Use double quotes to find documents that include the exact phrase: "aerodynamic AND testing"

Golf Ontario – SHELBURNE— The 2016 Investors Group Ontario Bantam Boys’ and Girls’ Championships wrapped up on Aug. 4 from the Shelburne Golf & Country Club. At the end of the day Windsor’s Alek Mauro and Maple’s Alyssa DiMarcantonio finished at the top of their leaderboards to capture the 2016 titles.

Beginning the day, Mauro sat in a four-way tie for fourth after a one-over (72) opening round. The 14-year-old quickly began to make his way up the leaderboard thanks to a trio of birdies on the third, fourth and sixth holes. He settled for a bogey on the ninth but made up for it with a three-under back nine to finish the day at five-under (66). That proved to be enough as he captured the championship at four-under (72-66-138).

“It is great to win this title,” said Mauro. “The first day wasn’t as good as I had hoped. The par fives weren’t very good for me, as I played them one-over. Today I took advantage of the par fives and played them four-under. I had an idea of what I needed to shoot coming into the day. I just played my own game and managed to hits some putts.”

The round of the day belonged to Courtice’s Ethan Cardwell. The Oshawa Golf & Curling Club member started par, birdie, birdie, eagle and was six-under at the turn. He moved to seven-under after a birdie on the 10th, but finished his round with a bogey on 18. He still ended the day six-under (65). That, combined with his four-over (75) during round one, helped get him to two-under for the tournament and capture the silver medal.

Rounding out the top three was a three-way tie for the bronze at two-over (144). The players sharing the medal were: Kanata’s Zachary Wylie (76-68), Iroquois Falls’ Connor Danis (68-76) and Newmarket’s Jeffery Fang (70-74).

In the girls’ championship, DiMarcantonio, a Team Ontario and Station Creek Golf Club member, began the round with a five-shot lead after a three-under (68) during the opening round. The 13-year-old started the final round well with a birdie on the first hole to drop to four-under. She would add two bogeys on front and was one-over at the turn. She went on to par every hole on the back nine to complete the round at one-over (72). That was good enough to secure her the title as she finished the tournament two-under (68-72-140).

“I played pretty well this week and I feel pretty good about the win,” said DiMarcantonio. “I set this championship as a goal for myself before the season. I came close last year, so I am happy and proud to have won it. Today, I tried my best and didn’t worry about my score or anyone else’s. I just focused on my game.”   

Finishing second was Markham‘s Victoria Zheng. Zheng, from Station Creek Golf Club, won the Ontario Peewee Championship just last week and entered the day in a tie for second after finishing round one at two-over (73). Zheng was two-over at the turn but rebounded nicely with a two-under on the back nine to end the day even par (71). That kept her at two-over (73-71-144) for the tournament, earning her the silver.

Rounding out the podium was Brampton’s Vaijayanti Bharkhada. Bharkhada, from Caledon Woods Golf Club, was four-over (75) after the first round. She followed it up with and even par (71) during round two to finish the tournament four-over (75-71-146) and win the bronze. 

IG Ontario Bantam (U15) Boys' Championship

For full tournament information, including the final leaderboards, see the tournament sites at: for the boys’ championship and for the girls’ championship. 

About the Investors Group Ontario Bantam Championship

The Investors Group Ontario Bantam Boys’ Championship was first contested in 1923 at the Summit Golf & Country Club. The first Ontario Bantam Girls’ Championship was held in 2003. The event is open to players 14-years-old and younger as of Aug. 1. Participants on the boys’ side qualified through one of four qualifiers held earlier this summer. Notable past boys champions include: Tony Gil, Matt LeMay, Bill Hutcheson, Kelly Roberts and Tim McCutcheon. As for past girls champions, the list includes: Jennifer Kirby, Augusta James and Christina Foster. 


