Use double quotes to find documents that include the exact phrase: "aerodynamic AND testing"



Canadian Lacrosse Association  – BOX SCORES


OTTAWA, ON – The St. Albert Miners won the 2017 President’s Cup on September 3, defeating the Six Nations Rivermen 7-6 in a closely contested final at the Iroquois Lacrosse Arena in Six Nations. It was the team’s second consecutive Canadian Senior B national championship, having also captured last year’s title in Leduc, Alberta, when they were the tournament hosts.


It has been an impressive run by the Miners, who have amassed a 57-2-1 record during their two year reign as national champions, which included winning eight games in nine days at the President’s Cup in to finish the season 32-2.


Their only blemish at this year’s tournament came at the hands of the Six Nations Rivermen, who beat them 12-9 in the round robin.


The Miners would get an opportunity to avenge that loss in the finals, where they took on those same Rivermen, this time coming out on top in front of their opponent’s hometown crowd.


Four goals from Keegan Bal, who led the tournament in scoring with 62 points (30G, 32A), helped St. Albert build a 4-2 first period lead. Teammate Richard Lachlan scored the lone goal of the second period to give the Miners a 5-2 lead with only 20 minutes to play.


But it was anything but smooth sailing from there.


The Rivermen made a push in the final frame, scoring three unanswered goals in the opening 2:44 to tie the game at 5-5, with Layne Smith, Roger Vyse and Danton Miller each finding the back of the net.


Tyler Melnick put St. Albert back in the lead, and Bal added his fifth of the game to go ahead 7-5 with less than five minutes remaining in the game.


Smith responded for the Rivermen 0:22 seconds later to cut the lead to 7-6, but that’s as close as his team would get.


Goaltender Ryan Avery, who finished the tournament with a 5-0 record and 7.71 goals against average, and the Miners’ defense stood tall in the dying minutes to secure the win.


Earlier in the day, the Native Sons, Can-Am Lacrosse League representatives, edged the St-Regis Braves of the Three Nations Senior Lacrosse League by a score of 10-5 to capture the bronze medal.


Lyle Thompson scored a hat-trick and added one assist to pace the Native Sons to victory, outscoring his brothers Miles and Hiana, who could muster only three points combined for the Braves, along the way.



About the Canadian Lacrosse Association      

Founded in 1867, the Canadian Lacrosse Association (CLA) is the governing body responsible for all aspects of lacrosse in Canada. Our organization is comprised of 10 Member Associations representing nearly 80,000 individual participants, including coaches, officials, and athletes of all ages and abilities. The CLA’s mission is to honour the sport of lacrosse and its unique nation-building heritage, by engaging our members, leading our partners, and providing opportunities for all Canadians to participate. We strive to accomplish this while adhering to our core values of health, excellence, accountability, respect and teamwork. The CLA oversees the delivery of numerous national championships and the participation of Team Canada at all international events sanctioned by the Federation of International Lacrosse (FIL). The CLA is proud to be affiliated with partners that share the same vision and values, including our corporate partners – New Balance Athletics, Warrior Sports, Westjet, and Baron Rings – as well as our funding partners the Government of Canada, the Coaching Association of Canada, and the Canadian Lacrosse Foundation. For more information on Canadian Lacrosse Association and the sport of lacrosse, visit our website at and follow us on Facebook and Twitter.



For more information, please contact:

Alain Brouillette

Communications and Marketing Coordinator
Canadian Lacrosse Association
Phone: 613-260-2028 ext. 302