Use double quotes to find documents that include the exact phrase: "aerodynamic AND testing"

Skate Canada – OTTAWA, ON: This past weekend, Skate Canada recognized 21 award winners during its annual Achievement Awards Gala, part of the 2016 Skate Canada Ice Summit in St. John’s, Newfoundland and Labrador.

The winners received their awards on Friday night at the annual Skate Canada Achievement Awards Gala and Banquet. The winners were presented their awards by 2016 Canadian champions, including three-time world champion and two-time Olympic silver medallist Patrick Chan, Canadian champion Alaine Chartrand, two-time world champions and Olympic silver medallists (team) Meagan Duhamel and Eric Radford, two-time world medallists Kaitlyn Weaver and Andrew Poje, and team co-captain of Canadian champions, Les Suprêmes, Claudia Sforzin.

The Skate Canada National Awards Program honours dedicated members of the skating community who have donated their time to help contribute to improving the quality of skating in Canada.

The 2015-2016 recipients were: 

Skate Canada Club and Recreational Coach Award of Excellence
Marilyn Kreuzinger, Mile Zero FSC, British Columbia/Yukon Section

Skate Canada Competitive Coach Award of Excellence
Yvan Desjardins, École Excellence Rosemère, Quebec Section

Skate Canada Officials Award of Excellence
Susan Blatz, Burlington Skating Centre, Western Ontario Section

Elizabeth Swan Memorial Award
Susan Thistle, Prince of Wales SC, Newfoundland and Labrador Section

Billie Mitchell Award
Leanna Caron, Timmins Porcupine FSC, Northern Ontario Section

Skate Canada also presents a volunteer award to one member of each of the Skate Canada sections. The following exceptional volunteers were awarded the 2015-2016 Skate Canada Section Volunteer Award of Excellence:

British Columbia/Yukon Section
Gail Weber, Fort St. John FSC

Alberta/NWT/Nunavut Section
Heather Glazier, Foothills FSC

Saskatchewan Section
Carla Laevens, Leader SC

Manitoba Section
Heather Hollinda, Roblin FSC

Northern Ontario Section
Julia Mullins, Fort William FSC

Western Ontario Section
Steve Scherrer, Kitchener-Waterloo SC

Central Ontario Section
Karen Syme, Skate Canada Brampton-Chinguacousy

Eastern Ontario Section
Sim Callewaert, Oshawa SC

Quebec Section
Michèle Godbout, CPA Rosemont

New Brunswick Section
Steven Keith, Saint John SC

Prince Edward Island Section
Juanita Gallant, O’Leary FSC

Nova Scotia Section
Susan Casey, Dartmouth SC

Newfoundland and Labrador Section
Keith Woodford, CBS Skating Club

Three additional section awards were recognized in the CanSkate, STARSkate and CompetitiveSkate athlete areas, as representatives of all section winners in those categories:

Skate Canada Section CanSkate Athlete Award
Scarlett Sherlock, Mount Pearl-Paradise SC, Newfoundland and Labrador Section

Skate Canada Section STARSkate Athlete Award
Claire Bennett, Mount Pearl-Paradise SC, Newfoundland and Labrador Section

Skate Canada Section CompetitiveSkate Athlete Award
Anna Carter, Mount Pearl-Paradise SC, Newfoundland and Labrador Section

Skate Canada congratulates all award winners, nominees, and countless invaluable volunteers.


Skate Canada is the nation’s governing body for competitive figure skating and is dedicated to creating a nation of skaters, both recreationally and competitively. Over 125 years old, Skate Canada is the world’s oldest skating organization and Canada’s preeminent leader in skating instruction and education. Over 130,000 Canadians participate in Skate Canada educational programs each year, including our flagship CanSkate program that teaches beginners of every age the basic skills of skating and fundamental movements.

As one of Canada’s most successful governing sport bodies, Skate Canada athletes have won 25 Olympic medals and 32 world championships. Today’s Canadian world and Olympic medalists all began at one of our 1,200 local Skate Canada clubs or skating schools. Through our programs, more than 5,500 certified professional coaches encourage Canadians of all ages to skate together as a family, pursue competitive ice sports and enjoy an active lifestyle.

Skate Canada has a National Service Centre in Ottawa, marketing headquarters in Toronto and high performance facilities in Toronto and Calgary.

For Information:


Emma Bowie
Communications Manager
+1 (613) 747-1007 ext. 2547