The Sport Information Resource Centre
Use double quotes to find documents that include the exact phrase: "aerodynamic AND testing"
The Sport Information Resource Centre
Racquetball Canada – Winnipeg, May 28, 2018 – Jennifer Saunders of Winnipeg made history at Racquetball Canada’s 2018 Canadian Championships Saturday by winning her twenty second combined singles and doubles championship title. This is the most combined titles won by any athlete in Canadian racquetball history. 
Saunders faced fellow Winnipeg athlete Christine Richardson in Saturday’s Women’s Open Singles final. It was clear that Saunders had her eye on the record as she came out strong in the first game, winning 15-3. Richardson was down in the second game but put up a fight, winning nine unanswered points before Saunders finished the game with a score of 15-13. 
Earlier in the week, Saunders teamed up with Frédérique Lambert of Montréal to win the Women’s Open Doubles event, which tied her with Mike Green of Hamilton for combined Canadian singles and doubles titles. 
Samuel Murray of Baie-Comeau won his first Canadian Men’s Open Singles Championship title on Saturday, defeating Coby Iwaasa of Lethbridge in the final. Murray won the first game 15-7 and looked like he was on track to finish the match in two games. Iwaasa bounced back in the second game, winning 15-10 and seemed to have the momentum going into the tie-breaker. However Murray went up quickly and seemed in full control throughout the tie-breaker, winning 11-2. 
The Canadian Championships took place in Winnipeg from May 20 to 26 at the University of Winnipeg. The event included several age and skill events, providing an excellent high performance and competition for life opportunity for Canadian athletes. There were 107 athletes from 10 provinces participating in the 2018 Championship event.  
The following results include the Open Men’s and Women’s bracket results and final placements. Also listed are the podium results for all age and skill categories. 
Racquetball Canada is the national sport governing body for the sport of Racquetball in Canada. Along with the support of the Government of Canada and many valued partners, Racquetball Canada develops competitive national teams and oversees programs that grow the sport of racquetball in Canada. For more information visit our website at  
Media Contact:
Jan Hanson
Director of Communications and Marketing
Racquetball Canada Board of Directors I 306.502.4422
Men’s Open Singles Results
Round of 16
(1) Samuel Murray (Baie-Comeau,QC) defeated (16) Christina Boudreau (St-Charles Borromee, QC), 15-2, 15-8;
(2) Coby Iwaasa (Lethbridge, AB) defeated (15) Ian Frattinger (Martensville, SK), 15-3, 15-7;
(3) Tim Landeryou (Calgary, AB) defeated (14) Michael Leduc (Québec, QC), 15-4, 17-15;
(4) Pedro Castro (Brossard, QC) defeated (13) Joshua Keil (Saskatoon, SK), 15-6, 15-10;
(5) James Landeryou (Saskatoon, SK) defeated (13) Mitch Brayley (Calgary, AB), 15-1, 15-12;
(6) Nicolas Bousquet (Montréal, QC) defeated (11) Tanner Prentice (Macrorie, SK), 15-6, 15-5;
(7) Lee Connell (Saskatoon, SK) defeated (10) Trevor Webb (Cambridge, ON), 15-12, 15-7;
(8) Kurtis Cullen (Brandon, MB) defeated (9) Tommy Murray (St-Hubert, QC), 15-5, 15-4.


Round of 8
(1) Murray defeated (8) Cullen, 15-3, 15-11;
(2) Iwaasa defeated (7) Connell, 15-5, 15-5;
(3) Tim Landeryou defeated (6) Bousquet, 15-11, 6-15, 11-7;
(4) Castro defeated (5) James Landeryou, 15-13, 15-13.


(1) Murray defeated (4) Castro, 15-0, 15-13;
(2) Iwaasa defeated (3) Landeryou, 15-6, 15-13.


Bronze Medal Match
(3) Landeryou defeated (4) Castro, forfeit


Gold Medal Match
(1) Murray defeated (2) Iwaasa, 15-7, 10-15, 11-2.


