The Sport Information Resource Centre
Use double quotes to find documents that include the exact phrase: "aerodynamic AND testing"
The Sport Information Resource Centre

Sport Manitoba – November 4, 2017 (WINNIPEG, Manitoba) One of the most important recognition events of the year had over 500 family members, friends, and sports fans celebrating the incomparable athletic achievements of some of Manitoba’s sport legends. 

The 38th Annual Induction Ceremony, held at the Victoria Inn Hotel and Convention Centre, were filled with emotional stories and trips down memory lane, with each inductee showing his or her appreciation for the overwhelming support of the local sport community. 

The 2017 Manitoba Sports Hall of Fame inductee slate – one team, five athletes, and three builders – proved the ability of Manitoba’s amateur sport programs to mold, engage, and support athletes, coaches, volunteers and officials is as strong as its ever been. 

“We are so pleased to provide a platform to recognize Manitoba’s best in sport,” boasted Jamie Kraemer, President of the Manitoba Sports Hall of Fame. “It is so important to recognize and appreciate the people and the work they’ve done to carry sport forward in our province, and this evening makes for a very special opportunity to do just that.” 

“The impact Manitoba’s outstanding sport legends have on our community never ceases to amaze,” says Jeff Hnatiuk, CEO, Sport Manitoba.  “This class is one to be remembered for inspiring our young, up and coming athletes and sport leaders to follow their dreams.”
Join us in welcoming our newest class of sport legends:

  • Sandra Carroll, Basketball – Athlete
  • Jaimie Dawson, Badminton – Athlete
  • Coleen Dufresne, All Round – Builder
  • Wayne Hildahl, Sport Medicine / Special Olympics – Builder
  • *Arthur (Art) Johnston, Golf – Builder
  • Jamie (Hancharyk) Jones, All Round – Athlete
  • Cindy Klassen, Speed Skating – Athlete
  • Bob Kramer, All Round – Athlete
  • 1995 Kelly MacKenzie Team, Curling – Team

*Inducted posthumously

The Manitoba Sportswriters and Sportscasters Association (MSSA) has been recognizing excellence in sports journalism for over 30 years. Their list of past honourees include icons of the industry, with names such as Jack Wells, Vince Leah and Jack Matheson.
This year the MSSA partnered with Sport Manitoba to present their Media Roll of Honour award as part of the Manitoba Sports Hall of Fame Annual Induction Ceremonies.  Winnipeg Free Press Sports editor, Steve Lyons, introduced this year’s recipient, Paul Wiecek.
Wiecek has received many tributes during his career, and this is more recognition of his outstanding service in sports journalism, and his exceptional contribution to the media coverage of all professional and amateur sport in Manitoba.
The Manitoba Sports Hall of Fame has inducted more than 500 members since it was established in 1980. 

Link to 2017 Inductee Bios


The Manitoba Sports Hall of Fame’s mandate is to preserve, celebrate and showcase the history and heritage of sport excellence and achievement in Manitoba. 
Sport Manitoba is a not-for-profit organization and the lead planning, programming, and funding agency for the development of amateur sport in Manitoba. Located in the Canada Games Sport for Life Centre, Sport Manitoba partners with over 100 organizations to deliver sport in our province and is responsible for programs including the Manitoba Games, Coaching Manitoba, Team Manitoba, Manitoba Sports Hall of Fame, Fit Kids Healthy Kids and KidSport. Services provided include the Sport Medicine Clinic, Fitness Centre, Performance Centre, and the Paul Robson Resource Centre for Leadership and Coaching.

For more information:
Rick Brownlee
Sport Heritage Manager
Sport Manitoba
w. 204-925-5736
c. 204-612-7272 
Tara Skibo
Communications/Public Relations Officer
Sport Manitoba
w. 204-925-5735
c. 204-781-1438


Event Run Sheet



Item Detail

5:00 PM

Doors Open


6:31 PM

Piper & Inductees Entrance


6:38 PM

Intro Inductees


6:46 PM

Dinner – Salad


7:47 PM

Intro to Evening


7:49 PM



7:56 PM

MSSA Roll of Honour


7:57 PM



8:04 PM

In Memoriam


8:09 PM


Johnston 1964

8:19 PM


Kraemer 1969

8:29 PM


Jones 1983

8:39 PM


Dufresne 1984

8:49 PM


Hildahl 1985

8:59 PM


Carroll 1993

9:09 PM


McKenzie Team 1995

9:19 PM


Dawson 1996

9:29 PM


Klassen 2006

9:44 PM




  • For live event coverage including photos and highlights please follow @sportmanitoba on Twitter.
  • Event photos available upon request (professional photographer on site).
  • Induction acceptance speeches will be posted to YouTube later this month.
  • Induction photos will be posted to our Facebook photo album early next week