The Sport Information Resource Centre
Use double quotes to find documents that include the exact phrase: "aerodynamic AND testing"
The Sport Information Resource Centre

Rowing Canada Aviron – RCA celebrated the 37th Annual Excellence Awards at the RCA National Conference on January 27th at the Chelsea Hotel in Toronto. RCA recognized the exceptional rowing performances and exemplary individual contributions within the Canadian rowing community.

The 2017 Excellence Awards were presented in a variety of categories including Club Outstanding Achievement of the Year, Volunteer of Year, Umpire of the Year, Athlete(s) of the Year, Coach of the Year and other distinguished categories such as Lifetime Achievement and Long Service awards. Jim Minards from the St. Catharines Rowing Club was honoured with one of our longest service awards – 65 years of dedication to our sport.

Lifetime achievement awards were presented to Silvio Palumbi (CSSRA) and Volker Nolte (Western University), and Athlete of the Year awards were presented to Kieanna Stephens and Grace VandenBroek (U19), Trevor Jones (U23), Rebecca Zimmerman (Senior) and Andrew Todd (Para).

In honour of the 50th anniversary of the 1968 Olympic Games in Mexico city, RCA welcomed members of the 1968 Men’s eight and paid tribute to the entire 1968 Olympic rowing team.

Thank you to the RCA Awards Selection Committee for their efforts in selecting these outstanding 2017 award recipients.

Recipients of 2017 RCA Annual Excellence Awards:

Lifetime Achievement Award
Silvio Palumbi (CSSRA)
Volker Nolte (Western University)

Club Outstanding Achievement of the Year
Kenora Rowing Club (MB)

Volunteer of the Year
Ursula Larsson – Kenora Rowing Club (MB)

Umpire of the Year
Marie-Sophie Desaulniers (ON)

Coach of the Year
Andrea Miller (ON)

Tony Zasada Memorial Scholarship
Louise Munroe (ON)

Para Athlete of the Year
Andrew Todd (NS)

U19 Athlete of the Year
Kieanna Stephens (BC) and Grace VandenBroek (ON)

U23 Athlete of the Year
Trevor Jones (ON)

Senior Athlete of the Year
Rebecca Zimmerman (BC)

President’s Award
Peter Webster (NS)

Long Service Awards

Richard Galway 15
Tracey Newman 15
Aalbert Van Schothorst 15
Brian Williams 20
Carol Hermansen 20
Neil Duckworth 20
Hamar Foster 25
James Keogh 30
Bob Schenck 30
Scott Anderson 30
Dave Wright 30
Joe Barnsley 30
Steve Dmytrasz 30
David Millar 35
Will King 35
Doug Hamilton 40
Don Hornby 45
Brian Davis 45
Michael Murphy 50
Brian Thorne 50
Alan Roaf 55
St. Catharines Rowing Alumni Association 60
Jim Minards 65

Thank you to all the presenters and members of the rowing community who came to celebrate all the outstanding award recipients and contributors to rowing in Canada.