The Sport Information Resource Centre
Use double quotes to find documents that include the exact phrase: "aerodynamic AND testing"
The Sport Information Resource Centre

Racquetball Canada – Burlington, May 29, 2016 – Mike Green of Hamilton and Jennifer Saunders of Winnipeg have made history at the Canadian Racquetball Championships held in Burlington from May 23 to 28.

Green defeated Tim Landeryou of Calgary in the Men’s Open Singles gold medal match in two games with scores of 15-6, 15-8.  Green led throughout the first game but in the second Landeryou went ahead quickly.  Green was able to come back strongly for the win, using several ace serves to help change the momentum. 

Green’s win gives him a total of ten Men’s Open Singles Championship titles, which ties him for the Canadian record set by Sherman Greenfeld. 

“I idolized Sherman Greenfeld growing up and he set the bar high. It was a goal to beat him and to be as good as him because he was one of the all time greats. I never thought I would get there. I appreciate all my playing partners as they have pushed me to accomplish what I have.”

Saunders’ gold medal result in the Women’s Open Singles event gives her a record of nine championship titles.  Saunders held the previous record at eight titles coming into the 2016 championships. 

Saunders defeated Michèle Morissette of Baie-Comeau in Saturdays final, with scores of 15-10, 17-15.  Morissette was up 14-12 in the second game and it looked like it may go to a tiebreaker but Saunders came back from behind to win.

Saunders clearly recalls winning her first title. “I remember feeling that I was ready.  That it was my turn,” she said.  “I didn’t ever imagine that I would win nine.  I thought I might win one or two because I know how hard it is to win this event.”

“Each win is special in it’s own way.  When I reached eight wins, it was special because it was the record setter.  This one will be special because I was able to dig in and come back from behind.”

Both Green and Saunders also each hold several Men’s and Women’s Open Doubles titles, which also gives each of them the Canadian record for the most overall combined Singles and Doubles Open titles in the men’s and women’s events. 

Alexis Iwaasa of Lethbridge won her Women’s Open bronze medal match against Danielle Drury of Saskatoon in two games, 18-16, 15-7. 

James Landeryou of Saskatoon defeated Nicolas Bousquet of Montréal in the Men’s Open bronze medal match, 10-15, 15-11, 11-3.

Draws & Results:

Racquetball Canada is the national sport governing body for the sport of Racquetball in Canada. Along with the support of the Government of Canada and many valued partners, Racquetball Canada develops competitive national teams and oversees programs that grow the sport of racquetball in Canada. For more information visit our website at  

Media Contact:

Jan Hanson

Director of Communications and Marketing

Racquetball Canada Board of Directors I 306.502.4422


Racquetball Canada Canadian Championship Results – May 28


Men’s Open Singles



Mike Green (Hamilton, ON) defeated Tim Landeryou (Calgary, AB), 15-6.15-8


3rd Place

James Landeryou (Saskatoon, SK) defeated Nicolas Bousquet, Montréal, QC), 10-15, 15-11, 11-3


Women’s Open Singles



Jennifer Saunders (Winnipeg, MB) defeated Michèle Morissette (Baie-Comeau, QC), 15-10, 17-15


3rd Place

Alexis Iwaasa (Lethbridge, AB) defeated Danielle Drury (Saskatoon, SK), 18-16, 15-7


Canadian Championships Singles Results Summary


Women’s Open Singles

1.  Jennifer Saunders, Winnipeg, MB

2.  Michèle Morissette, Baie-Comeau, QC

3.  Alexis Iwaasa, Lethbridge, AB


Women’s A/B Singles

1.  McKenzie Brayley, Calgary, AB

2.  Susan Dauk, Regina, SK

3.  Isabelle Lapierre, Saint-Jacques De Montcalm, QC


Women’s C/D Singles

1.  Jessica Nelson, Tecumseh, ON

2.  Eva Pocsai, New Hamburg, ON

3.  Bettina Nyman, Winnipeg, MB


Men’s Open Singles

1.  Mike Green, Hamilton, ON

2.  Tim Landeryou, Calgary, AB

3.  James Landeryou, Saskatoon, SK


Men’s Elite Singles

1.  Darryl Drohomerski, Winnipeg, MB

2.  Kaleb Osborne, Penetaguishene, ON

3.  Christian Boudreau, Saint-Charles-Borromée, QC


Men’s A Singles

1.  Kirby Schwaykosky, East St. Paul, MB

2.  Stephane Parent, Saint-Jacques De Montcalm, QC

3.  Dino Marchiori, Oakville, ON


Men’s B Singles

1.  Carmen Rotondo, Wasaga Beach, ON

2.  Jeff Senior, Ayr, ON

3.  Jason Adomeit, Millgrove, ON


Men’s C Singles

1.  Kevin Keating, Dartmouth, NS

2.  Barry Moore, Lower Cloverdale, NB

3.  Gaetano Pugliese, Kamloops, BC


Men’s D  Singles

1.  Christian Poscai, New Hamburg, ON

2   Dan McInnis, Winnipeg, MB

3.  Danny Deakin, Oakville, ON


Men’s 35+/40+ Singles

1.  Jeremy Renaud, Windsor, ON

2.  Christian Boudreau, Saint-Charles-Borromée, QC

3.  Kyle Wiseman, Oakville, ON


Men’s 45+/50+ Singles

1.  Jean Nolet, Levis, QC

2.  Daryl Drohomerski, Winnipeg, MB

3.  Dave Massey, Burlington, ON


Men’s 55+ Singles

1.  Bill Digregorio, Toronto, ON

2.  Robert Melancon, Saint-Hubert, QC

3.  Dion Marchiori, Oakille, ON


Men’s 60+ Singles

1.  Carl Lalande, Lasalle, QC

2.  Michel Boulay, Brossard, QC

3.  Bruce Robinson, Lumsden, SK


Men’s 65+ Singles

1.  Donald Dery, Chelsea, QC

2.  Len Gerelus, Winnipeg, MB

3.  Roger Havrilenko, Winnipeg, MB


Men 70+/75 Singles

1.  Allan Agnew, Hamilton, ON

2.  Alex Pier, Toronto, ON

3.  Cliff Hood, Yarmouth, NS