The Sport Information Resource Centre
Use double quotes to find documents that include the exact phrase: "aerodynamic AND testing"
The Sport Information Resource Centre

Speed Skating Canada – Ottawa, September 8, 2016 – Speed Skating Canada is pleased to introduce the athletes who have been named to the Short Track National Teams for 2016-2017, two weeks prior to the start of the pre-Olympic season which begins with the Fall World Cup Selections at the Maurice-Richard Arena in Montreal from September 23-25.

The 31 skaters have been named to the Senior National or Development Team following their performances last season. They will aim to beat the 44 medals won in World Cups last season, the best since 2001-2002, for a total of 54 including the nine at the World Championships, both highest tally since at least 1999-2000, as well as a bronze medal at the World Junior Championships.

The Senior National Team will be lead by the 2016 World Champions Marianne St-Gelais (1500m) and Charles Hamelin (1000m), as well as the other individual medalists at those World Championships held last year in Seoul, South Korea, Kasandra Bradette (bronze in the 1000m) and Samuel Girard (silver in the 1000m), and their teammates at that competition Valérie Maltais, Charle Cournoyer, Audrey Phaneuf, Sasha Fathoullin, Namasthée Harris-Gauthier and François Hamelin.

Olympic medalists Guillaume Bastille, Marie-Ève Drolet and Olivier Jean, who is also part of the Long Track Senior National Group, as well as Jamie Macdonald and Kim Boutin, are also part of the National Team.

On the Development Team, there are some members of the 2016 Junior National Team: Steven Dubois, sole Canadian medalist at the World Junior Championships last season, as well as Genève Bélanger, Alyson Charles, Danaé Blais and Marc-Olivier Lemay.

Cédrik Blais, Patrick Duffy, Pascal Dion and William Preudhomme, who all represented Canada at World Cups last season, as well as Courtney Shmyr, Samuel Bélanger-Marceau, Keegan Christ, Camille De Serres-Rainville, Sébastien Gagnon, Joanie Gervais and Rosalie Tremblay are also part of the National Development Team.

For Charles, Christ, De Serres Rainville, Dubois and Lemay, this is their first nomination to one of Speed Skating Canada’s Senior Short Track National Team.

Athletes on the Senior National Team will train at the National Centres at the Maurice-Richard Arena in Montreal or at the Olympic Oval in Calgary, while receiving specialized services as well as support from Sport Canada.

Members of the 2016-2017 Senior National Team
BASTILLE, Guillaume                     (Rivière-du-Loup, QC)
BOUTIN, Kim                                (Sherbrooke, QC)
BRADETTE, Kasandra                   (Saint-Félicien, QC)
COURNOYER, Charle                    (Boucherville, QC)
DROLET, Marie-Ève                       (Saguenay, Chicoutimi borough, QC)
FATHOULLIN, Sasha                     (Calgary, AB)
GIRARD, Samuel                           (Ferland-et-Boilleau, QC)
HAMELIN, Charles                         (Sainte-Julie, QC)
HAMELIN, François                       (Sainte-Julie, QC)
HARRIS-GAUTHIER, Namasthée   (Montréal, QC, Rosemont – La Petite-Patrie borough, QC)
JEAN, Olivier                                 (Lachenaie, QC)
MACDONALD, Jamie                     (Fort St. James, B.C.)
MALTAIS, Valérie                           (Saguenay, La Baie borough, QC)
PHANEUF, Audrey                         (Saint-Hyacinthe, QC)
ST-GELAIS, Marianne                    (Saint-Félicien, QC)

Members of the 2016-2017 Development Team
BÉLANGER, Genève                     (Montréal, Mercier-Hochelaga-Maisonneuve borough, QC)
BÉLANGER-MARCEAU, Samuel    (Saint-Bruno-de-Montarville, QC)
BLAIS, Cédrik                                (Châteauguay, QC)
BLAIS, Danaé                                (Châteauguay, QC)
CHARLES, Alyson                         (Montréal, Villeray-Saint-Michel-Parc-Extension borough, QC)
CHRIST, Keegan                            (Regina, SK)
DE SERRES-RAINVILLE, Camille   (Montréal, Rosemont – La Petite-Patrie borough, QC)
DION, Pascal                                (Montréal, Rivière-des-Prairies – Pointe-aux-Trembles borough, QC)
DUBOIS, Steven                            (Lachenaie, QC)
DUFFY, Patrick                              (Oakville, ON)
GAGNON, Sébastien                     (Sainte-Anne-des-Plaines, QC)
GERVAIS, Joanie                           (Saguenay, Jonquière borough, QC)
LEMAY, Marc-Olivier                       (Montréal, Rivière-des-Prairies – Pointe-aux-Trembles borough, QC)
PREUDHOMME, William                (Toronto, ON)
SHMYR, Courtney                          (Langley, B.C.)
TREMBLAY, Rosalie                       (Saint-Félicien, QC)

About Speed Skating Canada
Speed Skating Canada (SSC) is the governing body for competitive long track and short track speed skating in Canada. Founded in 1887, the association is comprised of 13 provincial and territorial branches representing more than 14,000 individual members, and counting. SSC believes that sport is an apprenticeship for life and prizes respect for others, integrity, excellence of effort, as well as a safe, healthy environment. SSC recognizes and values its outstanding volunteers who give freely of their time and expertise. It also celebrates the 63 Olympic medals won by Canadian athletes since 1932, as well as the coaches, officials and other dedicated individuals who helped them on their journey.


SSC is proud to be affiliated with partners that share the same vision and values including our premium sponsors Intact Insurance, as well as our funding partners, the Government of Canada, Own the Podium, City of Montreal, Calgary Olympic Oval and WinSport Canada.


– 30 –

For information:
Patrick Godbout
Communications & Media Relations Manager
Speed Skating Canada
Phone: 514 213-9897