The Sport Information Resource Centre
Use double quotes to find documents that include the exact phrase: "aerodynamic AND testing"
The Sport Information Resource Centre
Cycling Canada – Victoria, BC, April 1st, 2018 – The 2018 Canada Cup Mountain Bike Series opened on Saturday with wins in the Elite women and men by Catharine Pendrel (Clif Pro) and Andrew L’Esperance (Forward Racing – Norco).

Held at Bear Mountain Resort, just outside Victoria, BC, the course is situated in the foothills of Mount Finlayson with breathtaking views of Victoria’s seaside harbour.  Bear Mountain Resort is the national training centre for Canada’s mountain bike squad.

Pendrel, the 2016 Rio Olympic bronze medalist and defending champion at Bear Mountain, rode away from the rest of the women’s field to win by nearly one minute over Haley Smith (Norco Factory). Smith will head to Gold Coast, Australia, from Bear Mountain, to represent Canada at the Commonwealth Games.  American Haley Batten (Clif Pro) took third, with Canadian national champion Emily Batty (Trek Factory) in fourth. Batty will also represent Canada at Gold Coast.

Photo Cycling Canada (All Rights Reserved)

“Bear Mountain treated us to some dry conditions,” said Pendrel. “I had a strong start, following Haley Smith, who led the race out. There was a pretty big group of us still at the descent, but coming to the climb I went to the front and was able to open a gap, which I held to the finish.”

In the men’s race, L’Esperance held off Commonwealth Games athlete Leandre Bouchard (KMC-Ekoi-SR Suntour) by a slim two second margin to take the victory. National champion Peter Disera (Norco Factory) finished third, despite flatting twice and having to fight his way back into the top-3.

Photo Cycling Canada (All Rights Reserved)

“It was a really fast race from the beginning,” said L’Esperance, “there were no laps where we took it easy. I led out on the first lap, which was my plan; to put pressure on, on the first descent. By the second lap it was down to four of us – me, Leandre, Peter and Sean [Fincham, L’Esperance’s team mate]. Pete got off the front, but flatted, so it was just ‘Dre and I until the last lap when Pete got back up. In the last 300 metres I managed to get to the front and hold on for the win.”

In the Junior Expert categories, Mireille Larose-Gingras (Equipe du Quebec/Sigma) won the women’s race over Marianne Theberge (Equipe du Quebec/Mathieu), while Holden Jones (Cycling BC) won the men’s, a bare one second in front of Carter Woods (Dodge City Cycles/RMB/CBC).

“The race started fast, like I planned,” said Jones. “Three of us got into the singletrack together at the front. I attacked on the final climb and just managed to hold on for the finish.”
About Cycling Canada
Cycling Canada is the governing body for competitive cycling in Canada. Founded in 1882, Cycling Canada aims to create and sustain an effective system that develops talented Canadian cyclists to achieve Olympic, Paralympic, and World Championship medal performances. With the vision of being a leading competitive cycling nation by 2020 celebrating enhanced international success, increased national participation and world class event hosting, Cycling Canada manages the High Performance team, hosts national and international events and administers programs to promote and grow cycling across the country. Cycling Canada programs are made possible through the support of its valued corporate partners – Global Relay, Lexus Canada, Mattamy Homes, Louis Garneau and Bear Mountain Resort – along with the Government of Canada, Own The Podium, the Canadian Olympic Committee and the Canadian Paralympic Committee.



Source: Cycling Canada 
Karine Bedard l Cycling Canada l 438-884-8771 l