v Netherlands

Colombia* v SWEDEN


Europe/Africa nation TBC** v CANADA

China v JAPAN

The host nations are listed first, the seeded nations are in capitals.

*Host nations determined by lot.  

**Host TBC

About Davis Cup

Davis Cup by BNP Paribas is the World Cup of Tennis. It is the largest annual international team competition in sport, with 133 teams entered in 2018. The competition is 118 years old, having been founded in 1900. The title sponsor is BNP Paribas (Official Bank of Davis Cup). International sponsors are Rolex (Official Timekeeper) and Adecco (Official HR Sponsor), while Head (Official Ball) is an international partner. beIN SPORTS is the Official Global Media Rights Partner. Follow all the action on and


About Tennis Canada

Founded in 1890, Tennis Canada is a non-profit, national sport association with a mission to lead the growth of tennis in Canada and a vision to become a world-leading tennis nation. We value teamwork, passion, integrity, innovation and excellence. Tennis Canada owns and operates the premier Rogers Cup presented by National Bank WTA and ATP World Tour events, 9 professional ITF sanctioned events and financially supports 13 other professional tournaments in Canada. Tennis Canada operates junior national training centres/programs in Toronto, Montreal and Vancouver. Tennis Canada is a proud member of the International Tennis Federation, the Canadian Olympic Committee, the Canadian Paralympic Committee and the International Wheelchair Tennis Association, and serves to administer, sponsor and select the teams for Davis Cup, Fed Cup, the Olympic and Paralympic Games and all wheelchair, junior and senior national teams. Tennis Canada invests its surplus into tennis development. For more information on Tennis Canada please visit our Web site at: and follow us on Facebook and Twitter.

– 30 –

Media Contacts:

Valerie Tetreault

Manager, Communications or 514-273-1515 ext. 6259        

Victoria Jaklin

Coordinator, Communications and Media Relations or 514-273-1515 ext. 6291