Use double quotes to find documents that include the exact phrase: "aerodynamic AND testing"

Sport Manitoba – Manitoba Student Athletes Received $23,000 in Sport Scholarships

Call for New Applications

WINNIPEG, Manitoba – Sport Manitoba awarded $23,000 in academic scholarships to fourteen high school students, six university students, and four Manitoba coaches this past year. They included the Manitoba Foundation for Sport Scholarships, Milt Stegall Scholarships, Bud Tinsley Sport Leadership Scholarship, Coaching Manitoba Bursaries, and Princess Royal Pan Am Scholarships. Sport Manitoba is now accepting applications for the 2016/2017 academic year.

Apply here:

Manitoba Foundation for Sport Scholarships

This year the Manitoba Foundation for Sports scholarships (MFFS) recognized the exceptional achievements of 21 student athletes. These athletes represent nine towns/cities and 18 different sports. 

$500 High School Scholarship Recipients:

Name Sport Post-Secondary School
Caitlin Wilkinson Baseball, Golf, Xcountry/Track, Volleyball, Badminton, Figure Skating Brandon University
Emily Unger Triathlon/Xcountry/Track University of Manitoba
Seth Friesen (Brandon) Volleyball, Basketball, Soccer Brandon University
Jacob Janzen Volleyball, Hockey, Soccer CMU
Hannah Enns Volleyball, Basketball, Ultimate University of Winnipeg
Brendan Reichardt Hockey (Ice & Ball) University of Manitoba
Alieu William Sesay Basketball, Volleyball, Track & Field University of Winnipeg
Brett Foley (Portage la Prairie) Volleyball, Basketball, Cross Country University of Manitoba
Juliana Barclay Hockey, Rugby, Cross Country University of Manitoba
Robelie Aaron Basketball, Volleyball, Handball University of Winnipeg
Rylie Dickson (Killarney) Volleyball, Track & Field, Xcountry University of Winnipeg
Karleece Lapointe (Petersfield) Water-skiing University of Manitoba
Rhianna Nelson Basketball Canadian Mennonite University
Darian Hole Triathlon, Xcountry/Track University of Manitoba


$1000 University Scholarship Recipients

Name Sport Post-Secondary School
Wyatt Anders Basketball University of Manitoba
Kevin Boreskie Ultimate University of Manitoba
Eric Guy Track University of Manitoba
Kerri Kuzbyt Basketball University of Winnipeg
Jennifer Parisian Baton Twirling University of Manitoba
Tegan Turner Track & Gymnastics University of Manitoba


Milt Stegall Scholarships

This scholarship increases the awards for the top graduating high school student entering a post-secondary institution to $1000, and the top student in their second or subsequent year in a post-secondary institution to $2000. Recipients of this year’s two Milt Stegall scholarships were selected from the Manitoba Foundation for Sports scholarship recipients.

High School – Caitlin Wilkinson (Eddystone, MB) – additional $500
University – Kevin Boreskie (Winnipeg, MB) – additional $1000

Bud Tinsley Sport Leadership Scholarship

This scholarship was created in 2012 in memory of Robert (Bud) Tinsley, by his family and friends. The scholarship recipient is selected from among the Manitoba Foundation for Sport scholarship recipients, based on the added criteria of leadership. 

Jacob Janzen – additional $500

Coaching Manitoba Bursaries

One male and one female each from Winnipeg and Rural Manitoba received a $500 bursary to be used toward their 2015-2016 tuition. The bursaries have been named after two special coaches in Manitoba: Silvio Sboto and Jeff Collins.

Silvio Sboto Memorial Rural Coach Award Female: Hayley Surovy (Minnedosa, MB) – soccer, basketball, curling
Silvio Sboto Memorial Rural Coach Award Male: Logan Clark (Strathclair, MB) – soccer & volleyball
Jeff Collins Memorial Winnipeg Coach Award Female: Kerri Kuzbyt – basketball
Jeff Collins Memorial Winnipeg Coach Award Male: Cole Grant – water-skiing

Princess Royal Pan Am Scholarships

One male and one female high performance athlete enrolled in a post-secondary institution in Manitoba each received $3,000.

Female: Kaelyn Gauthier (Grunthal, MB), University of Manitoba, rowing
Male: Darian Hole (Winnipeg, MB), University of Manitoba, triathlon


Sport Manitoba is a not for profit organization and the lead planning, programming and funding agency for the development of amateur sport in Manitoba. Located in the Canada Games Sport for Life Centre, Sport Manitoba partners with over 100 organizations to deliver sport in our province and is responsible for programs including the Power Smart Manitoba Games, Coaching Manitoba, Team Manitoba, Manitoba Sports Hall of Fame, Fit Kids Healthy Kids, and KidSport. Services provided include the Sport Medicine Centre, Sport Performance Centre, and Sport Resource Centre.

The Manitoba Foundation for Sports Scholarship program administered by Sport Manitoba was established to support young athletes of Sport Manitoba partners, who continue to participate in amateur sport while pursuing a post-secondary education on a full time basis. The Manitoba Foundation for Sports Scholarship Program was established in 1992. The top applicant in each category is awarded the Milt Stegall Scholarship.

Bud Tinsley Sport Leadership Scholarship: In memory of Robert (Bud) Tinsley, his family and friends created a $500 scholarship to recognize a Manitoba student athlete who demonstrates similar leadership traits that were attributable to Bud. His numerous awards included: induction into the Winnipeg Blue Bombers Hall of Fame, the CFL Hall of Fame and four time inductee into the Manitoba Sports Hall of Fame. The scholarship recipient is selected from among the Manitoba Foundation for Sport scholarship recipients, based on the added criteria of leadership.

Princess Royal Pan Am Scholarship Endowment Fund provides financial support for Manitoba’s high performance athletes in their pursuit of excellence at the national and international levels of competition while serving as a tribute to commemorate the Manitoba visit of Her Royal Highness the Princess Royal in 1999. The Princess Royal Pan Am Scholarship awards two (2) scholarships per year valued up to $3,000 each to one male and one female high performance athlete enrolled in a post-secondary institution in Manitoba.

Silvio Sboto Memorial Rural Coach Award: Silvio Sboto was a dedicated and humble man who started learning judo in the late 50s after immigrating to Canada from his native Peru. He resided in Brandon for the last thirty years where he worked at the Seikeikan Judo Club. Silvio was the chair of the National Coaching Certification Program (NCCP) for Judo Canada. Silvio spent 10 years as an NCCP Theory Course Conductor and attained Level 4 NCCP status. He also had his 5th degree black belt and was a national ‘C’ referee in Judo.

Jeff Collins Memorial Winnipeg Coach Award: Jeff Collins’ expertise earned him a reputation as a coach’s coach. Jeff served as head coach and clinician for the Legion Athletic Camps at the International Peach Garden for 32 years. He was the convenor and co-meet director of the MHSAA’s provincial track and field champs from 1984 to 2001. Jeff attained his level 3 NCCP and also worked with world class special needs athletes. In 2003, Jeff was inducted to the Manitoba Sports Hall of Fame.


For more information:

Link to Recipient Bios – photos and contact information is available for almost all our recipients.

Tara Skibo
Communications/Public Relations Officer
Sport Manitoba
204-925-5735 (direct)
204-781-1438 (cell)