The Sport Information Resource Centre
Use double quotes to find documents that include the exact phrase: "aerodynamic AND testing"
The Sport Information Resource Centre

Golf Ontario – TORONTO — Another Golf Ontario provincial championship season got underway on May 11, with the Men’s Better-Ball Championship from Oakdale Golf & Country Club.  Despite the recent wet weather, the course was in fine shape and the players only dealt with cool and windy conditions on the day.

The field consisted of 54 teams (108 players) who all began at the 10 a.m. shotgun. Much like 2016, the day belonged to Kingston’s Peter Sauerbrei (Cataraqui Golf & Country Club)and Toronto’s Simon Reyers (Brampton Golf Club). The 2016 champions returned to the site of their victory a year a go and were able to tame the course again. The pair carded a seven-under (65) to earn a one-stroke win.

Afterwards the pair spoke about what it meant to repeat as champions. “This is a great event, I love this format,” said Reyers. “We are obviously thrilled to win this in back-to-back years. There are some great names on this trophy and we are happy to have ours on it again.”

The pair took advantage of the holes they needed to, while avoiding any damage during their bogey-free round. “We made par on the tough holes and birdied the easier ones and when you do that, it makes the round much easier,” added Sauerbrei.

Picking up the silver medal was Whitby’s Brendan Dunphy (Whitevale Golf Club) and Sudbury’s Tristan Renaud (Idylwylde Golf & Country Club). The pair finished the round at six-under (66).

Finishing in a tie for third was the team from Cedar Brae Golf Club of Thornhill’s Ryan Tsang and Markham’s Truman Tai along with the duo of Etobicoke’s Justin Allen (Weston Golf &Country Club) and Barrie’s Abe Holmes (Barrie Country Club). Both teams ended the day at five-under (67).

Golf Ontario would like to thank Oakdale Golf & Country Club, along with their staff, for once again hosting the event. Thanks also to the Golf Ontario volunteers for their continued support of golf in the province. 

Men's Better-Ball Championship

About The Ontario Men’s Better-Ball

The Ontario Men’s Better-Ball Championship has been played since 1959. All but two of the championships have taken place at Oakdale G&CC.  The tournament is open to teams whose members both have up-to-date Golf Canada Handicap Factor of 8.4 or less. Previous winners of the event include: Gary Cowan, Bill Morland, Nick Weslock, Kelly Roberts, Warren Sye, Bill Swartz, Mike Weir and Albin Choi.


Golf Ontario is Ontario’s Provincial Sport Organization focused on enhancing participation, elevating performance and supporting the passion of golfers in Ontario. With over 90,000 individual members and 450 member clubs, Golf Ontario is one of the largest golf associations in the world.  From rating courses and keeping the integral rules of the game intact, to growing the game at the grassroots level and getting the game of golf into our school systems, to keeping the Ontario golf community aware of all relevant issues and hosting the best amateur tournaments in Canada, Golf Ontario is a passionate group dedicated to making golf better for everyone in Ontario. We share a love and passion for golf, while preserving its past, fostering its future, and championing golf’s best interests for everyone who enjoys the sport.

For more information please contact:

Darren Matte, Communications and Marketing Coordinator

Golf Ontario

905-852-1101 ext. 234



Results for contest Men's Better-Ball Championship:
 1   Peter Sauerbrei Simon Reyers         65 -7  
 2   Brendan Dunphy Tristan Renaud        66 -6  
 T3  Justin Allen Abe Holmes              67 -5  
 T3  Ryan Tsang Truman Tai                67 -5  
 T5  Chris Frook Josiah Dixon             68 -4  
 T5  Adam Hudson Kevin Duda               68 -4  
 T5  Spencer Reid Jacob Lehman            68 -4  
 T8  Joseph Burgess Chase Komaromi        69 -3  
 T8  Ryan Peyman Kevin Fawcett            69 -3  
 T10 Jake Adams David French              70 -2  
 T10 Mitchell Ahrens Andrew Crampton      70 -2  
 T10 Jay Jewett Matt Dumontelle           70 -2  
 T10 Drew Mayhew Jeff Crowe               70 -2  
 T10 Nicholas Striker Luke McLean         70 -2  
 T10 Ryan Trapp Lucas Pichl               70 -2  
 T16 Ian Frauts Jacob Scriven             71 -1  
 T16 Matthew Ion Young Peter McCarthy     71 -1  
 T16 James Wyndham-West Tyler Hull        71 -1  
 T19 Cougar Collins Ty Celone             72 E   
 T19 Mike Dinner Mike Ward                72 E   
 T19 Chris Henderson Dylan Henderson      72 E   
 T19 Davis Kuksis Blake Boddy             72 E   
 T19 Davey Morton Carter Snowden          72 E   
 T19 Darryl Whitford Craig Pinder         72 E   
 T25 John Drewery Derek McGrath           73 +1  
 T25 Charles Fitzsimmons Howard Glassman  73 +1  
 T25 Kevin Jovanov Shyamal Nagindas       73 +1  
 T25 Marc Lefebvre Ryan Trocchi           73 +1  
 T25 Mark von Kalckreuth Robert Barger    73 +1  
 T30 Tyler Cormier Tyson Turchanski       74 +2  
 T30 Arnold Johnson Michael Brooks        74 +2  
 T30 Adam Kawalec Sam Kreze               74 +2  
 T30 Christian McCullough Scott Benzoni   74 +2  
 T30 Adam Migur Steven Poulos             74 +2  
 T30 Alex Purdom Pierce Saly              74 +2  
 T30 Dave Speir Jamie Bacon               74 +2  
 T37 Adam Briggs Jim Briggs               75 +3  
 T37 Ari Fine Dan Sherman                 75 +3  
 T37 Cam Hreljac Chris Lee                75 +3  
 T37 Brandon Jones Mark H Baines          75 +3  
 T37 Dennis Morris Patrick Morris         75 +3  
 T37 Adam Smalley Keegan Tyers            75 +3  
 T37 Mathew Stevens Paul Stevens          75 +3  
 T44 Aidan Dunphy Daniel Knapp            76 +4  
 T44 Michael Gordon Isaiah Crystal        76 +4  
 T44 Brandon Lackey Sean Lackey           76 +4  
 T44 Craig Loughry Raymond Oh             76 +4  
 T44 Brad Newman Jud Whiteside            76 +4  
 T44 Mike Woodhouse Allen Chapman         76 +4  
 T50 Ryan Kennedy Marshall Graper         77 +5  
 T50 Craig Sinclair Matthew Sim           77 +5  
 52  Dan Keogh Bill Hutcheson             78 +6  
 53  Josh Bank David Isaacman             79 +7  
 54  Ryan Page Davis Legree               83 +11