Use double quotes to find documents that include the exact phrase: "aerodynamic AND testing"

Speed Skating Canada – Montreal, July 5, 2017 – Speed Skating Canada is pleased to introduce the athletes who have been named to the Short Track National Teams for 2017-2018, a few weeks prior to the start of the Olympic season which will be launched August 12 with the selections for the PyeongChang Games.

The 28 skaters have been named to the Senior National or Development Team following their performances last season.

The Senior National Team will be led by the medalists from the 2017 ISU World Short Track Championships Marianne St-Gelais (three-time silver medalist), Samuel Girard (silver in the 1500m) and Charles Hamelin (bronze in the 1000m), as well as their teammates at this competition that was held in Rotterdam, Netherlands, Guillaume Bastille, Kim Boutin, Kasandra Bradette, Charle Cournoyer, Pascal Dion and Valérie Maltais.

Olympic medalist François Hamelin is also part of the National Team, as well as Namasthée Harris-Gauthier, Sasha Fathoullin and Jamie Macdonald.

The National Development Team includes skaters who took part in the 2017 World Junior Championships Alyson Charles and Renee Steenge. Steenge, as well as Alison Desmarais and Maxime Laoun, will make their debut in the national program.

Genève Bélanger, Camille De Serres-Rainville, Joanie Gervais, Audrey Phaneuf and Courtney Shmyr on the women’s side, as well as Samuel Bélanger-Marceau, Cédrik Blais, Steven Dubois, Patrick Duffy, Sébastien Gagnon and William Preudhomme, on the men’s side, are the other members of the National Development Team.

Athletes on the Senior National or Development Team will train at the National Centres at the Maurice-Richard Arena in Montreal or at the Olympic Oval in Calgary, while receiving specialized services as well as carding support from Sport Canada.

Members of the 2017-2018 Senior National Team
BASTILLE, Guillaume                     (Rivière-du-Loup, QC)
BOUTIN, Kim                                (Sherbrooke, QC)
BRADETTE, Kasandra                   (Saint-Félicien, QC)
COURNOYER, Charle                    (Boucherville, QC)
DION, Pascal                                (Montréal, Rivière-des-Prairies – Pointe-aux-Trembles borough, QC)
FATHOULLIN, Sasha                     (Calgary, AB)
GIRARD, Samuel                           (Ferland-et-Boilleau, QC)

HAMELIN, Charles                         (Sainte-Julie, QC)
HAMELIN, François                       (Sainte-Julie, QC)

HARRIS-GAUTHIER, Namasthée   (Montréal, Rosemont – La Petite-Patrie borough, QC)

MACDONALD, Jamie                     (Fort St. James, BC)
MALTAIS, Valérie                           (Saguenay, La Baie borough, QC)
ST-GELAIS, Marianne                    (Saint-Félicien, QC)

Members of the 2017-2018 Development Team
BÉLANGER, Genève                     (Montréal, Mercier-Hochelaga-Maisonneuve borough, QC)
BÉLANGER-MARCEAU, Samuel    (Saint-Bruno-de-Montarville, QC)
BLAIS, Cédrik                                (Châteauguay, QC)
CHARLES, Alyson                         (Montréal, Villeray-Saint-Michel-Parc-Extension borough, QC)
DE SERRES-RAINVILLE, Camille   (Montréal, Rosemont – La Petite-Patrie borough, QC)
DESMARAIS, Alison                      (Prince George, BC)
DUBOIS, Steven                            (Lachenaie, QC)
DUFFY, Patrick                             (Oakville, ON)
GAGNON, Sébastien                     (Sainte-Anne-des-Plaines, QC)
GERVAIS, Joanie                          (Saguenay, Jonquière borough, QC)
LAOUN, Maxime                            (Montréal, Rosemont – La Petite-Patrie borough, QC)

PHANEUF, Audrey                        (Saint-Hyacinthe, QC)
PREUDHOMME, William                (Toronto, ON)

SHMYR, Courtney                         (Langley, BC)

STEENGE, Renee                          (Brampton, ON)

About Speed Skating Canada

“To Challenge and Inspire Canada to Thrive through the power of Speed Skating”

Speed Skating Canada (SSC) is the governing body for competitive long track and short track speed skating in Canada. Founded in 1887, the association is comprised of 13 provincial and territorial branches representing more than 14,000 individual members, and counting. SSC believes that sport is an apprenticeship for life and prizes respect for others, integrity, excellence of effort, as well as a safe, healthy environment. SSC recognizes and values its outstanding volunteers who give freely of their time and expertise. It also celebrates the 63 Olympic medals won by Canadian athletes since 1932, as well as the coaches, officials and other dedicated individuals who helped them on their journey.

Speed Skating Canada would like to thank its sponsors:

Premium partner: Intact Insurance

Funding partners: Government of Canada (Sport Canada), Own The Podium, Canadian Olympic Committee

Official On-Ice High Performance Apparel: Li-Ning

Long Track Team Sponsor: KIA

Official Suppliers: Auclair, USANA

Sport Development Partners: Winsport Canada, Calgary’s Olympic Oval, University of Calgary, Institut national du sport du Québec, Government of Quebec, Canadian Sport Institute-Calgary, City of Montreal, Quebec City, Conseil du sport de haut niveau de Québec

– 30 –

For information:
Patrick Godbout
Communications & Media Relations Manager
Speed Skating Canada
Phone: 514 213-9897