The Sport Information Resource Centre
Use double quotes to find documents that include the exact phrase: "aerodynamic AND testing"
The Sport Information Resource Centre

Rowing Canada Aviron – November 10, 2017 6-8pm Vancouver Rowing Club

Rowing Canada Aviron is pleased to announce the Canadian Rowing Hall of Fame inductions on November 10th at the Vancouver Rowing Club. Purchase tickets 

In 1992, the Canadian Olympic Rowing team achieved a high water haul of medals, winning 4 Gold and a Bronze at the Barcelona Olympics. The 1992 Olympic Medal winning crews, as well as members in the Coaches and Builder categories will be inducted into the Canadian Rowing Hall of Fame. Members of the Men’s Eight, Women’s Eight, Women’s Four, Women’s Pair and Silken Laumann, the Women’s single will be in attendance. Joining the crews will be coaches Mike Spracklen and Al Morrow along with Peter Copland and Doug Hamilton in the builder category.

The Canadian Rowing Hall of Fame was established in 2015 to recognize and celebrate the accomplishments of Canadian rowers at the highest levels of the sport, and those whose efforts have contributed directly to those results.

The 25th anniversary celebrations will continue on Saturday November 11th, in conjunction with National Rowing Championships, following the end of racing at 12 noon.
Rowing Canada Aviron encourages members of our community to help celebrate the incredible contribution of the 1992 Canadian Olympic Rowing Team. Purchase a ticket to the Hall of Fame induction event today!  Purchase tickets

Another class of Canadian Rowing Hall of Fame inductees will be welcomed in conjunction with the RCA National Conference & Semi-Annual Meeting in Toronto, January 2018.
Friday November 10th, 2017
Canadian Rowing Hall of Fame Reception
Induction of 1992 Olympic Medal winning crews
Vancouver Rowing Club
Purchase Tickets
Hall of Fame Inductees

Men’s Coxed Eights – Gold Medal
John Wallace
Bruce Robertson
Michael Forgeron
Darren Barber
Robert Marland
Michael Rascher
Andy Crosby
Derek Porter
Terrence Paul

Women’s Single Sculls – Bronze Medal
Silken Laumann

Women’s Coxless Pairs – Gold Medal
Marnie McBean
Kathleen Heddle

Women’s Coxless Fours – Gold Medal
Kirsten Barnes
Brenda Taylor
Jessica Monroe
Kay Worthington
*Jennifer Walinga

*A day before Olympic competition, Jennifer Walinga was forced to withdraw due to injury. Brenda Taylor donated her medal to Walinga to recognize that she was an essential part of the success of the team.

Women’s Coxed Eights – Gold Medal
Kirsten Barnes
Brenda Taylor
Megan Delehanty
Shannon Crawford
Marnie McBean
Kay Worthington
Jessica Monroe
Kathleen Heddle
Lesley Thompson-Willie
*Jennifer Walinga

*A day before Olympic competition, Jennifer Walinga was forced to withdraw due to injury.

Mike Spracklen
Al Morrow

Peter Copland
Doug Hamilton

For more information, please contact
For media inquiries, please contact


About Rowing Canada Aviron
Rowing Canada Aviron (RCA) is a non-profit organization recognized by the Government of Canada and the Canadian Olympic Committee as the national governing body for rowing in Canada, representing more than 15,000 registered members.
RCA is a member of the Canadian Olympic Committee, the Canadian Paralympic Committee and the Fédération internationale des sociétés d’aviron (FISA), the international federation for rowing.

For more information about Rowing Canada Aviron, please visit or follow @rowingcanada.