The Sport Information Resource Centre
Use double quotes to find documents that include the exact phrase: "aerodynamic AND testing"
The Sport Information Resource Centre

 

 Alpine Canada – Calgary, Alta. (March 15, 2016) – The 2015-16 alpine World Cup season has come almost to a close, culminating with the FIS World Cup Finals in St. Moritz, Switzerland March 16 through March 20. After months of races and tough weather conditions causing numerous race cancellations, along with injuries from some of the circuit’s top athletes, it’s been an action-filled season. 

This season, Alpine Canada Alpin’s (ACA) athletes have landed on the podium, achieved career-best finishes, displayed some spectacular crashes, battled back for exciting recoveries and accumulated a slew of top-ten results. 

Over the five days of closing races, the top 25 athletes in the World Cup standings in each discipline are invited to race in the FIS World Cup Finals, plus the current junior World Champions in each discipline. Below is this year’s roster of ACA athletes attending the FIS World Cup Finals, along with the races they’ll be competing in.  

Ladies’ Alpine Athletes

Marie-Michèle Gagnon (Team event, giant slalom, slalom)

Erin Mielzynski (Team event, slalom)

Larisa Yurkiw – Team Larisa  (Downhill, super G)

Men’s Alpine Athletes

Kevin Drury (Team event)

Erik Guay (Downhill, super G)

Louis-Pierre Hélie (Team event)

Manuel Osborne-Paradis (Downhill)

WORLD CUP FINALS RACE SCHEDULE

Wednesday, March 16, 2016

Men’s Downhill – 3:00AM MST/ 5:00AM EST

Ladies’ Downhill – 4:30AM MST/ 6:30AM EST

Thursday, March 17, 2016

Ladies’ super G – 3:00AM MST/ 5:00AM EST

Men’s super G – 4:30AM MST/ 6:30AM EST

Friday, March 18, 2016

Team Event – 5:00AM MST/ 7:00AM EST

Saturday, March 19, 2016 

Ladies’ Slalom 1st Run – 1:30AM MST/ 3:30AM EST

Ladies’ Slalom 2nd Run – 4:00AM MST/ 6:00AM EST

Men’s Giant Slalom 1st Run – 2:30AM MST/ 4:30AM EST

Men’s Giant Slalom 2nd Run – 5:00AM MST/ 7:00AM EST

Sunday, March 20, 2016 

Men’s Slalom 1st Run – 1:30AM MST/ 3:30AM EST

Men’s Slalom 2nd Run – 4:00AM MST/ 6:00AM EST

Ladies’ Giant Slalom 1st Run – 2:30AM MST/ 4:30AM EST

Ladies’ Giant Slalom 2nd Run – 5:00AM MST/ 7:00AM EST

For further information or press inquiries, please contact Ashley Shantz at ashantz@alpinecanada.org or call 587.226.3007.

 Alpine Canada Alpin

Suite 302, 151 Canada Olympic Road SW

Calgary, Alberta T3B 6B7

Canada