The Sport Information Resource Centre
Use double quotes to find documents that include the exact phrase: "aerodynamic AND testing"
The Sport Information Resource Centre

Football Canada – Women and men sit first and third in their respective pools

Miami (September 11, 2016) – Canada’s women’s national team remain unbeaten following round-robin play with a 5-0 record after defeating Japan, 43-25, and Guatemala, 41-6, on day three at the 2016 IFAF Flag Football World Championships in Miami. Canada’s men’s national team split their two games on Saturday, finishing with a solid 4-2 record. The men opened the day with a 41-6 win over Guatemala, but were edged by undefeated Denmark, 35-27 in their final round-robin game.

Canada’s roster, schedule, results 

Sunday’s final day of action will culminate with women’s and men’s gold medal games at 5 and 6:30 p.m. ET respectively.

Canada, the defending women’s champions, will open Sunday’s playoff draw against Brazil, the fourth place finisher in the opposing pool, at 9 a.m. ET.

Canada’s men begin Sunday with a crossover game against Austria, the second-seeded team in the opposing pool at 10:20 a.m. ET. Canada hopes to find the podium for the first time since 2008 after falling to Italy in the bronze medal game in 2010 and 2014.

Sunday’s quarterfinals, semifinals as well as medal games broadcast live on Sports Radio America,

Women continue strong play on day three in pursuit of repeat

After facing tough matchups against Panama (4-1) and the USA (2-3) on Friday, Canada’s pair of wins on Saturday secured the defending women’s champions the top position in their pool. The advantage pairs them with 1-3 Brazil in their quarterfinals matchup.

Led by a core group of players that have been together since 2008, François Bougie’s Canadian squad hopes to capture their third gold medal after doing so in both 2010 and 2014.

Mexico sits atop the opposing pool with a 4-0 record and could be Canada’s toughest test on championship Sunday. Panama (4-1) is another team to keep an eye on as they provided Canada with their most difficult game during round-robin play.

Playoff schedule – Sunday September 11, 2016 (all times local [ET], subject to change)

9 a.m. Women’s quarterfinal (WQF4) – Canada vs. Brazil

11:40 a.m. Women’s PG2 – Loser Canada/Brazil vs. Loser Austria vs. France

11:40 a.m. Women’s semi-final (WSF2)
 – Winner Austria/France vs. Winner Canada/Brazil

3:40 p.m. Women’s Bronze – Loser Women’s SF2 vs. Loser Women’s SF1

5:00 p.m. Women’s Gold – Winner Women’s SF1 vs. Winner Women’s SF2

Men settle for third in pool after tough loss to Denmark

Following an early Chris Friesen pick-six that opened the scoring, Canada cruised to an easy 41-6 victory over Guatemala. Quarterback Chase Bradshaw threw six touchdown passes in the winning effort, including three to receiver Kit Hillis.

To close out round-robin play, Canada’s men’s national team faced a pivotal showdown against Denmark who needed a win to clinch first in group A. After Denmark drew first blood, Canada clawed back as the teams went into the half tied at 21. Denmark pulled ahead in the second half of play to seal an eight-point victory, earning them first place in their pool ahead of 5-1 and defending silver medalist, Mexico. Defending men’s gold medalist, USA sits atop the other pool with an undefeated record, ahead of Austria (4-1) and Panama (3-2).

Austria (4-1), Canada’s first opponent on Sunday, is a previous world champion having defeated the U.S. in 2012 to capture gold. They also won the first two world championship titles back-to-back in 2002 and 2004.

Playoff schedule – Sunday September 11, 2016 (all times local [ET], subject to change)

10:20 a.m. Men’s quarterfinal (MQF2) – Austria vs. Canada

1:00 p.m. Men’s PG1 – Loser Austria/Canada vs. Loser Denmark/Israel

1:00 p.m. Men’s semifinal MSF1
 – Winner Denmark/Israel vs. Winner Austria/Canada

3:40 p.m. Men’s Bronze – Loser Men’s SF2 vs. Loser Men’s SF1

6:30 p.m. Men’s Gold – Winner Men’s SF1 vs. Winner Men’s SF2



Canada’s results at the 2016 IFAF FFWC
(all times local [ET], subject to change)

Men’s national team


Women’s national team


Thursday Sept. 8

Thursday Sept. 8

9:30 a.m. – Canada 27 – Korea 7

6:30 p.m. – Canada 32 – France 7

Friday Sept. 9

Friday Sept. 9

8:00 a.m. – Mexico 35 – Canada 18

9:20 a.m. – Canada 12 – Panama 7

10:40 a.m. – Canada 34 – Italy 26

12:00 p.m. – Canada 16 – U.S. 12

1:20 p.m. – Canada 38 – Great Britain 31


Saturday Sept. 10

Saturday Sept. 10

12:40 p.m. – Canada 41 – Guatemala 6 

11:20 a.m. – Canada 43 – Japan 25 

3:20 p.m. –  Denmark 35 – Canada 27 

2:00 p.m. – Canada 41 – Guatemala 6 


Canada’s results at the IFAF Flag Football World Championships

Year – Host City



2008 – St-Jean-sur-Richelieu, QC



2010 – Ottawa, ON



2012 – Gothenburg, Sweden


Did not participate  

2014 – Grosseto, Italy





– 30 – 

About Football Canada

Established in 1884, Football Canada is the national governing body of amateur football in Canada and a proud member of the International Federation of American Football (IFAF). Working closely with the provincial football associations, we develop programs and resources for players, coaches, officials in the three disciplines of Tackle, Flag and Touch Football. Football Canada’s vision statement is “from playground to stadium” where players can participate in the game of football throughout a lifetime recreationally, competitively and internationally. 

Contact Information:

Patrick DeLottinville

Coordinator, Communications

Football Canada

613-564-0003 x 226