Use double quotes to find documents that include the exact phrase: "aerodynamic AND testing"

Taekwondo Canada – A total of 21 athletes has been selected to represent Canada at the 2017 Summer Universiade. 16 Kyorugi and 5 Poomsae athletes are set to grace the mat at the Taoyuan Arena in Taipei city.

The line-up consists of the 2017 Senior National Champion, Anas Sghir (M+54kg, Cégep Ahuntsic), Andrea Jerom (F-53kg, University of Toronto) and Emmanuelle Boudreau (F+73kg, University of Ottawa), as well as the 2017 Calgary National Freestyle Poomsae Team Champions, Angela Sinilaite (University of Waterloo), Kaitlyn Wiens (York University), and Maria Inez Philip (York University).

The taekwondo competition will take place from August 20 to August 26, including the first two days for the Poomsae competition, followed by the Individual Kyorugi (August 22-25) and Team Kyorugi event (August 26).

Rachel Cuma was selected by Taekwondo Canada as the Team Ambassador for this exciting event. She will be providing daily recaps and taking over Taekwondo Canada’s Instagram (@taekwondocanada) account during the competition.

Our High Performance staff, Jamie Dossantos is looking forward to this event, “The Universiade is the second largest event in the world, behind the Olympic Games.  An amazing opportunity for University athletes to have the experience of a multi-sport games.”

“Taekwondo is a World Taekwondo G-2 ranking competition for Kyorugi individual and Kyorugi team events, winners receive 20 points towards their World/Olympic ranking.  The Canadian roster is comprised with prior and current national champions looking to move up on their World Taekwondo ranking at this Kyorugi competition. It will be an exciting two weeks for our Canadian team, led by Kyorugi Coaches Dan Thornton, Katy Pyke, Patrick Soucy and William Rodgers, along with Poomsae Coach David Seo.”

Taekwondo Canada Universiade Team:





Abbas Jr. Assadian

Poomsae male individual

Ryerson University

Chloe Lee

Poomsae female individual

University of Calgary

Maria Inez Philip

Poomsae female team

York University

Angela Sinilaite

Poomsae female team

University of Waterloo

Kaitlyn Wiens

Poomsae mixed pair and Poomsae female team

York University





Anas Sghir

M -54kg

Cégep Ahuntsic

Shane Britton

M -58kg

Kwantlen Polytechnic University

Jackson Carroll

M -63kg

Saint Mary’s University

Hunter Carroll

M -68kg

Saint Mary’s University

Éloi Paradis-Deschênes

M -74kg

Université Laval

Adam Tomlinson

M -80kg

University of Ottawa Institute of Technology

Éthienne Brunet

M -87kg

Cegep de Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu

Hayk Amirbekyan

M +87kg

University of Toronto

Crystal Chan

F -46kg

University of Toronto

Viviane Tranquille

F -49kg

College Lafleche

Andrea Jerom

F -53kg

University of Toronto

Ruxandra Rodgers

F -57kg

York University

Gabrielle Rousseau

F -62kg

Université Laval

Ashlyn Arnold

F -67kg

Douglas College

Rachel Cuma

F -73kg

York University

Emmanuelle Boudreau

F +73kg

University of Ottawa

Taekwondo (coaches and staff)



Rick Lau


Kathy Pyke


William Rodgers


Hyun-Seok Seo


Patrick Soucy


Daniel Thornton



About Taekwondo Canada

Taekwondo Canada is the official National Sport Federation for Taekwondo that promotes the growth and development of Taekwondo in Canada for all its athletes, officials, coaches and participants to achieve their greatest potential. In honoring tradition, we will serve our affiliates with the utmost respect, transparency, and integrity.

For additional information please contact:

Fei Wu
Marketing, Communications, and Sponsorship Coordinator