The Sport Information Resource Centre
Use double quotes to find documents that include the exact phrase: "aerodynamic AND testing"
The Sport Information Resource Centre

Tennis Canada – The Slovak team has chosen clay court as the surface for the tie which will be held February 1-2, 2019

Montreal, November 6, 2018 – The Slovak Tennis Federation announced on Tuesday that the Davis Cup by BNP Paribas Qualifying Round tie between Canada and Slovakia will take place in Bratislava at the NTC Arena, which can accommodate around 4,000 spectators, and will be played on an indoor red clay court. This tie is scheduled to be disputed on February 1-2, 2019. The players nominations will be announced at a later date.

Canada will play in the Davis Cup Qualifying Round with the hope of earning a spot in the Davis Cup Finals, which will be held next November in Madrid. Under the new Davis Cup format, the Qualifying Round will see twelve seeded nations each go up against 12 unseeded nations, with the winners advancing to the Finals. Canada will be among the seeded countries thanks to their recent victory over the Netherlands this past September.

This will be the second Davis Cup meeting between Canada and Slovakia. The Slovaks came out on top in the first encounter by a score of 4-1 at IGA Stadium in Montreal in September 1997.  Canada is currently ranked 17th in the Davis Cup rankings while Slovakia is ranked 29th.

February 1-2, 2019

Brazil v BELGIUM
Uzbekistan v SERBIA
AUSTRALIA* v Bosnia/Herzegovina
India v ITALY
GERMANY v Hungary
KAZAKHSTAN* v Portugal
CZECH REPUBLIC v Netherlands
Colombia* v SWEDEN
Slovakia v CANADA
China v JAPAN
The host nations are listed first, the seeded nations are in capitals.
*Host nations determined by lot.  
About Davis Cup

Davis Cup by BNP Paribas is the World Cup of Tennis. It is the largest annual international team competition in sport, with 133 teams entered in 2018. The competition is 118 years old, having been founded in 1900. The title sponsor is BNP Paribas (Official Bank of Davis Cup). International sponsors are Rolex (Official Timekeeper) and Adecco (Official HR Sponsor), while Head (Official Ball) is an international partner. beIN SPORTS is the Official Global Media Rights Partner. Follow all the action on and

About Tennis Canada

Founded in 1890, Tennis Canada is a non-profit, national sport association with a mission to lead the growth of tennis in Canada and a vision to become a world-leading tennis nation. We value teamwork, passion, integrity, innovation and excellence. Tennis Canada owns and operates the premier Rogers Cup presented by National Bank WTA and ATP World Tour events, 9 professional ITF sanctioned events and financially supports 13 other professional tournaments in Canada. Tennis Canada operates junior national training centres/programs in Toronto, Montreal and Vancouver. Tennis Canada is a proud member of the International Tennis Federation, the Canadian Olympic Committee, the Canadian Paralympic Committee and the International Wheelchair Tennis Association, and serves to administer, sponsor and select the teams for Davis Cup, Fed Cup, the Olympic and Paralympic Games and all wheelchair, junior and senior national teams. Tennis Canada invests its surplus into tennis development. For more information on Tennis Canada please visit our Web site at: and follow us on Facebookand Twitter.

– 30 –

Media Contacts:
Valerie Tetreault
Director, Communications or 514-273-1515 ext. 6259        
Victoria Jaklin
Coordinator, Communications and Media Relations or 514-273-1515 ext. 6291