Golf Ontario is Ontario’s Provincial Sport Organization focused on enhancing participation, elevating performance and supporting the passion of golfers in Ontario. With over 100,000 individual members and 450 member clubs, Golf Ontario is one of the largest golf associations in the world.  From rating courses and keeping the integral rules of the game intact, to growing the game at the grassroots level and getting the game of golf into our school systems, to keeping the Ontario golf community aware of all relevant issues and hosting the best amateur tournaments in Canada, Golf Ontario is a passionate group dedicated to making golf better for everyone in Ontario. We share a love and passion for golf, while preserving its past, fostering its future, and championing golf’s best interests for everyone who enjoys the sport.

For more information, please contact:

Darren Matte, Communications and Marketing Coordinator

Golf Ontario

905-852-1101 ext. 234





Results for contest 2015 Bantam Championship:
 1   Alek Mauro            72-66--138 -4  
 2   Ethan Cardwell        75-65--140 -2  
 T3  Zachary Wylie         76-68--144 +2  
 T3  Connor Danis          68-76--144 +2  
 T3  Jeffrey Fang          70-74--144 +2  
 T6  Michael Ikejiani      73-72--145 +3  
 T6  Shawn Sehra           72-73--145 +3  
 8   Jack Alward           72-74--146 +4  
 T9  Kavith Ranchagoda     74-73--147 +5  
 T9  Luca Ferrara          74-73--147 +5  
 11  Isiah Katsube         74-74--148 +6  
 T12 Hayden Scott          79-70--149 +7  
 T12 Daniel Li             76-73--149 +7  
 T12 Connor Munro          75-74--149 +7  
 T15 Nicholas Tanovich     77-73--150 +8  
 T15 Eric Jung             75-75--150 +8  
 T15 Nolan Piazza          73-77--150 +8  
 T18 Connor Logan          78-73--151 +9  
 T18 Gerry Mei             77-74--151 +9  
 T18 Cade Preston          76-75--151 +9  
 T18 Conor Gaudet          76-75--151 +9  
 T18 Romi Dilawri          76-75--151 +9  
 T18 Aidan Hussey          75-76--151 +9  
 T18 Spencer Higginbottom  74-77--151 +9  
 T18 Mark Clarey           72-79--151 +9  
 T26 Jordan Breen          76-76--152 +10 
 T26 Tyler Cunningham      76-76--152 +10 
 T26 Andrew Szent-Ivany    75-77--152 +10 
 T26 Aidan Maltman         74-78--152 +10 
 T30 Luke Bigelow          78-75--153 +11 
 T30 Ben Rochon            74-79--153 +11 
 T32 Alexander Saroli      81-73--154 +12 
 T32 Devin Lawson          80-74--154 +12 
 T32 Alexander Brisebois   77-77--154 +12 
 T32 Andrew Gwilliams      77-77--154 +12 
 T32 Zachary Hart          76-78--154 +12 
 T37 Brayden Valiquette    80-75--155 +13 
 T37 Lucas Ross            80-75--155 +13 
 T37 Sam Hogan             77-78--155 +13 
 T37 Michael Jiang         77-78--155 +13 
 T37 Jakob Ain             75-80--155 +13 
 T42 Richard Kwok          80-76--156 +14 
 T42 Cameron Corbett       79-77--156 +14 
 T44 Nicholas Lin          82-75--157 +15 
 T44 Jason Howe            78-79--157 +15 
 T46 Josh Stalteri         78-80--158 +16 
 T46 Will Bellamy          76-82--158 +16 
 T48 Johnathan Rivington   83-76--159 +17 
 T48 Kayden White          81-78--159 +17 
 50  Ben Miles             85-75--160 +18 
 51  Ben Hirasawa          81-84--165 +23 
 52  Aidan Bischoff        89-77--166 +24 
 53  Stirling Moss         86-81--167 +25 
 T54 Jack Dool             84-84--168 +26 
 T54 Terrell Thomas        85-83--168 +26 
 56  Cole Wilson           87-82--169 +27 
 57  Jaden Jones           82-88--170 +28 


 DQ  Yutaka Nohdomi        +6             
 DQ  Nicholas Cundari                     

 DQ  Jocelyn Menard