The Sport Information Resource Centre
Use double quotes to find documents that include the exact phrase: "aerodynamic AND testing"
The Sport Information Resource Centre

CCAA – The Canadian Collegiate Athletic Association will now honour an individual or team at National Championships with the Exemplary Leadership Award. The honour was previously known as the Fair Play Award.

“It is fitting that the Fair Play Award has been renamed and prioritizes the individual, as it embodies not only fair play, but recognizes that there is an exemplary leader in our midst, someone to emulate,” said Sandra Murray-MacDonell, CCAA Executive Director.

Exemplary Leaders demonstrates attitudes and behaviors in sport that are ethical and create standards for others to follow. The Award is named after the honoured individuals in the following sports:

  •  Diana Drury, Women’s Soccer
  • Eileen Harle, Badminton
  • Mal Stelck, Men’s Volleyball
  • Chuck Gullickson, Women’s Volleyball
  • Duncan McCallum, Men’s Basketball

Stelck (2014), Gullickson (2015), Drury (2016) and McCallum (2017) are CCAA Hall of Fame inductees.

“One only has to look at who the Awards are named after to understand the prestigious honour they hold and the footsteps that are recipients are walking in.”

The Exemplary Leadership Award is given to an individual or a team at CCAA National Championships who demonstrate leadership behaviors that set an example for others to follow. Recipients must have respect for the rules and spirit of the rules of the sport in pursuit of excellence, respect the officials and show acceptance of their decisions, respect the opponent, exhibit sportsmanlike behaviors and maintain dignity under all circumstances.

The National Convenor monitors play throughout the competition and along with the Awards Committee on site, selects the recipient. They may also solicit the input of officials. Coaches and teams may also nominate a player or team.

The Exemplary Leadership Award is presented during the Closing Ceremonies at CCAA National Championships.