Women’s Open Singles

Round of 16

(1) Jennifer Saunders (Winnipeg, MB), bye
(2) Christine Richardson (Winnipeg, MB), bye
(3) Alexis Iwaasa (Lethbridge, AB), bye
(4) Danielle Drury (Saskatoon, SK), bye
(5) Michèle Morissette (Baie-Comeau, QC), bye
(6) Erin Geeraert (Calgary, AB), bye
(7) Murielle Boivin (Québec, QC) defeated (10) Susan Dauk (Regina, SK), forfeit
(9) Cassie Prentice (Macrorie, SK) defeated (8) Cher Allen (Winnipeg, MB), 15-11, 15-6.
Round of 8
(1) Saunders defeated (9) Prentice, 15-0, 15-3;
(2) Richardson defeated (7) Boivin, 15-6, 15-11;
(6) Geeraert defeated (3) Iwaasa, 15-11, 2-15, 11-9;
(5) Morissette defeated (4) Drury, 1507, 15-6.
(1) Saunders defeated (5) Morissette, 15-6, 15-3;
(2) Richardson defeated (6) Geeraert, 15-5, 15-5.
Bronze Medal Match
(5) Morissette defeated (6) Geeraert, 15-10, 15-7;
Gold Medal Match
(1) Saunders defeated (2) Richardson, 15-3, 15-13
Canadian Championships Open Final Standings
Men’s Open Singles
1. Samuel Murray (Baie-Comeau, QC)
2. Coby Iwaasa (Lethbridge, AB)
3. Tim Landeryou (Calgary, AB)
4. Pedro Castro (Brossard, QC)
5. Nicolas Bousquet (Montréal, QC)
6. James Landeryou (Saskatoon, SK)
7. Lee Connell (Saskatoon, SK)
8. Kurtis Cullen (Brandon, MB)
9. Tommy Murray (St-Hubert, QC)
10. Ian Frattinger (Martensville, SK)  
11. Tanner Prentice (Macrorie, SK)
12. Joshua Keil (Saskatoon, SK)
13. Mitch Brayley (Calgary, AB)
14. Michael Leduc (Québec, QC)
15. Christian Boudreau (St-Charles Borromee, QC)
16. Trevor Webb, (Cambridge, ON)


Women’s Open Singles 
1. Jennifer Saunders (Winnipeg, MB)
2. Christine Richardson (Winnipeg, MB)
3. Michèle Morissette (Baie-Comeau, QC)
4. Erin Geeraert (Calgary, AB)
5. Alexis Iwaasa (Lethbridge, AB)
6. Danielle Drury (Saskatoon, SK)
7. Cassie Prentice (Macrorie, AB)
8. Murielle Bouvin (Québec, QC)
9. Cher Allen (Winnipeg, MB)
10. Susan Dauk (Regina, SK)


Canadian Championships Podium Results – Singles Events


Men’s Open Singles
1. Samuel Murray (Baie-Comeau, QC)
2. Coby Iwaasa (Lethbridge, AB)
3. Tim Landeryou (Calgary, AB)


Men’s A Singles
1. Ken Storozuk (Chilliwack, BC)
2. Kirby Shwaykosky (East St Paul, MB)
3. Daniel Tremblay (Montréal, QC)

Men’s B Singles

1. Peter Olynick (Winnipeg, MB)
2. Tony Kenny (St. John’s, NFLD)
3. Aaron Strub (Winnipeg, MB)
Men’s C Singles
1. David Harrington (Winnipeg, MB)
2. Kyle Gobeil (Garson, MB)
3. Andy Dick (Wheatley, ON)
Men’s 45+ Singles
1. Kirby Swaykosky (East St Paul, MB)
2. Allen Bauman (St. Albert, AB)
3. Christian Boudreau (St-Charles Borromee, QC)
Men’s 50+ Singles
1. Jeff Miller (Spruce Grove, AB)
2. Terry Nelson (Windsor, ON)
3. Andy Dick (Wheatley, ON)
Men’s 55+ Singles
1. John Halko (Edmonton, AB)
2. Doug Donald (Winnipeg, MB)
3. Brian Mohr (Regina, SK)
Men’s 60+ Singles 
1. Carl Lalande (Lasalle, QC)
2. Reg Atkins (Calgary, AB)
3. Manny Gregorio (Edmonton, AB)
Men’s 65+ Singles
1. Neil Dempsey (Winnipeg, MB)
2. Claude Paul (Montréal, QC)
3. Michel Boulay (Brossard, QC)
Men’s 70+ Singles
1. Eric Easton (St. John’s, NL)
2. Art McAvoy (Winnipeg, MB)
3. Jack McBride (St. Albert, AB)
Men’s 80+ Singles
1. Jack McBride (St. Albert, AB)
2. Fernand Gregoire (Winnipeg, MB)
Women’s Open Singles
1. Jennifer Saunders (Winnipeg, MB)
2. Christine Richardson (Winnipeg, MB)
3. Michèle Morissette (Quèbec, QC)
Women’s A Singles
1. Cher Allen (Winnipeg, MB)
2. Susan Dauk (Regina, SK)
Women’s B/C Singles
1. Alexandra Murray (Brandon, MB)
2. Teanna Letkeman (Carberry, MB)
3. Milana Paddock (Brandon, MB)
Women’s 45+ Singles
1. Murielle Boivin (Québec, QC)
2. Kim Griffin (Winnipeg, MB)
3. Cecile Dufresne (Winnipeg, MB)